The Satchmo P.I. – Recap Ch 13-20 – Plus why it took me so long to continue with the story.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story6 years ago

PubDomain

You can find the earlier recap here on Chapters 1 - 12

https://steemit.com/story/@therneau/the-satchmo-p-i-living-amongst-monsters-chapter-13-plus-recap-chapters-1-12

Recap Chapters 13 -20


Miss McKay aka Elizabeth had found inconsistencies relating to an explosion that killed over 100 vagrants in an old, dilapidated building. This led her to investigate another scene where she found some strange organic material that seemingly bonded to human DNA.

She sent this off to the SIA’s (Satchmo Intelligence Agency) laboratories for further testing. This finding, together with the reports she received relating to the incident, led her to believe that the rumors and footage floating around was indeed real and some people had special abilities as reported.

Catherine and Cameron were tracked down by some officers from the lower district SBD (Satchmo Police Department) however they quickly realized that the one officer was part of Captain Moss and The Faceless Man’s troops, since he gunned down the two other officers at point blank range. Captain Moss and more officers were soon on the scene however Cameron and Catherine managed to narrowly evade them.

They made their way towards the upper parts of town where Cameron would need to go for his final conversion in order to be able to face The Faceless Man. Otherwise, he will be defeated.

The final conversion takes place in an old building filled with various electronics and a raspy old voice that speaks out to Cameron and Catherine. The conversion takes its toll on Cameron however when it was completed he felt better, stronger, faster and more in tune than ever. He immediately told Catherine that he knows where Stella was and they set off immediately.

Miss McKay discussed her findings with Chief Barnes of the SIA. She eventually convinced him to let her put a tail onto Captain Moss and she chose her good friend, Joel, known as The Ghosts Shadow.

The Ghosts Shadow was the best field operative the SIA had ever produced, however he kept a low profile and tended to let the glory go towards other members in the agency. He only had two days to gather evidence on Chief Moss and both he and Miss McKay were confident that he would find something.

Stella, after being kept captive for days, managed to escape her cell. She ended up falling into what appeared to be a stormwater pipe. She was struggling to get away from The Faceless Mans’ troops and eventually, scaling a cliff face, she made her way from the one to another storm water pipeline that exited the cliff face. She was now badly injured after the troops hauled rocks and stones at her while she was scaling the cliff in her attempt to escape.

Stella, struggling to walk and breathe, tried to make her way out of the pipeline. She eventually found a smaller pipe heading up towards a manhole and soon after, she heard The Faceless Man’s troops approaching.


Why it took me so long to continue writing the story


There were a few reasons that contributed to me not carrying on with the story for a while.

First off, let me mention, to those that aren’t aware of the fact, that this is the first time I’ve ever attempted a fictional story. With that being said it is one of the most enjoyable things I’ve done. Completely fabricating a story is a truly amazing experience that ignites your creativity in an unbelievable way. It’s not always easy however it is very satisfying.

Anyhow, let’s get to the points.

As I’ve been writing the story more characters have been introduced. This started becoming challenging in itself since I needed to keep track of the characters and their individual involvement in the story. I eventually decided to draw a little diagram that details how the characters tie in with each other and what their basic roles are. This will help me keep better track of them from that perspective. Thanks to @bdmomuae for planting the seed for this idea in one of her earlier posts. She used this with her students in some way. I can’t remember exactly what it was used for though but I find it works for me.

I’ve also been doing recaps across several chapters (as per the above) for when I need to go back and pick up on something quickly so the complete story works together. I can’t imagine writing the story and then information from earlier chapters don’t fit in with the later chapters.

My biggest stumbling block though, was the fact that I wasn’t in the right frame of mind to continue writing the story. There were a few reasons for this and the main one was that I was actually put off the platform. I won’t go into too much detail about that however, I realized, as with the real world, most Steemit users are the same.

I have now made peace with that and I’ll simply carry on doing my thing here and look forward to continuing the journey of Cameron Bright, The Satchmo P.I. as well as my alternative content, as per usual.

Thanks to everyone for showing their support.

If you have any questions or comments please feel free to ask me.

Cheers!

pic 2.gif

signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

Yay finally, thanks for the recap link, will be my bedtime story!

Awesome. I just need to do a check on the next chapter however it should be ready for release sometime today :)

Art of imagination with a couple of stumbling blocks, have fun continuing your story @theneau waiting to read in anticipation.

Yes, indeed @joanstewart. Stumbling blocks are but a part of life. I'm grateful for the fact that the platform awakened this part of me though. I'm looking forward to continuing and I hope the recap helps refresh some of the earlier happenings within the story. The next chapter will be released later today. I do hope you'll enjoy the continuation from here forward and thank you for always being such a pillar of support for our local members :)

Whoop whoop now I can carry on reading the story😁. I can't wait to find out what transpires next.

Still lots on the cards for the first book :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60832.04
ETH 2902.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55