Success... or Just the ILLUSION of Success?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #success6 years ago

Having been in business for myself for many years — and having been "inside" a large number of mostly smaller businesses — I am often given to reflect on the way the illusion of success is often more important than success, itself.

The "sales pitch" is often that a business is doing really well, even though things behind the scenes actually suck and they are on the edge of bankruptcy. Must keep up the illusion.

RD0014Orange.jpg
Orange bell flowers near my parents' house, Spain

What We Choose to Believe

When I had my last retail store, I would often get the inevitable "How's business?" from usually well-meaning individuals who liked to think they knew me.

I never had much hesitation in admitting that things were "so-so" when things were slow, but I remember many of my retail colleagues would eternally be talking about how amazing things were at their shops, even though I knew perfectly well that they were anything but.

Yes, I understand the basic psychology of it... people are less likely to feel confident about shopping at a place that seems to be teetering on the edge of insolvency. Even if those are the very businesses that could most use a few good sales to boost their bank account... and morale.

0633Silhouettes.jpg
Late sun... and rain

Sales... and Lies

The whole thing makes me think about how often exaggeration and "story telling" are used to persuade people to do something they wouldn't ever do if they knew the underlying truth.

I think of such debacles as the "late, great" BitConnect that left a bunch of people pretty high and dry, because the entire premise was based on a good story that really didn't have much realistic truth to back it up.

And what do we do here?

Are the stories we have been told about Steem, Steemit and the vision for the Steem blockchain... the truth? Or a carefully manufactured tale that serves little more purpose than to keep people hanging on, and haning on, and hanging on in hopes of better days ahead?

Ironic, that I write these words as the Steem token is showing the first signs of "life" in many, many months...

0647Butterfly.jpg
Small Tortoiseshell butterfly

"Everything is Just FINE!"

In my late 20's and early 30's I lived in a part of Texas that experienced a serious regional recession (or "depression," even), and I remember well how many people went around talking like they were doing "just fine," while they were actually on the verge of heading to court for their Chapter 7 bankruptcy filing.

Who are we actually doing a favor by pretending that things are "fine" when they really are not? Are we trying to persuade ourselves? Or are we trying to convince other people? Or are we simply in denial, across the board?

Maybe the answer seems obvious to you, but I find myself thinking that if you actually knew someone was struggling to keep afloat, wouldn't that be a more compelling reason to help them than if you had no idea because they kept insisting that "everything is just FINE?"

Whereas we may have been told that we should always maintain a front of success, portraying the public image that we are doing well, I'd submit that it might not really be the best strategy get ourselves through the stormy waters of life.

Thanks for reading!

How about YOU? Do you tell people everything is "fine," even when it isn't? Or are you more honest about the general state of affairs? Have you ever owned or run a struggling business? How did you handle the "how's business" question? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- be part of the conversation!

PHC-Footer-05.gif

(As always, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Created at 190117 16:58 PST

0850

Sort:  

Timely post — the Fyre Festival documentaries are basically exploring the same thing. Worth watching, one is on Hulu the other on Netflix. It’s all marketing on top of vapor.

Ah yes, I remember the ill-fated Fyre Festival. Just hype, hype, hype to get people whipped into that frenzy of enthusiasm where they completely forget to look at the underlying logic of what they are getting involved with.

Seems these kinds of things become more prevalent when times are tough, and more folks are more desperate and looking to stay afloat via "lottery thinking" rather than just working their asses off...

In 2016 I was in in a good business position. But a drunk driver & poor planning on my part (under insured) Put me in that everything is just fine position. Denial.....

The Drunk not having a pot to piss in, so not worth the time & cost of a lawsuit to secure a judgement that would never get payed.

11 more payments on my 4th truck that I did not plan to buy. My 3rd Truck that the Drunk destroyed was my retirement truck. I owned it free and clear. It was in good mechanical condition.

With this latest repair setback. I am currently trying to persuade myself that we can keep afloat for 10 more months.

Is it November Yet....???

Photo of the Truck I will own if I can make 11 more......

Posted using Partiko Android

I wish you success in making those 11 payments so you own it outright. It's the best feeling to not be in debt; there's a certain security in that, but you do have to protect that investment.

Setbacks can be hard to move past; our "retirement" is that we own our house outright, but making the taxes around here — after a long series of setbacks — has been a challenge.

Here's to us all making it through!

Usually don't tell.

Chin up and soldier on!! I guess I'm just too proud.

That does seem to hold true for most people.

I guess I have just failed enough times that I no longer care... people can think whatever they want, and I'm not too proud to accept help when things are bleak.

I would like to be a little more like that but it’s not really in my nature.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @denmarkguy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 850 posts. Your next target is to reach 900 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

'Sokay, man. Everything is hunky dory.

This excellent post was included in our new curation effort The Magnificent Seven -- a collaborative work by @enchantedspirit and @catweasel. You have received a 100% upvote from each of us to show our appreciation for your post. To see your creation showcased here ... and the fine company you keep ... please visit this link.

The Magnificent Seven # 49

We appreciate your support both for our work on this project and for the other creators of exceptional content who make it all possible. (Follow @catweasel to catch our future Magnificent Seven posts. @enchantedspirit says I'm really not as annoying as you might think, but she doesn't mean it.)

rcw.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68976.16
ETH 3307.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67