the SURVIVOR'S GUIDE of the FUTURE: EPISODE 1: the BUG-OUT BAG

in #survivorsguide7 years ago (edited)

I know for a fact I'm not the only person out here staying prepared for the worst. I don't spread FUD, but I don't plan on being victimized either. I consider myself at a pretty good stage of my preparations to begin helping others feel more secure also. That's what I'm all about baby, STAYING SAFE! We live in crazy times.

So, you know how the saying goes, "It's better to be safe than sorry"...

I am making this series to help others gather what they might not have realized could be such a necessity in this day and age. There are MANY things you can acquire in order to assure your safety and the safety of those around you. These posts are serious and need to be taken seriously.


This episode is about one of the most important things you could EVER have, a bug-out bag.

You can fit a bunch of super important items in a good bag, backpack, etc. In the posts that follow, I will discuss said items, but this post will be devoted to the receptacle in which you will likely carry the aforementioned ambiguous items.

These, in my opinion, are the MOST IMPORTANT FACTORS that you need to ask yourself about your potential bug-out bag:

1) IS IT WATER-PROOF OR WATER-RESISTANT?
My bug-out bag is water-resistant, and it came with a water-proof cover for it I keep rolled up and stowed away, for if there is a heavy rain or snow or who-knows-what! I've worn it in the rain and never had anything get wet on the inside; that is VERY important! We really like to stay dry, and so do things like our electronics! Make sure you have a water-proof or water-resistant bug-out bag!

2) IS IT CAPABLE OF FITTING ENOUGH STUFF?
I've personally lived out of my bug-out bag for months, hiking miles daily. It works. Chances are, you have WAY TOO MUCH STUFF to fit it all in 1 bag. Is your bug-out bag going to have what it takes to keep you going? You gotta fit a bunch of shit in there, man! This is a massively important factor. My bag is 40L (40 Liters of volume for those of you who weren't taught metric here in the USA like me). PLEASE keep in mind, I am a MINIMALIST, meaning I am not very high maintenance at all, and I require HARDLY ANY space at all in my bug-out bag because this size fits what I need it to. With that being said 40L is probably the SMALLEST size I would recommend for a bug-out bag. You will probably want to get a MUCH LARGER bag for your bug-out bag! It's all about who you are, what you think you need, etc. You'll probably want to try some on to see how they feel on your back, too. There is an equilibrium you have to reach between the amount of weight you feel comfortable on your back, and the amount of shit you feel comfortable with leaving behind! By the end of this series, I hope you will have a better understanding for how big of a bug-out bag you may need! This really can pay off MASSIVELY in the future, if you spend a little bit of time making sure you're prepared for anything!

3) IS IT DURABLE?
Like I said, I've lived out of my backpack for a while and when you've done that, brought it tons of places, dropped it a bunch of times, scraped up against tons of stuff, slid it on the ground, banged it around, and it has hardly a scratch on it, then I consider that a pretty durable bug-out bag! Oh, and it wouldn't hurt to have one that isn't going to burst open due to being stuffed. Yours will probably be stuffed, and nobody knows when, if, or for how long it could get used in the future, so make sure it's durable!

Hint: If you answered "No" to either of these criteria, or if you just don't have one yet, you need to need to find a bug-out bag that is going to meet all 3 criteria! And you need to do that ASAP because there's a lot of stuff that should go inside also (; an empty bug-out bag is a 99.999% useless bug-out bag! Stay tuned to find out what items I think you should have in here!

Please make sure to Upvote and Resteem to spread awareness of this vital info! Keep an eye out for more episodes of the SURVIVOR'S GUIDE of the FUTURE!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60699.16
ETH 2352.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52