You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Texas License to Carry Law Expands Rights

in #survival7 years ago

@dwhntx, As someone who lives north of the US border, I would be in the minority to say that I support gun freedoms at all; but I'll say it anyways. I support the NRA and all the great work they do and people like you who advocate for those rights. The rest of the world (and a good chunk of the USA) is truly backwards in philosopies on this topic. The fact that crime has not increased on campuses as a result of this change is not surprising to you and I though.

You may not have seen but there was a recent research paper released that concludes that concealed carry has a net benefit to reducing crime stats and that holders of such permits are among the most law abiding in the nation. Of course we both probably already knew that. But having a new study saying as much can only help.

Here is the study:
Lott, John R., Concealed Carry Permit Holders Across the United States: 2017 (July 18, 2017). Available at SSRN: https://ssrn.com/abstract=3004915

Sort:  

@freeinthought thank you! I am very glad to have a Canadian who shares my philosophy. Whether you think guns are good or bad they are included in the US constitution as a right, not a privilege, but a right. If you enjoy the other rights included in the constitution then you should be an advocate for all rights. If we lose in one area then it is just a matter of time before we lose in another and that should concern you.

I did see that study! I believe it was a collection of statistics for several states that allow concealed/open carry and the percentile of the population that these individuals broke the law compared to the overall population. I was not surprised to see that individuals that carry are much more responsible people and less likely to break the law.

Thank you for a thoughtful comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60632.49
ETH 2366.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56