You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Ultimate Survival Plant

in #survival7 years ago

I hoped it would be entertaining. When I write about plants, it tends to read like a text book, and that’s so boring!! I don’t have any in my yard right now, but my brother and I are going to get some for transplant as soon as it gets a little warmer. I probably won’t use it for anything except the flower petals, but I love collecting useful plants. :)

Sort:  

Mine have never flowered 😭

There could be a couple things going on. Yucca takes a few years to mature to the point of blooming. I don’t know how old your plant is, but there are a couple things you can try. They aren’t picky about their soil, but sometimes adding bonemeal will encourage growth. Make sure it isn’t setting in water.

There’s a moth called Tegeticula yuccasella, or the yucca moth, that has a close relationship with the yucca. The yucca needs the moth to pollinate it, and when the bloom goes to seed, the moth larva eats the seed. If the moth isn’t present, the yucca has to be hand pollinated in order to bloom.

I hope that helps! Yucca blooms are SO pretty!

Thanks for that information, they have been in about four years. My hubby said if you like writting about plants there is a garden of death in the UK you could explore.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57868.91
ETH 2362.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36