I ate a super food and didn’t even know it.

in #superfood6 years ago (edited)

20181118_113311.jpg
A jar of jam called Oh! Berries - I tilted them so you could see the berries better.

Gazing the shelf of jellies at the market unable to read labels without my glasses I see something that appears to be a blackberry jam. This morning is the morning to enjoy with my home baked bread.

The jam is lovely but not as thick as some blackberry jams. I notice there is a tart taste at the end. The berry has an earthy taste that compares to the Cabernet grapes. The flavor is something I like so after eating time for research.

My glasses reveal it is not blackberries but Marionberries a hybrid of two types of blackberries, resulting in this wonderful berry from Marion, Oregon.

However, while the common blackberry is a species that has been around for thousands of years, the marionberry is a recent hybrid of two other types of blackberries, the Chehalem and the Olallieberry.

Health benefits are the antioxidants, weight loss, low calorie, high fiber, research being done on reducing skin cancer. It may boost brain performance.
Marionberry is a super food and the way the jam is prepared is very labor intensive the way they cook it down only 70% as is down with other berries.

The berry contains: Ellagic acid helping with inflammation from obesity, anthocyanins they have neuroprotective properties, dietary fiber helps prevent diabetes and heart disease. for more detail on these properties here is a link

Pie Recipe

Marionberry pie

Ingredents
1 baked pie shell
5 cup ice-covered marionberries
4 tablespoons cornstarch
1 cup refined sugar
2 tablespoons lemon juice

How to prepare?
Squash 2 ½ cups of marionberries with a fork and stir in corn starch, refined sugar and lemon juice. Place the remaining berries to freeze. Cook the mixture over medium high heat and stir constantly until mixture is clear. Cool the mixture completely in the refrigerator. Gently fold the remaining berries into cooked, cooled berries. Refrigerate the mixture until it gets completely chilled.

other links
At this link the science with the benefits.
https://www.superfoodly.com/marionberry/

I cannot substantiate any of the benefits found on the web, however I can tell you it is my new go to jam. Also, I plan to get some fresh berries.

Steemit @rebeccabe

jyi1yr7rjv.png

945pfbaird.png
xjoc77sdn4.png

z5gziwnazb.gif

Sort:  

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

Hi rebeccabe
Wow that looks delicious! I used to love making jam with my mum with wild blackberries and apple - I gotta get back into that!
Those health benefits are awesome - fruit is indeed natures pharmacy!

Upvoted and resteemed :D

thank you my friend @icedrum
make me some lol

Hello i never heard about marionberries before that is interesting. Your recipe for the tart sounds delicious:)

This is the first for me too. I am so glad I didn't have my reading glasses when I bought the jar or I would have stuck with blackberries.

I looked up that recipe so people would get something more out of the post and I think I might try making it. Next I have to see if I can buy the berries locally.

I will look for this in the supermarket, they just opened a Trader Joe’s nearby. The pie, I never made a pie with corn starch, but I want to try it. Thanks for posting this Rebecca.

sure let me know how it goes :)

Interesting. I have not heard of this berry before but maybe I will have to try to get some, or maybe just some of the jam like you've got XD

It is the things we never hear of that are usually worth investigating. It tastes great. I plan to find the berry.

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Hi @rebeccabe!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.274 which ranks you at #2619 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 28 places in the last three days (old rank 2591).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 217 contributions, your post is ranked at #44.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Howdy rebeccabe! wow a superfood..I've never heard of this particular type of berry before, I wonder if the hybrid is fairly new? Anyway I'm looking for it from now on!

Nope it has been around quite some time. If I would have had my readers on I would never have tried it. lol

howdy again rebaccabe...isn't that interesting how we accidently discover things like that? lol. well it made a great post!

yep .. I am glad too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59736.86
ETH 2416.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43