Is it a matter of strength?

in #strength6 years ago

Image source: Pixabay

Strength

Something happened the other day that reminded me of the physical strength men have and the physical strength women have. Before you explode into a crazy tangent support feminism or equality, chillax. I get it, men are just as strong as women and vice versa. In every sense of the word, men and women are strong.

Do you wonder when men and women demonstrate their strength the best?

For women, I see the most strength when it comes to pregnancy. To me, no greater strength is demonstrated than during pregnancy and afterward. A woman’s body can survive and deliver life. Lift that in the gym, boys! I kid, I kid, you kiddos are strong too. I’ve been watching the CrossFit games lately while also watching a documentary about a child's development. It’s a healthy balance.

When do women and men demonstrate their strength the best?

Crossfit Games

This week the CrossFit games start. If you’ve haven’t watched the games before it’s on Netflix and I love it! These athletes are incredibly dedicated, competitive, and so nice/silly. These kids can lift, carry, jump, swim, and row to near death exhaustion. I used to think CrossFit was just about lifting heavy over and over again, which it is, but I had no idea the amount of cardio they do on top of that.

On top of all that lifting, they climb ropes, they bike, they go on short runs and various other cardio. These kids are ninjas and I want to be one too, but not really. That is a lot of training. Anyways, the winner of the CrossFit games is declared the Fittest man/woman on Earth. How neat is that?! Last year and the year prior had a lot of Aussies compete and win. First and second place winners for the women's division were won by Australian women.

Matt Frazier has won for the men back to back. He's a short guy and you wouldn’t think he could win by looking at him. Yet, he accidentally wins qualifying meets all the time. Not sure how you can accidentally win then purposely win. That’s on a whole other level. I wonder how these competitors will do in the first ever marathon row Challenge. Four hours of rowing!

All that to say, that these men and women can left insanely heavily and repetitively complete insane challenges of endurance and strength.

This is where you see them in their element. They all love it and can’t get enough. During these games, I’m reminded that the human body can be trained to survive and thrive.

Pregnancy

Unlike CrossFit, one does not win money or train for years to give birth in the traditional sense of physical training. Yet, when the time for birthing comes women showcase a level of pain tolerance, physical strength, and endurance far beyond the abilities of an athlete.

How is that possible? Well, the documentary I’m watching can break down the science for you. That’s all fun, but I’m curious about the will behind it. For women the natural sense to survive with our bodies while men survive with there strength in other areas. Maybe it isn't a matter of women and men, but will, and the phenomenon that is the human body.

What are your thoughts on strength? I know many women fear motherhood and children because of many factors and the process of giving birth. What comes to mind, when you think of strength in reference to gender?

Sort:  

Crossfit is fun when it's not sucking, which is a lot when you're mid WOD and want to die.

Also men are typically physically stronger than women. Obviously, it differs among individuals, but it's still a fact. I don't know why the SJWs have a problem accepting science. Go to any gym and you will see this. The strongest person there is probably not a woman.

These men were lifting almost twice as heavy as the women. It’s insane how strong they are! Why aren’t you competing choo?

Are you serious? I'm not an elite athlete. And I'm definitely not training for the crossfit games. It's a professional level sport. I don't even do the RX workouts. I do the scaled versions 99% of the time. Plus I have a million injuries that always restrict my movements.

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Yes

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

The crossfit is fun but you need a lot of determination and discipline, I sincerely admire the people who do this activity

Do you do any sport or exercise?

Nice tekst. Check my new post a bit about the weather in the netherlands. image

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99