You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Ultimate Survival Plant

in #survival7 years ago (edited)

Wow! That is so cool, you kept me engaged right to the end and I had no clue what plant you were talking about. I was so surprised when you said the Yucca plant, as my front yard is filled with them. I'm glad I wouldn't need to go far to get such a handy plant. #dolphinschool

IMG_5187.JPG

Sort:  

What an awesome plant to be growing so abondantly! This is a rad post @powellx5. I am gonna have to check out #dolphinschool!! This looks like my kind of homework 💚💜 sadly, yucca doesn't grow where i live. But, the wonder of useful plants is here too in a bit of a different way. Nice to see you @insideoutlet i think your husband might be an #asaper with me! Pls forgive me if i am wrong, but i recognize you from somewhere! 😊

Hey @yogajill, yes you are correct he is part of the #asapers, as am I. 😊 he mentioned you had had a rough time of late which is super poop. I hope it all picks up soon. We have set up a discord channel for us. So whern your reday let us know and we will send you a link.

👍👍💜

Yucca is a beautiful house plant!

And ornamental!!! I’m definitely going to get us a few of these!!!

@jeejee

I hoped it would be entertaining. When I write about plants, it tends to read like a text book, and that’s so boring!! I don’t have any in my yard right now, but my brother and I are going to get some for transplant as soon as it gets a little warmer. I probably won’t use it for anything except the flower petals, but I love collecting useful plants. :)

Mine have never flowered 😭

There could be a couple things going on. Yucca takes a few years to mature to the point of blooming. I don’t know how old your plant is, but there are a couple things you can try. They aren’t picky about their soil, but sometimes adding bonemeal will encourage growth. Make sure it isn’t setting in water.

There’s a moth called Tegeticula yuccasella, or the yucca moth, that has a close relationship with the yucca. The yucca needs the moth to pollinate it, and when the bloom goes to seed, the moth larva eats the seed. If the moth isn’t present, the yucca has to be hand pollinated in order to bloom.

I hope that helps! Yucca blooms are SO pretty!

Thanks for that information, they have been in about four years. My hubby said if you like writting about plants there is a garden of death in the UK you could explore.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57455.52
ETH 2339.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35