Sublime Sunday

in #sublimesunday6 years ago

Because it’s Earth Day , my Sublime Sunday is about the environment and picking up your own garbage and putting it in the proper recyling bin to be disposed of properly.


CEDEF139-5F2D-4999-8E56-4BCB70237C7F.jpeg

source

Earth Day here on the Island is turning out to be nice and sunny. 😎. Not warm enough to go without a jacket but it’s getting there!

Hubby did his part this morning by picking up garbage people threw out on the highway and ditch near the house.

😠 It always irks me when I see this disrespect of the environment with plastic bags, pop cans, coffee cups (no offence @c0ff33a) and beer cans tossed carelessly out a vehicle’s window.

Yes, beer cans!. We live just far enough from the beer store and Tim Horton’s for a beer or coffee to be downed and tossed out the window by the time the vehicle is passing our driveway.

I do chuckle about the beer cans as I think the person is getting rid of evidence before arriving home.

P.E.I. has a great recyling system-compost, waste bins and blue bag pickup of bottles, cans and paper.

There is no need for anyone to toss garbage out on the road with so many proper places to dispose of it.

Everything discarded has a place to go in bins provide to every household. The bins and blue bags for recycle are taken to the roadside on the appropriate pickup day.


FBF8A180-8A2E-409A-9250-D63D97422F99.jpeg

source



I can’t close off without mentioning my often talked about and favorite Patron Saint Of Animals And The Environment. Frances Of Assisi is a familiar Saint from my childhood. There is a Shrine in his honour near where I was raised.

Saint Francis of Assisi Shrine Entrance



5CB4D930-1C8E-446F-A280-FFC903496493.jpeg


Francis of Assisi has been gone over 800 yrs but today, Earth Day, his spirit Is needed to guide us in cleaning up the environment and protecting the people and animals affected by the pollution.


F0E33BE1-23F2-4B8B-BDBD-068BF127059F.jpeg


Sublime Sunday Info

Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada.

Photos by @redheadpei unless otherwise sourced.


F0E33BE1-23F2-4B8B-BDBD-068BF127059F.jpeg

#thealliance






The STEEM Engine


Thanks For The Visit!

Happy Earth Day!

Sort:  

Even a Deer needs it's caffeine fix, although I hear he is down to three cups a day now! I totally misread what you were saying and though you were apologising for me throwing beer cans out of my car - have you seen me sing and drive? That's only going to get worse adding beer into the mix!

In the UK we have quite strict littering laws now, you can be fined by wardens of seen doing it on the street, and there have been a few high profile cases of people stuck in traffic queues throwing cigarette ends out of car windows and being fined for littering - by passing foot wardens!

We should of course look after our plant more, thank you for joining in and also for raising an important environmental point - people should stop littering and dispose of their rubbish responsibly.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Haha rob @c0ff33a. You had me laughing when you misunderstood me and thought I meant you were throwing beer cans out the window.🍺 Beer does cause people to sing more. 😂 ..if you’re singing while driving, just throw the empties in the backseat. 😆 😀 . Seriously now, thanks for instigating Sublime Sunday and for the resteem. ❤️

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.36$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Happy Earth Day! That photo should be a great reminder! I can't even imagine littering. Who does that these days?

Hi Melinda @melinda010100. Littering is still going on but not to the extend is was at one time. There are fines if anyone is caught littering.

When I was a kid it was awful. Everyone just threw everything out the car window, and never gave it a thought. Then the 'Don't Be A Litterbug' caught on and made people aware. May be they need to re-run that to remind people.

Good idea Melinda to remind people. I haven’t seen any signs around .

I'm with you, there is no need to litter. I hate seeing it all around our city.

It must be a false sense of entitlement some people have to throw out garbage for others to clean up.

Great post @redheadpei!! I hate to see littering. My mom instilled that in me as I did to my children. We keep a trashcan by our mailbox for passer bys to use as we get a lot of walkers. Most use it correctly but sadly some just don't care and will literally throw their trash on the ground by the can.

Thanks Dee. A lovely courtesy for others to have the trash can by your mailbox. Some people just don’t give a rat’s $ss where they throw their trash.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60025.27
ETH 2417.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42