Goodbye And Thank You, Summer 2017! It's Been A Blast 💙steemCreated with Sketch.

in #surfing7 years ago (edited)
Some of the best memories are made in flip flops. - Kellie Elmore

I couldn't agree more, Kellie.

To me summer 2017 has been regenerative. After a dramatic 2015 and an exhausting 2016, I finally found my balance in life. These past months have brought me back on the right path.

Surfing has become my anchor, as well as writing. I feel blessed.

Bye bye, summer twothousandseventeen! It's been a blast.

@surfermarly saying goodbye to the summery months

When days are growing shorter

On the 29th of October we'll change to daylight saving time, so in a bit more than one week 'summer time' will be officially over.

At my beach 'winter season' has already begun. It can easily be recognized by observing the surfers' outfits. Today I was definitely the only one who was still wearing a 'shorty'.

The comment from one of the surf instructors: 'Brave girl, you gonna freeze!' first made me laugh but then quickly revealed its element of truth.

According to the local wheather station, today's average water temperature at my local spot was 22.3 °C. It felt being much cooler than that!

The website http://es.surf-forecast.com recommended for today:

Wear boardshorts or a shorty, or better still a thin summer wetsuit to keep the UV off.

Ha! I bet you'd adjust your numbers if you were out there right now :-)

But anyways. Time to put the shorts in the back of the cupboard and put the longsleeves in front.

I'm complaining on a high level. Look at this one (surfing at a wind chill of -8°C):

Copyright: Chris Burkard (for more details see the bottom line)

I bet he would have loved surfing in a shorty at 22.3 °C instead, haha!

There are a lot of surf videos from Norway or other places at the Northern hemisphere.

But the following clip is definitely one of my favourites because the quality of images, the music and storyline is just outstanding.

Enjoy! These 8 minutes are definitely worth watching!

Arctic Swell - Surfing the Ends of the Earth (8 min. video):

I just can't get enough of these outdoorsy experiences, being in touch with Mother Nature and feeling the energy of this Earth.

When one season shades off into the next one we notice once more that we (human beings) actually are a nobody here.

In the end we simply follow natural law, and everything else is pure illusion.

Have a great weekend, steemians!

Marly -

PS: Now that steemit.com is constantly down, we can finally read all the books we've always wanted to read... you know books: these glorious, dusty, old school art works printed on paper, do you remember? Haha :-)


Thanks for your valuable time!
This blog was launched at the end of July 2016
aiming to provide stories for open-minded
people who enjoy living on the edge of their lives,
stepping out of comfort zones, going on adventure,
doing extreme sports and embracing the new.
Welcome to the too-much-energy-blog!

PS: Don't forget that this is a troll-free zone.

Original content. Arctic surfer found on smugmugfilms.com.

Sort:  

live life loud !
@surfermarly

Ha! Always :-)

just followed you @surfermarly to keep myself updated with ur experiences.

Would appreciate if you follow back :)

I do :-)
Nice travel blog of yours!

It is so funny that you mentioned actual books, my husband and I had a date night and went to a big library book sale, steemit being glitchy made that happen haha!!

Haha, really?! That is a cute idea for a date night!!
How are you doing, honey? Has your brother finally managed to sign up to steemit btw?
Wishing you a wonderful weekend 😘

I'm doing great! Did you see my post about @ericvancewalton's book?
My brother Did sign up for steemit, but the confirmation email went to his spam and his settings made it so he couldn't open it, so now he has to figure that out and hopefully it doesn't take him another 126 years hahaha!

Wishing you a wonderful everything :) xxxooo

Did you see my post about @ericvancewalton's book?

Now I did!!! I wasn't reading much on steemit these days, since I'm running a charity project (in real life :-)). So I had to organize a lot of things at the same time. The project will be part of my presentation at Steemfest, so I'm putting all these puzzle piece together for the great show in Lisbon :-)

Amazing article, a really nice chorus on Eric's outstanding work which is definitely remarkable. I'm very keen on meeting all these wonderful people soon.

So the steemit confirmation email got lost then? Oh dear... That account will take him forever to be installed haha Crossing my fingers :-)

Enjoy your weekend, sweetheart!

wish i came across your posts more in my feed 😊 👍

Oh you're always too kind 😍😍😍
Thank you very much @doitvoluntarily! Hope you're having a great weekend.

