In Honour and Gratitude of the Modest ones!

in #support7 years ago (edited)

Steemit, like anywhere, has it good and bad users, but it probably has a much larger portion of good users than most social media sites. Some of them are quite happy to blow their own horns and let us know what they're up to and how they're helping. However, some are very quiet and modest, yet they are still quietly helping from the shadows, supporting the foundations by helping and encouraging those coming in.

I have a soft spot for these people, because while I admire and am grateful to all those who reach out to help others, I'm an introvert myself and have a bias towards the understated.

grateful-2940466_640.jpg
Source

I've been thinking about posting about these people for a while and this particular one has been on my mind for a while. I know I don't have much of a following and there are others who probably know this woman better than I, but I've decided to take the plunge anyway as she has hit some hard times financially. She's not one to ask for help, she's too busy giving it. Most homesteaders will already know her as she is a gardener and her upvotes will likely have appeared on their feeds. True to her user name, she is like the favourite aunt, @aunt-deb!

She's always there with an upvote, even if it's just small. She may not always comment, but when she does it's always uplifting and positive. I once read a reply she wrote to someone asking for the dreaded follow for follow. Instead of flagging them, firstly she welcomed them to Steemit, secondly she pointed out follow for follow is a facebook thing and not appreciated here, then she gave advice on how they could do better here.

She is currently powering down a bit to help with finances and I think any advice on the best way for her to do this without her losing too much on fees would be very much appreciated. I know it won't be much, but I'd like to send her the SBD this post makes. I hope anyone reading this can also offer a her a bit of support too.

Most of all though, I'd like to say and I'm sure many will join me in this:

@aunt-deb, thank you for being you and for all you do!


You can also find The Miniature Smallholding on:

Instagram
Facebook
YouTube


Join us at the Online Homesteading Community

IMG_20180111_135541.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for calling her out. I never had the pleasure of coming across her on Steemit.

You're welcome. She is so very understated that I guess it's not so surprising she's not always noticed, despite being here since 2016.

Hello and I have no idea how we haven't managed to cross paths yet. I know I've heard you mentioned repeatedly. Pleased to meet you and added you to my followed list.

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.74$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Oh, geez, I don't know what to say... tears and thank you - this just made my day!!

(I'm not good at the spotlight thing either.)


Edited to add: Help with converting Steem to USD would be most helpful. I've never done it before and am still trying to figure out the puzzle pieces. Thanks again!

I'm not good with the spotlight either! Kind of like a rabbit!! Lol I hope I don't made you too uncomfortable, but I also wanted you to know you haven't gone unnoticed and you are appreciated.

I'm still learning with regards to crypto and exchanging. I've done some simple changes, but the simplicity meant that I probably lost a fair amount in fees. I really hope something's comes along who can help better.

@mattclarke, do you have any tips on the best way to exchange to fiat with the lowest fees?

I was surprised! I was reading this lovely tribute and getting ready to re-steem it... then I saw my name. Did a double-take and then got all mushy. Lol!

Bunches of hugs for the whole thing! Still grinning, just fyi... ;~D

Hehe! Glad to put a smile on your face!

Hear! Hear! I concur! She is a most wonderful member of our Steemian tribe. Three cheers for @aunt-deb!

She most certainly is!

Blushing here... thanks, @hethur240! Hugs!

From a Steward of Gondor and Steward of Terramater i thank you aunt deb for the support, help and kindness shown to others and for helping this platform be a great place to exchange our views. up vote done :)

Thank you for your support and kind words. It does help make things easier having such great Community backing.

agreed whole heartedly - @aunt-deb, we love you and we thank you!

Blushing here... thanks, @twinislandflames! Hugs!

@aunt-deb is a wonderful representative of all that STEEMIT is. She is solid, and a valued asset to our Homesteading community, that I have come to call family

She's is definitely the favourite aunt of that family! 😁

@aunt-deb has been faithful with her upvotes and support for so many of us, It's a pleasure to help her with what little we can. Thank you for pointing out that we have an opportunity to give back and bless her a little for once.

She certainly has.

@aunt-deb was one of my first followers and supporters. She's so kind and funny and encouraging. I don't have much, but she's welcome to what I have.

@aunt-deb, I'm sending good vibes out to you. A small repayment for all the welcoming, uplifting vibes you've sent out to me! Thank you!

This is the kind of thing that makes Steemit the best community online. Thank you, @minismallholding!

I saw what you did and thank you, @powellx5! That wasn't necessary and I appreciate it all the more. Huge hugs!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63665.23
ETH 2621.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77