Success is Revenge [Part 2]

in #success7 years ago

Targeting that Energy


Last month, I introduced the awesome gift by @tata1. He had taken my absolute favorite and almost daily-used phrase of 성공이 복수다 // “Success is Revenge” and created a custom work of calligraphy that I often reflect on in my daily use of Steemit. In that original post, I took a few moments to describe all the situations that I would've like to enact some form of “revenge” - not in any way revenge in the harmful sense or any meaning of ill-will. Again, I currently don't and never will wish anything bad to befall anyone (and I stand by that 100% even after a few drinks discussing exes who did the most horrid things). What I mean by revenge is for someone and their short-sighted judgement to be proven absolutely wrong – proven wrong by the future that I create with my own two hands.

We've all been in situations like this. There have been childhood bullies who teased, college colleagues that snickered at your ideas, employers and higher-ups that underestimate your potential and drive, and even family members and friends that project their insecurities onto to you and inadvertently hold you back. My absolute and greatest form of “revenge” is breaking past all those mental and social barriers to become the best form that I can be. Sure, in any of those situations I could've punched them in the face or slandered them online. But I think the sweetest form of salty retribution is to succeed, not give them the time of day and waving to them from the moon once you land.

And so last month I listed out a number of scenarios that would warrant this reaction. Once again, I thought I would revisit this (maybe this will be a monthly ritual) and tell you...

Who this Phrase is For


This is for the people that thought they knew who I was and had me pegged.

This is for those that freely spoke of my potential or lack thereof.

This is for those I have learned and worked with who don't see me as a professional threat, both in practice and existentially.

This is for those that believed rumors and speculation that I had weak character and a feeble moral foundation.

This is for the ones that didn't think to give me more credit and responsibility.

This is for those who rage-quite Steemit because their payout after one week is still low or that flags are “harmful” and as a result spend several posts dragging other through the mud and trying to halt the momentum of the greater community.

This is for the people that feel entitled to receive something but don't have the mind to work relentlessly towards it.

This is for those that project their anxieties onto others and burden them with their emotional baggage.

This is for the wonderful Steemians I have met in Lisbon, Seoul, and New York that are a bit anxious of this platform/blockchain's future.

This is for myself with things feel a bit hopeless and my attempts feel broken.

This is for my future me that looks at me now, in this moment, and smirks pompously because he knows all too well that I'll emerge on top.

Success is Revenge.

This phrase is what gets me through the daily grind. It helps me deflect the negative mojo of many things and people around me. It constantly reminds me that one day, I’ll be doing exactly what I want and WINNING at it. This applies to myself as much as it applies to my friends and family who may want to enact a bit of revenge by succeeding in life.

So that’s my motto (again). Maybe you can put it to good use too.

Steem on!

Sort:  

hey friend this is really very nice way to express these words that success is revenge suppose that there is an active person who were stopping you for doing anything and told you that there is nothing in this but when you attend the success that was a revenge for his negative thinking @hansikhouse

Right on. When you allow others to affect you negatively with their thinking, you will always fall short.

Thank you for the comment @believeme!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65725.20
ETH 3370.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63