The Tiny Alien - Flash Fiction

in #story7 years ago

The ship was almost impossible to spot. It was easy to confuse for a fly or a bee. But a closer look revealed glass and thrusters. The technology was beyond another we had. So many complicated parts and each one at a size we could not replicate with our finest tools. 

After a short trip (for the ship travelled at an incredible speed), the ship landed in front of a young man. He was sitting on a lawn chair with a beer in his hand. There was a red blinking light from the ship. The man bent down to get a closer look. There was a humming sound. The glass panel lifted and a tiny green alien got out.

"Welcome Earthling, do not fear, we come in peace." To the suprise of the man, the alien had a boming voice which could be heard from miles. The young man took a drink. Then smiled.

"You come in peace... well... who says we do."

The man lifted his foot and raised it over the tiny alien. He then slowly brought it down.

"You don't want to do that," the alien warned.

"I think I know what I want to do" replied the man as he contined to lower his foot. He was about to crush the ship when his foot stopped abruptly. He increased the pressure. But no matter how hard he tried, he could not touch the ground. Then his foot started to move up. It was slow at first but then a force overtook him. The man's foot flew in the air and he flipped back over his chair.

The man stumbled to his feet. He looked down and saw the foot of the alien which was now the size of the man's body. The man looked up. The alien had grown to almost 20 feet. There was no one to run. 

"I'm... I'm sorry," the young man said.    

The giant alien looked down on the tiny human. He gave a mean look, then a soft smile.

"Like I said, we come in peace... but I expect you will be nicer to the rest of us."

The young man nodded. The alien lifted his hand. Thousands of tiny ships landed beside him. The man did not try to step on another one.


* Upvote total includes bots and possible user(s) with multiple accounts


Sort:  

Hmmmm! interesting, hey!

Tiny story for a tiny alien. This was a nice short tale that had a more positive ending than I expected. The tiny alien really did follow through on his promise though, so I guess that's always a good thing.

"Tiny story for a tiny alien" well put. How are things @jedau? I noticed you and some others have stopped voting, are you out of the group?

Hmm? I didn't turn off my steemvoter, and I haven't removed you from the rules. I did notice that votes weren't placed on others in my steemvoter list. Since I'm not the only who seemed to have stopped perhaps, there was an error that prevented automatic voting yesterday? I voted on this post manually. I noticed that you voted on my latest post with 1% as well. Mind sharing your reason behind that?

I'm not sure if you saw that exchange in your other post, but aside from removing that guy off my list, I haven't removed anyone else. I've just been adding more people.

Oh man I missed that back-and-forth. This group is just suppose to be a fun, open way to help people. There is too much fighting on this platform.

Yeah I'm not getting votes from anyone but @shadowspub. And I didn't change my vote for you either, it must be that 1% guild that changed everything. Alright I'm going to switch you to 1 minute so that should beat the guild. Let me know if it works.

Upon further inspection, my account didn't automatically vote on all of my rules yesterday, (I was so out, so I could only check now) so that leads me to believe it might be an error on Steemvoter's side. I try to rectify that by checking on the authors I support to see their content. That's why it's a good practice to leave comments and such.

Yeah, have a look at it please. I really didn't know what exactly happened. It just kind of blew up all of a sudden. If you would check all my other comments, what I do is to just try and inject positivity and encouragement in other people's posts. So, I'm not really the fight-starter type.

Alright I'm going to leave steemvoter for now as it is and see if it corrects itself. If not I will change it. @shadowspub is the only one voting for me and he was the only one using streemian...

Yeah I went over it, maybe you got in the crossfire between him and that other guy some how. Don't take it personally :). And you seem like a cool person in general.

Haha yeah, I wasn't really sure what happened, but I don't take it personally :) I know I was respectful, and that I was in the right, so I don't bear any ill will. That guy was surprisingly aggressive though, I won't be shocked if he gets into more arguments. Personally, I just try to keep everything positive.

For what it's worth, I just voted on your latest posts, even though you still have 1% on my own. I'm not really sure what's different with how @shadowpub had set his up.

I revoted for your post with 100%. @shadowspub uses streemian. We are not the only ones with the problem, there are others with steemvoter issues atm. I'll give it a couple days.

See :) It's somehow reassuring to know it was on the service's side. I'm sure they'll have it fixed in no time. I use Streemian for curation trails, I'm not really sure how @shadowspub has it set up there. Maybe he's voting based on the tag.

Alright I am now only allowed 3 rules and have no voting power. Might need to switch to streemian.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17