A walk through old Kuala Lumpur

in #streetphotography6 years ago (edited)

These days I try as much as possible not to go into the city as I find my intolerance to traffic jams and inconsiderate drivers - the so-called KL-drivers - has steadily increased since I haven't had the need to drive through those roads!

However, I did recently drive into KL for one last yee sang treat for the family, before the end of the 15-day Chinese New Year celebration. There's a favourite vegetarian restaurant of ours that we try not to miss every year. And it's smack in the middle of the city!

It helped that we went on a Saturday as the city seemed quite deserted (this particular sector anyway) and it wasn't too bad.

I guess as they say, 'Absence does make the heart grow fonder', and I found I could better appreciate certain things about the city.

Here are some shots of a little section of old Kuala Lumpur that I passed and would like to share with you.


Click on images for fullscreen view
DSC_0816 b-i.jpg

This might make a marvellous painting with some character... if, someone wanted to paint it! Left in disrepair, but you can still make out the delicate carvings on the front and olden day style spindle-shaped balusters around the balcony. I couldn't make it out from the distance but they looked like those blue and white porcelain work! Wow!! If only...
The front windows have been replaced with modern ones whereas the old ones would have been wooden shutters
Many of these old shophouses are now either abandoned or left to migrant workers to live in, as this seems to be the case here. The fluorescent light is on, laundry drying on the balcony and even a dish for satellite TV! Or is it even working...? A pity, but many of these which should be restored to former glory are not maintained or even torn down to make way for modern structures such as the skyscrapers behind it

DSC_0821b.jpg

A black and white zoom-out shot


Halfway down the street, turn your eyes to the right, and you'll see this view below...

DSC_0824b.jpg

Curious?
Walk closer...

DSC_0825b.jpg

This is 'The Kid with the Tiger Hat' (no. 3 on the location map) a piece from the TanahAirKu (My Homeland) series, a street art initiative by Petronas, the national petroleum company who also owns the Twin Towers


20180225_100942a-b.jpg

Next to that huge street art, is the headquarters of a major local bank, with its unmistakable architecture


Take yourself back to the street you were on before...

DSC_0832b.jpg

View from the corner, further down the street from the first shophouse


20180225_101133b.jpg

Around the corner, along the next street was where the street art I had posted about last week, was being put up ~ seems to be scenes of the shophouses of old KL
See the shuttered windows I mentioned before...?
I really must go back to get a picture of the completed work!


DSC_0814b.jpg

Near the end of my walk, on the way to my car, I pass by some graffiti - more 'street art' but of an unapproved kind!


Captured with SONY Xperia M5



~ more of my learnings & experiments ~


I'm with QURATOR... Are you?

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #streetphotography

You have earned 6.00 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.20
Server time: 17:32:20
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 1737.00/3200.00
Total Photos: 144
Total comments: 273
Total contest wins: 13
And have also received a 0.50 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I also avoid getting into downtown KL especially the old neighbourhood because of parking and high crime.

Yeahhh, you gotta be an 'old' KL person to know where the good carparks are! ;)
Crime? Can't help it... Just got to be extra vigilant and avoid easy target behaviour...

ood to see such great places of around the world

great painting nods hi to both of you :)

You're welcome!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 8 March 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

good post is amazing painting follow now interesting blogs

Thank you, @angeltirado; but you do know they are all photographs, right... no paintings here!

haha the last graffiti took the cake XD

The first photo is amazing! The contrast of modern and very old, the clean straight new buildings and the ornate but morbid old house is really captivating! Nice one!

Thank you, @pusteblume!
Love how you described it... :)

@ackhoo Thanks for showing us the beauty of the old Kuala Lumpur, it's like walking through the tunnel of time machine...

Glad you enjoyed it, @wilhb81! There is so much more to capture in KL... If it wasn't so hot here, it would be more fun to walk around to get the shots!

Wow, this is an interesting post! Thanks for taking us on this trip through KL. It’s so strange to see the old and new in one photo. I dislike when the old buildings are torn down and a city loses its character from days past!

Thank you very much, Violet! I am happy to share scenes of the old city with everyone.
I agree - such as waste when they tear down the old; it is a part of our history and what makes it from the past... why get rid of it...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66137.20
ETH 3543.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56