Suicide - Hope - Purpose

in #suicide7 years ago

The world can be a bitch - the same capacity it holds for joy and life can equally dish up fear and pain. While I don't personally call myself an anarchist I find many people on this platform are outside the box thinkers, with anarchists tendencies. I love that they are pushing the limits of what can be reality. The anarchist tendency seems to say 'screw the regulation and let people create and build whatever world they want to live.'

Last night I stumbled across a few articles about suicide by @shadowspub and @nomad17 (I attached the links below), one of them referencing the tragedy of steemer @lauralemons. Truly, remarkable the impact she had on people on this platform at the least. While I didn't know her, I wonder did she know the impact she had? Did the people close to her who offered up encouraging words, support fall on deaf ears? Was she able to grab hold of them, or was there a legitimate mental block that led to her taking her life?

It's hard to truly say, sad, sobering but reality.

I work with 18-25 year olds and find suicide to be a pretty normal conversation. Most students either have had thoughts of suicide or a friend thats confided in them with those same thoughts. Trying to help individuals managing this is one of the hardest most hopeless things I know. You tell them they are worth it or have purpose - but its like prove it. At the end of the day its the choice of the individual. Usually, the process is masked with some substance prolonging the process putting on toxic bandaids. Some people call those bandaids alcohol, some call them sex, others call them success. It however leaves the bigger question unanswered -

Why Do I matter?

If you or someone you know is sitting in that question, be honest with yourself and legitimately ask that question. Permission granted. Do not just sit in self pity acting like your asking the question while hiding behind your bandaids. Really ask it. You will find a higher power that really is in control and will help you not only lead you out of it but give you clarity on your own purpose. Its actually awesome.

At least that was my story.

And if your sitting here and call your self an atheist great...can't hurt to ask...

I attached a link to a song thats been helping release hope in my soul...enjoy it

Sort:  

Very nice article. It have been resteemed

Done
#cof

thanks man - gotta talk about it - its a real deal and lurking

2 Tim 4:7-8 (NKJV)

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.
Finally, there is laid up for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will give to me on that Day, and not to me only but also to all who have loved His appearing.

Thanks for the post.


SDG

Liked your article! I guess people who suicide just don't have real friends or family around them. Maybe just people who are sweet, but not particularly hepful. But yes, if a person finds some good healing, support, then they can be saved from ending their own lives and fulfill their real dreams.

thanks for checking it out and following along - gotta push the convo - and have the courage as lay people to step into to hurting peoples world and help them get the professional support needed...

Being someone that didn't have any thoughts of suicide but was a longtime cutter I felt numb . I had an episode after my divorce I cut my wrist and ended up in psyche. I was diagnosed with disassociative disorder. I didn't want to speak to anyone and really thought in my head I was truly alone .. and to your article you are so right we must find our purpose in life... I still have so much to live for ... reach out to the
suicide hotline 800-273-8255 someone will have a helping hand seek help and regain control...

thanks for sharing @orlena - and thanks for following along

This post is upvoted with 80-100% VP by the minnows group account @rougebot.

bkasia215093_final.jpg

FOR MORE DETAILS READ THIS POST -
https://steemit.com/rouge-bot/@rougebot/repost-help-powering-me-or-or-creating-a-group-of-minnows-to-support-each-other

Upvote this comment it will be very helpful.

Power is of two kinds. One is obtained by the fear of punishment and the other by acts of love. Power based on love is a thousand times more effective and permanent then the one derived from fear of punishment.

- Mahatma Gandhi

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by breakthrough from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Suicide is a permanent solution to a temporary problem... Just say'n... :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 52827.29
ETH 2171.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28