Went succulent shopping... again

in #succulents6 years ago (edited)

I didn't get any cactus this time but yesterday was market day and I picked up a few beauties:

echeveria pulvinata.jpg
Fuzzies: a white form of Echeveria pulvinata

euphorbia.jpg
A Euphorbia, I think it is one of the Meloformis variants, perhaps aiton. I have been growing quite a few euphorbia cuttings and many of them have refused to root for months. Less than a week on the heating mat, I am seeing rampant root growth. One of these days, I'll make a post about my euphorbias. These are difficult plants to grow but I am getting better at it.

And finally, a couple of haworthia and haworthiopsis: I have a couple of both of these species but no two plants are alike and I am of the opinion that you can never have too many haworthia

haworthia truncata.jpg
Haworthia truncata: this one has tiny bristles

tesselatas.JPG
Haworthiopsis tesselata: These look quite similar in the light that I took these pictures in but I'll take pictures of all my tesselatas soon to show the difference. No two plants are ever alike.

Sort:  

There is never enough of fuzzy plants. That's for sure :D

Nope! Now I just have to make sure that they don't fry this summer

very cool, amazing that cuttings would root months later, I guess that is part of them being so tough.

Their toughness is incredible

I have an old dead looking Christmas cactus that you have inspired me to water.

I hope it isn't too dead-looking

it's mostly brown but maybe some water and it will green up in time to bloom in winter.

Do you have your succulents outside? I am wanting to get some for the outdoor garden but didn't know if you had to shelter them from too much rain etc?

In my climate yes, many of them are outside but the extremely xerophytic plants have to be protected from excess rain. I'm not too sure how possible it is to grow succulents outside in the UK though. You'd need to protect them from too much rain and extremely cold temperatures in winter

Thank you for the advice! Yes I thought that!! We do get a lot of rain and it does get really cold! Maybe I should just stick to growing them inside first!

That would be best

money plant

Great boss keep it up

Posted using Partiko Android

Super!
All plants are beautiful.
But I really liked Euphorbia !!!
I found a photo of Meloformis variants on the Internet.

Euphorbia meloformis.jpg

Yes! I'm a big fan of euphorbias too, especially meloformis

Now I'll look at a photo of their varieties :-)))
Can I ask how much this euphorbia cost?
If you do not want to write price, I'll understand!

Believe me, I can't afford expensive things.
If I use a currency converter, it was ZAR40.00 or 2.40 Euros in your money. Because I know the guy, I paid ZAR30.00 or 1.80 Euros but they might cost a lot more in Europe, I don't know. Altogether, I paid about 7.80 Euros for all the plants I showed

Thanks for the answer.
We have more!
The most common cactus (small) costs 2.99 euros.
And this is because the Cypriots want a big profit!
And they buy for a penny.

:-( It can be very expensive here as well, depending on who you buy from. I get mine very cheaply

In the flower shop they are more expensive.
In other stores prices for cacti are the same.
It is cheaper only in the nursery of flowers.

I buy directly from some small growers to get the best prices. Shops are expensive but the nurseries are all far from me

Hey #catlady Have a nice picture. Keep posting my friend i just love photography. I like nature , bird , flower historical places.
Come visit my blog i hope you like it.

I can see why you are passionate about succulents, they are all so different with their own characters. It's great

They are tiny living sculptures

H. tesselata is so very amazing.
It is normal that Euphorbia take longer time for rooting. They just need almost always to be wet to root successful. If you manage to root them, it does not matter how long they need, but that you succeed.

Tesselata fascinates me.
The euphorbia weren't loving the winter, some of these cuttings have done nothing since early April no matter what I did yet a week on the mat got them going crazy

They root much easier in warm conditions.
I never succeed in rooting anything in winter.

That's true but June and July are our only really cold months and I rooted some things during that time. I expected them to do something in April and May, which were fairly warm

I love the look of the Fuzzies!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54864.63
ETH 2298.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30