the SURVIVOR'S GUIDE of the FUTURE: EPISODE 2: a GUN

in #survivorsguide7 years ago (edited)

That's right, I said it. If you are legally allowed to own a gun, you should, before that legal opportunity is lost. This is a MAJOR better-to-have-it-and-not-need-it-than-need-it-and-not-have-it type of situation. Some of you know what I'm talking about. There is no reason why we shouldn't have guns, for self-defense. Anybody who claims that people shouldn't have the right to bear arms is either inexperienced, untrained, uneducated, or wants to commit democide (the killing of one's own citizenry by it's own government). I'm not saying that governments would ever harm us, but with that being said, the #1 cause of death in the 20th century wasn't war, it wasn't famine, or disease, it was a GOVERNMENT KILLING YOU (democide). Hitler, Stalin, Mao, all the scumbags had one thing in common: they took people's guns away, and then they killed them. Another fun fact, a majority of ALL mass shootings occur in "gun free zones", a.k.a. areas where citizens are TOTALLY VULNERABLE and ENTIRELY INCAPABLE OF DEFENDING THEMSELVES. If you still think gun-free zones are the best, you're probably a politician.

So, yeah, I think you should have a gun, but more importantly, I think you should know how to use one also!
I hope that by the end of this post you know a little bit more about guns, how to use them, and why I think one could play a huge role in your bug-out bag.

IMG_0737.jpg

This is my gun; It's a Taurus .38 Special. It's steel instead of aluminum which keeps it a little bit heavier and keeping recoil almost non-existent. I really love this little piece, and it's my only one right now. This is honestly a great gun for beginners, due to the fact it takes almost no maintenance at all, is very easy to understand and use, has almost no recoil, etc. Obviously, if you plan on being able to fit a gun case in your bug-out bag, you're probably gonna want a handgun. Researching it is key also.

IMG_0734.jpg

Note that when I hold it, I NEVER PUT MY FINGER IN THE TRIGGER GUARD!!!
This is very important! You should ONLY have your finger in the trigger guard when you're ABOUT to fire! Keep that finger away from that trigger! Your finger should be along the side of the gun, completely lengthened and steadied for support. Just picture it the other way around if you're left-handed.

Another really important thing you should know is how to hand somebody a gun. First, make sure ANYBODY in the vicinity of a gun realizes a gun is loaded or unloaded. I always tell people in advance, so that they are ready and not scared. I kept my gun loaded for this post so you can see that a revolver typically has the casings exposed, so you can spot a loaded gun. Some other guns do this also, but most don't. Also, note that my gun does not have a safety; that knob on the left is to release the cylinder and unload/reload. You may want to get a gun that has a safety! Unfortunately, most revolvers don't. So maybe a revolver is not for you! This post is designed to give you the basics behind this, not influence your investing. I'm not a financial adviser ;D In the end, everything about your gun should feel safe. I don't do dumb shit with my gun and it has a very firm trigger squeeze, so I'm comfortable without a safety.

IMG_0739.jpg

When you hand somebody a gun, you should NEVER point it at them, and you should hand it to them exactly like THIS if it's a handgun. Just straight up, and very nicely, SPECIFICALLY so that they can grab it with a firm grip instantly. You do NOT what that shit to fall because it can scare the shit out of you!

I ALSO HIGHLY RECOMMEND GETTING A CASE LIKE THIS WITH SOME KIND OF # DIGIT LOCK
Also, keep the size in mind, because ideally, this gun / case should be able to fit in a bug-out bag!

I hope this post was informative to some people!
Please make sure to Upvote and Resteem to spread awareness of this vital info! Keep an eye out for more episodes of the SURVIVOR'S GUIDE of the FUTURE!

Past Episode:

Episode 1: https://steemit.com/survivorsguide/@amvanaken/the-survivor-s-guide-of-the-future-episode-1-the-bug-out-bag

Sort:  

I agree with the basic idea here but personally I would not choose to carry my gun inside of a locked case, inside of a bag. If you need a gun, it should be quickly accessible, ideally from a carry position on your person. If that is just not possible, I would stow it in an outer pocket of the bag for as quick deployment as can be accomplished from such a carry manor. Also consider that you may have to ditch your bag in a hurry for any number of reasons but at least you'd still have that firearm if it was worn on you. Just my opinions. Definitely gotta have a gun for sure.

Yeah I totally agree, a gun should be accessible! Never hurts to have multiple guns. I'm looking into getting my 2nd. But ya know, things get set down sometimes, and when I'm running out the door, I'm grabbing the bag :D Yeah all these posts I'm gonna do, the stuff doesn't have to be IN THE BAG AT ALL TIMES or anything else like that. I'm just going over a highlighted list of things that, if you prioritize correctly, CAN all fit in a bag. I think some people are really going to benefit (: I feel much safer knowing I have stuff to survive on if I need it in a hurry! I think this series of posts will be right up your alley bro!

I used to be a background investigator for the government, and it was my job to investigate people in the military and civilian contractor jobs to make sure they qualified for a security clearance. I had to go on a lot of military bases to do interviews, and it always made my slightly uncomfortable walking around them, with so many armed people walking around me. I was always concerned about one of them snapping and starting to shoot everyone in their path. I especially hated it if they guys with the guns were walking BEHIND me, or coming up in front of me.

My husband has one handgun, but I can't use it. I don't have enough arm strength to pull it back to cock it. He says I need a revolver, as they don't require pulling back the top of it to shoot it. Yet, I'm still concerned about how good I would actually be with one, as I haven't been able to straighten either of my elbows since I was 16 (juvenile rheumatoid arthritis). Any shooting I did would have to be with bent elbows. I'm not sure how effective that would be, or how accurate in aiming.

I never fully extend my arms when I shoot. It is too tiring and difficult to maintain for more than a brief period. Something with minimal recoil is probably your best bet if you wanted to try getting into shooting.

@michigunner Yeah recoil is not your friend :D Probably a top reason some people don't like shooting. I like the minimal recoil I get with my gun. Very managable and I'm back to aiming in about a second!

@stephmckenzie Yeah honestly the best thing you could do is try out a friend's gun at a shooting range or rent one there to get the feel of it. As far as having to pull back on the top, you want something that is double-action, with no need to chamber that first round, so basically you'd want a revolver. It's a skill that needs to be built from the foundation up, so you'd need to slowly get the hang of it (: But honestly, my sense of safety shot through the roof when I got my gun!

I was so freaked out by my husband having a gun in the house, I hid it. He actually had it for a long time before he told me, because he knew I didn't like the idea, and I was having knee surgery, so the day before the surgery, I hid it, and he spent the next four days while I was in the hospital looking for it. I did it in a way where I made him think HE lost it. :)

I eventually gave it back when I got home, and I'm used to the idea now, but it was not something I liked at first. Now, I'm thinking if I can learn to use one, even with my messed up elbows, it might be a good idea, the way things are going in the world. That pepper spray, kitchen knife, and pair of scissors I carry with me (and also keep in the table by my bed) are only as good as the weapon any potential assailant is carrying.

Yeah honestly training yourself on how to use them makes you feel WAY MORE safe around them. Your local gun shops SHOULD allow you to hold them and feel the weight, etc.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63619.61
ETH 2698.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59