Well, I've certainly enjoyed peeking in on you and your summer! I'm glad you found your center line once again. It's refreshing to have all the blocks stacked nice and neat yet again before the next quake. That's what life does. It challenges us and we're supposed to over come those challenges, no matter what they entail, then grow from those experiences for the better. Thanks for sharing your glorious summer with us! I enjoyed it immensely and learned much from you to boot! Bravo! ;)

That's what life does. It challenges us and we're supposed to over come those challenges, no matter what they entail, then grow from those experiences for the better.

I couldn't have said it any better. In summer 2015 I was completely down. Now looking back it feels amazingly good to know that I made it. There was a moment in time when I said: There will be only a light at the end of the tunnel if I start walking towards it. Then I stood up and just walked.

Now I'm living the life I've ever dreamt of. It's very important to NOT EVER GIVE UP.

Thanks for sharing your glorious summer with us! I enjoyed it immensely and learned much from you to boot! Bravo! ;)

Thank YOU for being part of it!!! The community inspired me to share all these adventures and to paddle into that direction (literally). So I really appreciate that :-)

Have a wonderful weekend, @stillwater!

I'm not very excited to say Good Bye Summer it actually makes me really sad. Thanks for sharing the Arctic Surfer, I would never even imagine doing anything like this. Amazing.

I would never even imagine doing anything like this.

Me neither, haha! I'm just OK with watching it :-D

Yes, winter could be beautiful when it's all white, but I still prefer summer bright sun and all the green nature since it's so alive. This is why I want to live in El Salvador.

Ick Winter! Have you done or plan on doing any posts on how to pick a wetsuit that fits? I kayak and have a spray deck but I should really buy one and don't know what to look for to make sure it is a good fit!

Well it's like with buying underwear: you really need to try it on to make sure that it fits :-) A suit has to be like a second skin, otherwise it wouldn't do its job.
So what I do mostly is going to a local shop (that is rather expensive) to try on the suits and know what size I need, and then I order them online (which is usually much more economical).

I'm pretty happy with my new Xcel suit. Xcel usually doesn't have the zip in the back, which a) makes getting into the suit much more tricky but b) is also much more comfortable while doing sports. The zip can become really nasty depending on the sports you practice.
Before I had a Rip Curl which I also liked very much.

Where do you kayak? How cold is the water there? Depending on that you would choose the corresponding thickness of the suit. I have a 3.2mm now for winter season on Canary Islands, but that's not enough for cold water.

Hmmm, there are much more things to bear in mind... Probably I should do a post about it :-)
Good idea!! Hehe

Thanks for the ideas! It gets pretty cold here, the lake does freeze over but usually can still enjoy when it is between 5 to 10 degrees. More needed as precaution incase I fall in!

Wow! Surfing in the Artic, some people have such exciting lives, which include beauty and fun, and danger. Every day must be exzillorating, and well worth living for. WOW!

Yeah, that's definitely an exciting task. I don't think I would do it. I'd rather stand at the beach with a hot coffee in my hands watching them, haha

nice to hear that you had a awesome summer. for me surfing as well is creating balance in my life. would be very hard without it! 🏄🤙

some guys are really fearless. I love surfing so much but wouldn´t go in there for money. I was surfing Australian east coast in winter with nothing then a Boardshort and this was cold already!!

I was surfing Australian east coast in winter with nothing then a Boardshort and this was cold already!!

That's pure freedom, isn't it? :-)

Thanks for stopping by an sharing your thoughts with us.
Hope you're having a great Sunday btw!

It is!! Had a wonderful Sunday here on Bali. Working the whole day, surfing at sunset, dinner and now steemit!! ✌️

Arctic surfing looks insane. I love scuba diving and I'm even wearing a long wet suit in water temps of 28-29C... think I got used to tropical temperatures. Glad to hear you had a great summer. Wish you a great winter season too ;)

I love scuba diving and I'm even wearing a long wet suit in water temps of 28-29C...

Oh yeah, I did that, too. A couple of years back I did scuba dive in Sharm El Sheikh where the water was at 29C. No matter how warm the water is, after a certain time your body gets cold anyways.

Thanks for stopping by and leaving your thoughts :-)
Hope you're enjoying a great weekend!

it's nice to see you put short sleeves back and put long sleeves on, it's a sensible decision indeed in such weather, i really enjoy watching and reading your summer surfing posts and i wish you a very cheerful and adventurous winter ahead, Stay confident and thanks for sharing.

Many people get ill in-between two seasons, since their immune system is not prepared for the change. That happens both changing from warm to cold seasons and the other way around. I always try to consume a lot of Vitamin C during these periods :-)

you are right i also have that same problem whenever the season is changed, i mostly get flu, head ache and fever, thanks for your good tip i also try to take vitamin C directly from now onwards.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61263.81
ETH 2676.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59