My 1,000th Blog Post & Update On My Roadmap To 5,000 SP By Aug 23, 2019 (2-Year Mark) Ahead Of Schedule Now Needing 6.57 Steem/Day For 121 Days

in #strategy5 years ago (edited)

For my 1,000th blog post since August 23, 2017 (yea, I hustle), here's the breakdown of my grind to earn my way to 5,000 SP.


The Numbers:

Starting Point On ~3/9/19: 1,400 SP needed at 166 days out requiring 8.43 Steem/day.

Today: 795.11 SP needed at 121 days out requiring 6.57 Steem/day. (Currently 4,204.904 SP)

Pro: I've reduced the amount of daily Steem needed by 22%.

Pro: NO self-voting since the start, and for a while before then too. I help others instead of myself.


  • I've been sticking to about 1-2 posts a day. I've slowed down on daily jokes, which are a lot of fun for me, and tried to write about deeper/more diverse topics to reach more people.

  • With my daily curation pulling in about 1-1.5 Steem per day, this leaves me needing about 5.07-5.57 Steem/day from blogging and engaging others.

  • At today's prices, this is an insignificant amount money, but I set a goal to earn all my Steem, and will stick to it until I hit it.


Proof Of No Self-Voting:


8 is my favorite, lucky and baseball jersey #. Trifecta


Prior proof, 5 day gap missing, but no self-voting during that either.


Gratitude:

Heavy % support has some from those seen leading in the pie charts, while many others have been a great help chipping in to account for the rest of my progress. Every vote means a lot. Several people have added me to their auto-voting to keep me growing, which is awesome.

I prefer not to single anyone out because everyone helps as they can, but the charts scream that I have to thank @theycallmedan aka @curatorhulk for covering about 55% of my earnings during this challenge. It's amazing how one generous person who simply gets the bigger picture can make an impact on dozens, if not hundreds of dedicated bloggers with their stake. This helps me grow, and helps me grow others.

THANK YOU.


Notes:

  • I recently went to the Global Blockbuilders Conference and didn't make a single blog post for 8 days. The longest gap I can remember before then was likely 2.5 days, so this was a long time for me. This set me back a bit, but I prioritized having fun and spending time with people I don't see often.

  • I had two relatively highly rewarded personal thank you posts after this trip, which made up for the time gap in spades.

  • I seem to get more traction when I open up and let my thoughts flow about others or Steem, versus posting about my thrifting, recycling, jokes, drums and/or baseball (ironically many of my biggest freakin passions). While they're not always profitable posts for the time I put into them, I won't chase the money and post what people seem to reward best. I want to attract those who are like-minded so I enjoy the experience and connections I have.

  • I've powered everything up as I've earned it on this challenge and will continue to do so until I hit 5,000.

  • I'm happy that the Steem/SBD ratio is very favorable right now. This has helped me quite a bit.

  • For those who had similar SP tallies/goals that were keen on following my little trek, here you go. Let me know how you've progressed.

  • At this pace, I don't think it'll take me until August 23rd to hit my goal, but I'm going to keep that date as my horizon for now so I don't put pressure on myself for what should be a fun experience.

  • As mentioned in previous posts, all of my SP is earned and I did cash out/swap at least 1,500 Steem as mostly liquid SBD along the way at much higher prices. I've never powered down for even a second.

  • No bid-bots.

  • I keep debating putting a healthy portion of my BTC and/or ETH into a new Steem account to help this place grow, but just can't seem to get myself to do it. Why am I so damn stubborn and afraid to let go of my blue chips? While I could scoop up a good amount of Steem to make a dent around here, it feels too risky right now, but I suppose that's where the future reward would come from. I'd love to hear thoughts and opinions on this from the peanut gallery.


Historical counts before hitting "Post" = 999 posts, 7,386 comments, 10,518 replies. I wish I had more to show for that, but it's a long game.

I thought I had more than 1,000 posts already, but I'm pulling from SteemWorld now.


Wish my luck on the next round!

Thank you everyone,
@steemmatt

Sort:  

Your consistency is paying off brother!
Keep up the hard work, the better days are coming! 💚🙂

Good luck dude!

As a proud member of the peanut gallery I'd keep your shares of BTC/ETH as they are... I can't predict whether you'd be better financially in Steem, Bitcoin or other, but I do think that diversification is definitely better for you in the long run. Guaranteed as soon as you make a move from BTC or ETH they'll shoot up...

Anyway, this is amazing progress! I completely agree about chasing the money, it's pretty much the fastest way to burnout. I pretty much enjoy all your posts though, so it's win win win for me.

P.S) I'm on 262 posts... I can't even comprehend 1000... amazing.

I needed to make the 1,000th post about this goal, or else it was going to be a big post about your face.

Thanks for the advice (and for reading my posts as always). Something inside always says to hold my BTC/ETH or else I would've done this before and had a vastly different experience with Steem. I have other tokens I could be more liberal with, but they're much smaller in value and fun lotto tickets for the long run. I'm willing to listen to others to see if I'm being too safe/biased, but I eventually want to stake my ETH for interest, and BTC is the gold standard I'd feel naked with less of in this market.

1,000??!

one...THOUSAND???!!!!

That’s a huge accomplishment. Once you pile on the organic growth of followers, accumulation of Steem, and real world relationships...it’s mind-boggling how inadequate you are making the rest rest of us feel.

I’m thinking you should stop and let the rest of us catch up.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you. Quality over quantity though. I've worked harder than smarter at times out of stubbornness and principle to not sell myself out on stupid rules I made. About 165 of posts were a daily fitness community exercise challenge with manual tally accumulation that had over 50 people involved. Many others were a daily original punchline joke, a big passion of mine, with a really tight community of jokesters I enjoyed interacting with. Those days have faded, but that's where a good chunk came from for context.

I blame my fear of vlogging for being behind where I feel I should be, as those who made the switch to video content when dtube got bigger lapped me over and over in overall progress. I wanted to maintain my privacy, had to loosen up when I got in SteemFest pics, but still can't see myself talking to a video camera.

The reason I think I've gotten traction is because of general consistency, upvoting nearly all replies, answering people to maintain the connection, and engaging others on their blogs. While I haven't earned a ton, I've met plenty of good people along the way to justify the means. That's what keeps me feeling ok about things if Steem or crypto went kaput. It's all about real-world relationships in the end game. Steem is just a way to facilitate that with likeminded people.

You have nothing to catch up on. You're a developer with the skills I wish I had to be more relevant and useful around here, while being able to make changes to the system. You're a builder. I'm just a content creator, and they're 0.10 Steem a dozen!

Let me know where to pay you for the therapy session. Thanks for the big vote!

Very Nice!

I happen to like your thrifting posts the best, although I have come across very few of your posts that I did not like (I fantasize about being a drummer one day)!

Keep on truckin' and you'll get there.

If you would like to add a tiny amount of SP for free #skininthegame. Not much, but free ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68