Local people in the spotlight: Khatia

in #storytime6 years ago (edited)

Going to new places and discovering them for the first time is very interesting. But what makes it memorable the most? It might be sightseeings, nature. But, just think about it a little bit deeper...

My name is Marisha. Technically I'm Russian, but was born and raised in Georgia, Tbilisi. I'm helping Jonas with the hostel project. While visiting a new destinations, the main thing I personally pay attention to, is people. And one of the most amazing thing I find about the place Tago is local people.

When you arrive in Khulo, the first thing you might notice is people staring at you.  Wait, wait. Don't make early conclusions. They just aren't used to the tourists. And usually, we as humans are scared of things we are not familiar with. Look at it in that way. You might find yourself feeling weird, but trust me, this will pass soon. The next step that is waiting for you is finding out locals' warm-heartedness. Don't be surprised if someone offers you some fresh organic fruits and vegetables right away from their garden, or invites you on a dinner to enjoy Georgian cuisine and local wine, or even offers you a place to stay for free! That's how Georgians are. They are proud to show their culture and hospitality!

I remember my first day in Khulo. I was in my friend's house, waiting for a dinner. Despite of tininess of the flat, the place was full of guests, probably neighbours. That evening, kids were looking at me and whispering something to each other, while not being able to hide their smile. I remember them saying: "How beautiful she is". I answered back with the same compliment. It was unbelievably cute to see these little girls' shininess! Then one of the them asked me if i was a tourist. I said I wasn't. What I got as an answer was: "But you have a tourist's hair!". That was funny. I have a light brown hair, so it looked a little bit not like Georgian to her, which is true. That's how I met Khatia.


*On the top of the hill, Tago

Khatia is a beautiful 10 year old girl from the Tago village with a birthmark on the tip of her nose. She loves new people any age, especially foreigners. That's why Khatia is trying to learn English. She really wants to be able to communicate with everyone! Khatia is super funny, friendly and full of energy. But what makes her different from most of the kids her age is responsibilities. As you might know, village life is hard. And she helps a lot in the house. And every day, she takes a cable car down to the center of Khulo to go to school! Throughout the month that I've spent in Khulo and Tago, I've seen her in different situations and was just amazed by how smart and warm she was. Did I mention that she is a dancer? She can even teach you some Georgian dance movements! Khatia already has this experience of teaching other, way older people, than her.

I was staying in a cozy "Hostel 13" in Khulo and Khatia was trying to visit me as often as possible. We've spent days doing her homework together, attending some events in Khulo like animation screening in the theater, taking walks holding each other's hands, and hugging. We've had tons of never ending hugs! Another sweet thing she has done to me was offering me a lot of red peppers (actually, she was secretly stealing them from her family garden) almost every day as she knew I really liked making rice with them!

I was honored to be able to meet this kind soul who in the end told me that I was like a sister to her. How lucky i was to hear these pure and naive words from this little girl who I'm sure will have a bright future. She wants me to be a part of this future by the way, as she told me that she wants to see our friendship growing. I've again realized how much we can learn from kids. Khatia made every single day spent in her home-place so precious and she was definitely one of the reasons I've completely fallen in love with Tago and Khulo! Before I left Khulo, she took my hand and gave me a final little round red pepper. This one I kept as a gift.

Me and Khatia are looking forward to seeing each other in winter! I advise you to definitely think about visiting the place and meeting this super cool kid that will make you feel so loved and probably will wake your inner child up. What are you waiting for?

 

Sort:  

Congratulations @hosteltago! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @hosteltago! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65811.45
ETH 2675.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88