The VALMY File: Chapter 7, by @vincentleroy (translated from French)

in #story6 years ago (edited)

This is an authorized translation in English of a post in French by Vincent Le Roy (@vincentleroy): LE DOSSIER VALMY (Thriller) : Chapitre 7

As my primary language is not English, there are probably some mistakes in my translation.

Remember that the person who speaks here is NOT me, Vincent Celier (@vcelier), but Vincent Le Roy (@vincentleroy), a French guy.



the_valmy_file_2000.png

Chapter 7: Kojak

Kojak is the nickname attributed to my second largest shareholder. It is true that the resemblance is striking, except for one detail. Kojak is sucking lollipops while ours pulls on large and expensive Havana cigars.

Kojak is one of the shareholders of the second round. In 2004, he injected funds into the VALMY project with the desire to develop the commercial aspect of the product. It must be said that he has the potential for. General Manager of an elite subsidiary of a large group, he is a leader in special coatings in the nuclear industry. That is all that is value-added. Valmy's products thus enter his field. Kojak is also one of the directors. If the shareholders have all become, it is through the personal desire for transparency that I have always had. Until the end of 2005, Kojak has always remained behind. Listening but in withdrawal. But in early 2006, he calls me in the middle of the CPCU disaster.

  • I have a deal maybe for the projected product. I'll let you look at it and you'll tell me what you think.

No sooner said than done. I take with the customer and go to Brussels to see the site. Indeed, it is a beautiful case where the projected product is perfectly adapted. The client seems convinced and is waiting for a sample. I'm sending my report to Kojak. It calls me back immediately. His teams are slow moving, could I find a subcontractor for the application? And in fact, that's good, I have a big potential for outsourcing in Poland. A large company that makes polyurethane spray. They are obviously interested in the case which weighs 60,000 Euros for 15 days of work. For Valmy, it's 200,000 euros including 180,000 of margin. I can not pass this.

Kojak receives my second report and we decide to go to Poland to meet the potential subcontractor to whom I sent products in the meantime to give a try. In Poland, the match is going well and even the test is conclusive. Technical details are refined on the basis of their high-pressure machines. They have some modifications to do but nothing really bad. They tell us about their claim. In total, the case costs 230,000 Euros to Kojak he resells in Brussels for no less than 450,000 Euros.

The hour is euphoria from this point of view. And I enjoy an evening with Kojak to tell him about the problems I encounter. The chemists who are unable to solve the technical problems and who do not care, the CPCU client who reorders but who requires a lot of concentration and Alex who harasses me with its extension when he did nothing on the first contract, I do not know where to turn.

For the first time in 4 years, I will admit that I am exhausted. I'm tired of having run so much to save the company. I can not do everything, the accounting, the commercial, the implementation and do the job of chemists who are paid a high price while I still do not get payed! He agrees. I just signed my death sentence but that I will not discover until a few months later. At the moment we are in a harbor in northern Poland, a beer in hand, surrounded by whores. Both of us slightly drunk, the conversation continues. He agrees to give me a hand, take my place in front, provided that I do everything he says and I continue to manage the daily operations!

If he had not made this proposal, I would have asked for it and so we are on the same wavelength. We finished the beers and paid the whores. I return from Poland reassured. I call Denis to tell him about the change. At the other end of the phone, Denis is delighted. Happiness is only going to be short-lived ... As early as Monday, Kojak calls back. He is in Paris on Tuesday night, he must find a hotel and organize a dinner with Denis close to my place.

I organize the dinner. And here is the triumvirate together. The evening is going well and we agree. We must straighten up the chemists and put Alex face to his responsibilities. The contract is simply not executed and at this rate it will never bring us anything.

Denis and I leave this dinner reassured. Kojak takes things in hand. He has charisma and it can work. Bring a little serenity in the company that for the rest goes pretty well and is getting money. I will be able to concentrate on the essentials and Kojak will take care of managing the troops.

It is clear that we are not going to fuck it now. The CPCU market is ripe ... Millions are looming. And the bank proposes to recapitalize the company on a basis of 10 million Euros. I received an email in this sense and of course, I tell to Denis and Kojak. In three months, we made the jackpot and no one will destabilize our project. My project especially. And I start to dream of the work that should be done at Julie's place, a vacation to come to Cap Ferret ... I have the right to dream, no?

Continue to Chapter 8

Introduction
Chapter 1 - Chapter 2 - Chapter 3 - Chapter 4 - Chapter 5 - Chapter 6


Sort:  

Loved reading it but you are wrong about Kojak.. at first he was a heavy smoker as well. Later on it was changed into lollipops

This is getting intense @vincentleroy @vcelier, and I'm wondering what more roles Kojak plays in this story. Looking forward to the next chapters for sure.

  • very interesting material @vcelier that you present to your readers, I think the contribution given to the community is excellent, apart from your work that is impeccable, greetings and blessings.

Great file i like your image

Very interesting novel.how many more will i need to wait for the next chapter 8?

This is awesome...... persistency and peserverance are major keys to success. I like this. Thumbs up

Epically Awesome.... Can't wait for the next

A man will definitely land into frustration if he is not getting the proper benefits it is the responsibility of the company to take care of its employees otherwise it will impact the companies performance also

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83