Texas License to Carry Law Expands Rights

in #survival7 years ago

The following is a press release from the NRA-ILA: Institute for Legislative Action. I don't do copy and paste but this is something I find important and it is written in a way that I totally agree with. As a staunch supporter of the 2nd amendment this is a good win.

Open-Carry.jpg

NRA Material:
On Tuesday, August 1, Texas’ campus carry law goes into effect for community colleges around the state. As previously reported, Senate Bill 11 – legislation prioritized by Lieutenant Governor Dan Patrick during the 2015 legislative session and signed into law by Governor Greg Abbott – took effect for four-year public colleges and universities one year ago. The law set the implementation date for public junior colleges as August 1, 2017.

As expected, adult faculty, staff and student License to Carry holders have behaved in the same law-abiding, responsible manner on public college and university campuses as they have everywhere else in the State of Texas for the more than twenty years the carry law has been in effect. Naysayers’ predictions of increased crimes involving firearms at these institutions have, unsurprisingly, not come to pass. In a recent article in the Austin American Statesman (“Campus Carry: No problems so far at UT-Austin”), SB 11 author Sen. Brian Birdwell stated: “After decades of resounding success with the concealed handgun license program in Texas, I’m not the least bit surprised to see the campus carry law being implemented successfully and without incident. It’s a testament both to the irrationality of the original prohibition and the law-abiding nature of handgun license holders.”

But the positive track record that licensees have built on campus has not deterred three University of Texas professors, backed by gun control activists, from continuing to file misguided legal challenges to the law. In a victory earlier this month for Attorney General Ken Paxton, whose office has staunchly defended the law, U.S. District Judge Lee Yeakel dismissed the professors’ initial lawsuit to block implementation of the law in part because the plaintiffs did not present “concrete evidence to substantiate their fears” that guns in the classroom would have a chilling effect on free speech. The trio quickly filed an appeal of his decision to the U.S. Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals, claiming that the federal judge’s ruling only addressed First Amendment – and not other – claims.

So while the anti-gun lawsuits continue, campus carry rolls right on. In 2017, two more states – Georgia and Arkansas – followed Texas in amending their statutes to allow law-abiding, adult college faculty, staff and student License to Carry holders to legally possess handguns at public institutions of higher education. And now those same categories of individuals will be able to protect themselves at community colleges throughout the Lone Star State.

Source: NRA-ILA: Institute for Legislative Action

Sort:  

The 2nd Amendment doesn't say anything about permits, licenses, or needing laws to confirm rights that the Constitution says the government can't take from We the People anyway. Gun grabbers should be tried for treason.

I totally agree with you! In this day and age though where we have rogue judges, people that believe the constitution is a living document and in constant need of interpretation, every win counts. Here in Texas our gun laws become more free every year, it has been a process but we keep advancing in the correct direction. These small wins shouldn't be something we need to win but they are and that's why I celebrate them.

Definitely, celebrate the successes of reclaiming the rights that we have by merit of birth, but make no mistake, the government is pretending to allow rights that is has no ability to give or take away.

Do not mistake crumbs handed to us, begrudgingly, by government for the banquet of life that is ours simply because we exist. More laws will never make us free. The government is not the master. It is the servant or it is completely illegitimate, and should be resisted by all means possible.

Brother I totally agree with you. Make no mistake though, government is now the master. A master that has grown beyond belief and entrenched itself. I don't believe there is any coming back from what we have allowed to happen.

Government cannot even master itself. We the people have a choice to make, stop these psychopaths now, or allow them to completely destroy the civilization that sustains us. If we do not stop them, the suffering will get unimaginably worse. Things are not nearly as bad as they will be.

We live in the age of information, where a single intelligent, motivated individual has access to all that is needed to set things right. It will not be pleasant, but it is happening now. I have been thinking on a mutually assured destruction, so if we die, they will come with us. It worked against the Soviet Union. It's success is predicated on the tyrants caring more about their own lives than about their perceived power over the rest of us. I'm not sure the tyrants are that intelligent or forward thinking. They have absolutely no possibility of success in their endeavor to enslave us all.

Life, liberty, and property for all, or existence for none.

@dwhntx, As someone who lives north of the US border, I would be in the minority to say that I support gun freedoms at all; but I'll say it anyways. I support the NRA and all the great work they do and people like you who advocate for those rights. The rest of the world (and a good chunk of the USA) is truly backwards in philosopies on this topic. The fact that crime has not increased on campuses as a result of this change is not surprising to you and I though.

You may not have seen but there was a recent research paper released that concludes that concealed carry has a net benefit to reducing crime stats and that holders of such permits are among the most law abiding in the nation. Of course we both probably already knew that. But having a new study saying as much can only help.

Here is the study:
Lott, John R., Concealed Carry Permit Holders Across the United States: 2017 (July 18, 2017). Available at SSRN: https://ssrn.com/abstract=3004915

@freeinthought thank you! I am very glad to have a Canadian who shares my philosophy. Whether you think guns are good or bad they are included in the US constitution as a right, not a privilege, but a right. If you enjoy the other rights included in the constitution then you should be an advocate for all rights. If we lose in one area then it is just a matter of time before we lose in another and that should concern you.

I did see that study! I believe it was a collection of statistics for several states that allow concealed/open carry and the percentile of the population that these individuals broke the law compared to the overall population. I was not surprised to see that individuals that carry are much more responsible people and less likely to break the law.

Thank you for a thoughtful comment!

Protection is a must! This isn't about making it the wild west again, this is about the right to protect yourself wherever the need may be. And as of the last 15-20 yrs, campuses have been soft targets. Go Texas!

This is about a civilized society where turds may rethink doing some bad act and not because a law may punish them but because a responsible citizen may be armed.

I totally agree!

I got a bellyRub and this post has received a 26.32 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @dwhntx.

Proud CHL holder since 2008. And guess what? In less than a month I'm gonna open carry a 14 inch Bowie knife just because I can! (but only for that first day) Now if Texas would get rid of Straus we could maybe move forward with Constitutional Carry.

I'm all about that. Go out and practice your rights!
I still conceal carry just to not draw attention. What's your thoughts on open carry?

I open carried on Jan 1 last year. And have done so since many times. It is obviously a non-issue. If you listened to the media coverage and law enforcement at the time it was gonna be a Wild West Massacre! But it wasn't.

Now I do have to qualify myself here. I'm 6'2" and 320 lbs with a full beard and tattoos. I'm intimidating even with out a hand cannon strapped to my belt. But I have gotten mostly positive feedback from open carry. In fact the only place I got shit was my doctors office. Who didn't have any signage posted.

I look at it as an advocate for the 2nd Amendment. The more people who carry the more the public at large is used to it the less of an issue it is. I usually carry a full size 1911. So its somewhat concealed if I want it to be. But I'm no longer worried about printing or someone seeing my pistol while riding etc.......
Basically More Freedom = A good thing.

Yeah I used to be a cop/detective and I never liked the attention I got from carrying a gun. I agree though that the more it is fine the more people will not think twice about it.

Lol your a big guy and I'm right there with you, 6'3 340ish. I already command a room when I come in as well. I have never, not once had someone give me crap about having a gun on me which is probably good for them. I already don't give two craps what people think and that person would get an earful.

Freedom is always a good thing and this is actually a right that had been suppresed. 1911 is a great gun but a bit heavy for me. I carry a Glock 22 open and concealed I go with a Taurus PT709 slim. With the Taurus I can be in shorts and a t-shirt with no problem.

You can take me, but you cannot take my bunghole.... For I have no bunghole....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60938.00
ETH 2386.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57