Sublime Sunday: Flea Market

in #sublimesunday6 years ago (edited)

I got a call this morning, after breakfast, from a friend wanting to know if I wanted to take a drive with her into Charlottetown. We could take in the Flea Market and have lunch.

I turned from the phone to ask Hubs if he had any plans for the day.

Hubs said,

“Go ahead, have fun. I want to watch football on the telly this afternoon.”

My friend stopped by the house to collect me and off we drove to town.

The first sign I see at the Flea Market.


image


I have to chuckle when I see this sign as I always say,

”I only have so many steps in me, and if I’m keeping time, I’d better be on the dance floor.” 💃 🕺


This lady vendor at the market looked cute and colorful in her Christmas hat.


image


She didn’t mind having her picture taken. She had a smile for everyone and kept busy knitting away behind her supply of knitted goods.

There were other vendors with tables of knitted mittens, scarfs, hats, etc.

You name it, they could knit or crochet almost anything for you.


image


This vendor had made little wooden animals that you could rest your phone or tablet on. There were other wooden products such as cutting boards.


image

This is only one area. There were tons of goods to look at or buy. I didn’t see anything I needed but ran into a couple folks I knew and had a little chat.


image


On the way home we passed an Amish horse and buggy. It is still a novelty to see the Amish folks driving their horse and buggy around town or on the highway.


image


Aha..winter in Canada. Still lots of snow around but milder temperatures these days.


image


Christmas Trees for sale seen in a parking lot when we got back into Montague.


image



#sublimesunday is a tag presenting you with the unique opportunity to post something a bit different, wacky, crazy or just whatever takes your fancy and instigated by @c0ff33a ☕️
Camera: Motorola phone

Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada



Click images to redirect





Picture1.png


image

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

howdy redheadpei! well that looked like a fun day! Very good shot of that Amish buggy! Are they new to your area? It's too cold up there to be in one of those buggys in the winter!

The Amish have been here a few years. I see them in the horse-drawn buggy all year.

howdy today redheadpei! that is very good to hear about the Amish. At least in this country they are a great blessing wherever they are settled because they are stable and provide a tremendous amount of organic food to the local marketplace.

So true Jon...a hard working people. They bought some run-down farms around PEI and brought them back to their former glory.

That's marvelous to hear redheadpei, I hear stories like that alot. They have the work ethic, the labor force and the money to change entire counties!

Excellent post! Thanks for sharing these photos with us all so we can get a glimpse of your town! U+R :)

Much appreciated Keith. Thanks! 😊

It looks like a fun way to spend your Sunday! Do you knit or crochet? I used to when my kids were small. I made many hats!

Hi Melinda. It was nice to check out the wares at the market. I used to crochet Afghans but since being on internet & Steemit all that has fallen to the wayside. 😂 I still have a few around here.

@eSteemapp hS become my full-time hobby too! I used to spend a lot of time in the winters putting together jigsaw puzzles, and I have not done a single one this year. There are a couple new ones sitting in the closet that haven't even been opened.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by redheadpei from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

It looks a fine day out.

I LOVE to see the Amish, though haven't done in years. When I lived in Midwest long time ago I saw them more.

I am happy with our warm Winter temps (For me at least) here in South East England, whilst back home in USA New England I know it to be MUCH colder and there will be snow.

I love craft fairs like this, always so fun to see what people are making.

Hi Donna. It is fun to check out the crafts folks are selling. Glad your temperature is warm. Not so much here... snow is a good insulator and with it on the ground it seems a bit warmer.
Are you living in England permanently?

How many fleas did you get at the Market? I always wanted a flea circus as a boy, although nowadays the idea just makes me itchy.

Certainly some bright and colorful stalls, it looks like it was a fun day out and so much snow around too!

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Posted using Partiko iOS

I went into one room filled with old books and antiques. It smelled musty and I was leery there might be a flea or two hop on me. Now I’m stratching my head.. 😂. All in all a fun market. Thanks, Rob.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73