Story Cubes Contest - The Blood Part

in #storycubes7 years ago (edited)

This is my entry to the Story Cubes Contest Week 6.

Before we begin, I have to thank @jacobtothe for putting in the work it takes to make something like this happen. I've looked back over some of the past Story Cubes winners, and all I can say is this: If you haven't checked this out, you are missing it, bigtime. There are steemit writers out there that will make you laugh, make you cry, and make you wonder. These contests are a great way to find great art, and my gratitude for the folks putting it all together is immeasurable.

Anyone interested in Story Cubes can follow this link: https://steemit.com/storycubes/@jacobtothe/story-cubes-contest-round-6

Image credit: https://pixabay.com/en/woman-female-beauty-model-dark-2695132/

The symbols I used freely throughout are: Gemstone, Death, Balance of Justice

NOTE!
This story contains some violence and graphic descriptions.

Aurelia.jpg

The Blood Part

We should have found a doctor in Saurimo, but Aurelia wanted to get as far away from the mine as fast as possible. Mateus said he thought he could make it so we headed south, on foot toward Dala.

We made good time that first day, almost sixty kilometers before we had to stop and sleep. We’d crept out of the compound just before daybreak, spent the next sixteen hours looking over our shoulders. We found a somber refuge until daylight in a clearing just off the road.

Waking fresh with the sunrise, we continued our trek. From time to time a vehicle would pass and the dust would hang in the air like a fog. I was worried that someone from the mine would come looking for us, but Mateus had no fear.

"I think we're going to make it, Pequeno!" That's what he called me. Since we were children, I don't think he ever once said my name. “Justice is ours! Those bosses don't even know we're gone!"

From behind us Aurelia said, "They know, alright. They just don't care. If there was a justice in the world..."

"If there was a justice in the world we would all be damned!" Mateus stopped and turning around, he wrapped his arms around her waist and twirled around in the road. She arched her back and flung her arms wide behind her as she spun.

****************

(story excerpt only)

Sort:  

Metric units?

shakes fist

USE 'MURICAN MEASUREMENTS, YOU UNCIVILIZED SAVAGE!!

(That's sarcasm, in case you can't tell. Well done!)

striving for authenticity! :D

I did not see that ending coming, good stuff. So they had an agreement to kill themselves if one person dies?

Not at all! Mateus and Aurelia were the balance for each other, and when one was gone the balance failed immediately. The betrayal of their experience in the mine had infected her...

There is a backstory in my mind for all this, which I probably shouldn't share yet. It could make a good prequel to this and perhaps explain why Anakin eventually tried to murder his.... oh wait - that's a different story that I didn't even write...

haha, well it's a good story. Do share the prequel and the other one you didn't write

Thanks! I probably will post the prequel on its own, but I doubt Mr Lucas would appreciate it if I messed with his.
:D

I really liked your story, the end was unexpected. I didn't think she would kill him. Did his brother call him "pequeno" because is the spanish word for little one? If so, it actually is "pequeño". If not then don't mind me :)

Being from Angola, the brothers are of Portuguese descent, and the words mean the same thing as in Spanish, but the spelling might be slightly different. Thanks for asking and I'm glad you liked it! :D

btw, I really enjoyed your story "Wanderlust"!

Ooh I didn't think it could be Portuguese. Thank you, I'm really happy that you liked it :)

We write what we know! I spent a few years living in the Acores and was lucky enough to make great friends there.

Whoah, chilling and tense story! Did you get all that from 9 (or even 3) dice? Good job!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58503.45
ETH 2594.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45