PORTRAIT CONTEST: CHARCOAL DRAW - KAT VON D

in #surrealart6 years ago (edited)

Hello Everyone!

This is my entry to the contest Portrait Contest hosted by @sethlinson.

When I started to illustrate a few years ago, one of my idols was this girl, Kat Von D. She has a style that was what inspired me to take my path in the world of art, drawing in black and white and realism.

IMG_20180601_134919_305.jpg

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Thanks to Kat, my first illustrations in realism were portraits of artists, family or animals, she inspired me to see the drawing in graphite as my true passion. Shortly after seeing her tattoo all those portraits and designs that she captured on a paper inspired me a lot to focus on the Tattoo´s Wold, I think I can say that thanks to Kat, I am an illustrator and I am passionate about the Tatto´s World!

Splash.png

Do you want to meet Kat?

Katherine Von Drachenberg Galeano, known as Kat Von D, is a tattoo artist, businesswoman and celebrity American television, known for her work in the television program L.A. Ink. Kat has her own tattoo shop, a television program very similar to Miami Ink, but moved to Los Angeles, California, for which the program is called L.A. Ink and has a line of makeup in collaboration with Sephora.

She has tattooed many celebrities, including Frank Iero, Billie Joe Armstrong, Jenna Jameson, Jason Mraz, Zayn Malik, Bam Margera, Ville Valo, Jeffree Star, Dave Navarro, Nikki Sixx, Jesse Metcalfe, Brent Hinds, Mira Sorvino, Papa Roach , Jared Leto, Joey Castillo, Jason Freese, Gas Lipstick, Kerry King, M. Shadows, Margaret Cho, Sebastian Bach, Ian Scott, Lady Gaga, Ewan McGregor, Christina Perri, Demi Lovato, Miley Cyrus among others.

Kat has many tattoos: "my crazy life" on her back. A tattoo in honor of his mother on the scapula, another of his father's forearm and one of his sister Carolin. On his abdomen he has Hollywood tattooed in honor of his favorite city. He also has a tattoo on Nikki Sixx's shoulder that says I love you. In his right hand, on the fingers he has tattooed T.a which means True love always, the Heartagram and L.v.B. among other tattoos of his fingers. In the left hand he has the Heartagram symbolizing his favorite band with Ville Valo, L.A for Los Angeles and the ray of high voltage tattoo, his tattoo shop. In the two dolls he has tattooed "brother" and "sister" (in honor of his brothers). In the neck it has a flower that says oliver (the name of her ex-husband). On the left side of his face he has some stars, as well as on the eyelid of his left eye, because one of his favorite songs is Starry eyes by Mötley Crüe. On its right side it has three little dots and a lightning bolt. On his left shoulder he has tattooed the angels with other flowers on his arm. He has also tattooed the portrait of who was his friend and manager during the first season of LA Ink, Pixie, around his left leg made by Nikko Hurtado. She also has another portrait of Jessie James as a child, under the armpit, from a picture he sent when they started to leave.


516b9662c02a07bad119dfe4d8e944bd.png

Let's draw

First, we are going to mention the materials that I needed for this illustration:

  • Mechanical Pencil.
  • HB, 3B leads.
  • Charcoal Pencil.
  • Ghrapite Powder.
  • Brush.
  • Diffuser.
  • A4 Opaline 135G.

  • When making the sketch, I began to illustrate their eyes, they have a lot of black tone so I used the charcoal pencil to make them and the diffuser to fill and expand the charcoal.

  • With the HB and 3B pencil I made the tone of the skin and also its shadows, in the same way I gave volume to the nose and lips. The darkest parts of the face illustrate them with graphite powder.

  • Then illustrate the neck. Kat has a tattoo of roses on her neck, so I drew it first and shaded, then over with the brush and the diffusser I gave tone and volume to her skin.

  • Kat's hair is black, I illustrated it with charcoal making lines that start from the root to where the light comes in, this time I did not use the moldable eraser to make hair shine but I did it manually.


  • In these images they see the progress from an image on my computer.
    IMG_20180601_123928.jpg

IMG_20180601_134243.jpg


  • Finally it was necessary to make some adjustments, fill his shirt with graphite powder, make some lights and some loose hair ... And this is the Final Art:

IMG_20180601_135008_795.jpg

Blue.png

This work I loved, you can illustrate my inspiration to enter the art world and I could enjoy your process. There were 2 days of strong illustration to make every detail.

I want to thank @sethlinson for this contest. These things always inspire me to do jobs that I like.

I hope you enjoyed this Post as much as I enjoyed doing it! Thanks for being here!

Image Source 1
Image Source 2
Image Source 3

Until the next time!

Steemit.png

Sort:  

Me encanta la expresión e intensidad que lograste en la mirada. Es la misma que la de la fotografía, eso es lo que realmente me parece mucho más difícil cuando ilustras a partir de una referencia.

I love the expresion and identity you achieved with her look. Is the same as the picture, that is what is most difficult when you ilustrate with a reference.

Gracias por tu comentario Mariale! si hay muchos aspectos dificiles de captar con el grafito, me alegra que puedas apreciar el trabajo que pude hacer!

Thanks for your comment Mariale! If there are many difficult aspects to grasp with the graphite, I am glad that you can appreciate the work that I was to do! ;)

muy buen trabajo amigo

Gracias @betzaelcorvo tu trabajo es muy bueno tambien! Exitos!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by KenDraw from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

omg dude, the hair looks awesome! I mean, the whole thing is brilliant, but the hair looks like they're printed out :D Love it, following you for more of things like this<3

Impressive! Great to see it step by step.

Thank you for the feedback! im glad that you like this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97