Travel - France - Paris Part #4 - The Louvre

in #streetphotography6 years ago (edited)

On our third day in Paris we decided to tackle the world's largest art museum, the Louvre Museum (aka Musée du Louvre in French). Situated on the Right Bank of the Seine river in Paris' 1st arrondissement, it has over 38k objects and an area of over 72k square meters!

The museum is truly epic and around any corner you can bump into a famous (and very expensive) piece of art. Some paintings and mosaic walls are massive and so detailed it takes quite a bit of time to admire everything. We saw the Mona Lisa which, in my mind, was a lot less impressive than many of the other art pieces. In truth, the museum was to much for me and after 3 hours of walking we have not even covered half of it. We started looking for the exit (sortie in French) and it took us more than 30min just to get out.

Tell me what you think and stay tuned for more!

IMG_6674.JPG

IMG_6655.JPG

IMG_6652.JPG

IMG_6681.JPG

IMG_6686.JPG

IMG_0043.JPG

IMG_0045.JPG

IMG_0064.JPG

IMG_6690.JPG

And this is how I felt after the Louvre... ;)

IMG_6703.JPG

Camera: Canon EOS 400D
Location: The Louvre, Paris, France

More in this series on our travels in France:

[1] https://steemit.com/cityscapephotography/@extremejogging/travel-france-paris-part-1-our-first-day-by-foot
[2] https://steemit.com/architecturalphotography/@extremejogging/travel-france-palace-of-versailles
[3] https://steemit.com/architecturalphotography/@extremejogging/travel-france-paris-part-2-la-defense
[4] https://steemit.com/streetphotography/@extremejogging/travel-france-paris-part-3-latin-quarter-and-night-shots

Keep exploring...

@extremejogging

!steemitworldmap 48.892393 lat 2.239031 long The Louvre D3SCR

Sort:  

Great pics! I went to the louvre but not inside. Good looks

Amazing world's largest art museum with things to see spanning many centuries. This is more than a museum. It's an experience !

You know my hometown Chandannagar (West Bengal, India) has a French Connection. It was once a French Colony and this Municipal Town has a French Museum too. Your post boosted my desired to go ahead and write an aricle on that. I'll definitely do this someday. Anyway, thnx for sharing

Interesting... thanks for the info. Glad the post inspired you to share more history content. ;)

I would love to see an article on the topic you proposed :)

I share your oppinion. Was not impresed with Mona Lisa, like I thought I would.
Too many things to see, but after few hours, it's becoming torturing, especialy if there are too many visitors.
Glad to see these photos, since I've lost all I had from Paris :/
Have to go again :)

Haha, glad it is not only me. ;) Damn, not cool losing all your photos. How did you do that?

The mysterious disappearance of the memory card... 😫
So I promised myself to go again. Not sure I would go to Louvre, but Paris for sure

Damn, not good. I'll also definitely go back to Paris one day...

I've been dying to go to the Louvre! Thanks for sharing your experience. I hope you had a great time! I followed you. I'm excited to see what else you post. :)

Hope you make it to the Louvre one day. Stay tuned for more France post under travelling and, of course, more extreme jogging posts. ;)

I hope so too! And will do! :)

I love France and especially Louvre. I am in love with archaeology and art and this museum has it all! In my visit there, unfortunately I had time only to visit Giocconda ☹️. I enjoyed the post (and photos since I enjoy photography) and I will read the other parts too. Already followed you!

Yes, I think you need to get a multi-day pass and spread your visit out. Otherwise there is no way you would be able to see everything and properly appreciate it...

The Louvre is an amazing spot for taking pictures! I love it!
Thanks for sharing your post, I really enjoyed it (:
Keep up your great work!

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 31.84% vote... I was summoned by @extremejogging! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

original monalisa photo is not it @extremejogging

Not sure what you were trying to say, but that is a photo I took of the original Mona Lisa. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87