You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Texas License to Carry Law Expands Rights

in #survival7 years ago (edited)

Proud CHL holder since 2008. And guess what? In less than a month I'm gonna open carry a 14 inch Bowie knife just because I can! (but only for that first day) Now if Texas would get rid of Straus we could maybe move forward with Constitutional Carry.

Sort:  

I'm all about that. Go out and practice your rights!
I still conceal carry just to not draw attention. What's your thoughts on open carry?

I open carried on Jan 1 last year. And have done so since many times. It is obviously a non-issue. If you listened to the media coverage and law enforcement at the time it was gonna be a Wild West Massacre! But it wasn't.

Now I do have to qualify myself here. I'm 6'2" and 320 lbs with a full beard and tattoos. I'm intimidating even with out a hand cannon strapped to my belt. But I have gotten mostly positive feedback from open carry. In fact the only place I got shit was my doctors office. Who didn't have any signage posted.

I look at it as an advocate for the 2nd Amendment. The more people who carry the more the public at large is used to it the less of an issue it is. I usually carry a full size 1911. So its somewhat concealed if I want it to be. But I'm no longer worried about printing or someone seeing my pistol while riding etc.......
Basically More Freedom = A good thing.

Yeah I used to be a cop/detective and I never liked the attention I got from carrying a gun. I agree though that the more it is fine the more people will not think twice about it.

Lol your a big guy and I'm right there with you, 6'3 340ish. I already command a room when I come in as well. I have never, not once had someone give me crap about having a gun on me which is probably good for them. I already don't give two craps what people think and that person would get an earful.

Freedom is always a good thing and this is actually a right that had been suppresed. 1911 is a great gun but a bit heavy for me. I carry a Glock 22 open and concealed I go with a Taurus PT709 slim. With the Taurus I can be in shorts and a t-shirt with no problem.

You can take me, but you cannot take my bunghole.... For I have no bunghole....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60632.49
ETH 2366.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56