The Adventures of Mister Mox - Part 41

in #story7 years ago

mox.jpg

Previous chapter

Chapter list


In the town’s jail Mox was sitting on a bench with his head down. He didn’t dare to keep his head up. Dac, Bass and another couple of men were sitting in the same cell, all quiet.

They all went through the viciousness of the Silver Guard treatment, some more than others. Of course they saw in what state was Mox and they heard the jailors talking about the Butcher, so they didn’t think he got it easy. But Dac was still holding a grudge towards Mox, because he insisted to go on with the attack. This was obvious from the angry looks he was giving him.

A day has passed since the sheriff took the from the Silver Guard hands. He told them that they will get treatment and care, while waiting for trial. Because this was such a big case, involving the Silver Guard and the Monero conglomerate, a special jury was gathered. To be as impartial as possible.

While in the cell, everyone was quiet, loud voices could be heard outside.

I just need a talk with him” a commanding voice, which Mox recognized to be the one of captain James. “Sheriff, you know that with my authority I can storm this place and just execute the prisoners. But I want to be nice.

No, I can’t do that. And, once your superiors will arrive here I will have a long talk with him about your attitude. There are laws in this land that needs to be respected. And you shall respect them, sir, I don’t care about your Silver Guard status.

Look, just take this and just give me half an hour with him” and a sound of a big money purse was heard.

The sheriff looked at the money and thought about taking the money. In the end he took the money and made a sign for one of his deputies to grab Mox.

Mox, come out” the deputy said, entering the cell area.

Mox rose from his spot and went toward the door. The deputy lead him then upstairs, to an empty room where James was waiting him.

“Leave us, please” James told the deputy. “Please, take a seat” he said toward Mox, indicating him a chair.

What do you want from me?” Mox said to him with disdain. “It wasn’t enough what you bastards did to us in the basement of Ascartes Bank?

Look, maybe we have taken our relationship on a wrong foot. I think we can help each other. We could work together.

No shit. Why the hell I would trust a Neyhart?” Mox spat on the ground

Because I hate the Neyhart name just as much as you do. I only keep my father’s name, just because they loath my presence. In their eyes, my birth was a mistake. And they wanted my life to end from the very moment I was born. But they never managed to achieve it.” fire was burning in James eyes when he started to remember his dark past.

You are a Moxley, I know the grudge your family has. I also managed to figure out the reason why you are here. You’re following the legend of Mox Moxley the 2nd. You’re hoping to restore the pride of your family.” James finished his story.

Mox looked at James with strange eyes. It was an odd proposal. But he was almost a dead man. Why would this Neyhart would make a proposal at such a time. Mox didn’t know what to believe. So he voiced his concerns:

Why do you say such things now? You know that I will probably hang in a couple of days. And that’s because of you.

I can arrange that you won’t do that. You just need to trust me.

I’ve seen too many things to trust such words. Especially from a Neyhart. But fine, I got nothing to lose. We could work together.

That’s great. Tell me more about the painting you were looking for” James exclaimed happily.

Ha, ha, ha, ha! Do you think I’m that naive. First, I want me and my men to walk free. I don’t care how you do it. Or if you can. We can talk more after that!” Mox draw his bottom line.

I’ll have to think about that.

Take your time. You have until the trial. Ha, ha, ha. Hey, deputy, we’re done here!” Max yelled and the deputy entered, taking him back to his cell.

James remained in the room, thinking on what Mox said.


2/3 chapters for the week.

The last one will be later today.


Please let me know your opinion about this chapter in the comments. Thank you for your upvote and for your support for this story


Become a Patron!

Sort:  

Absolutely agree!

Yeah, It was really an interesting read. I have to agree on that.

Interesting story..!💙

@eileenbeach has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Great post and I wish steemit had a sticky or pin option because this is one of those special posts. ??

Thanks to provide Great New and Useful Information

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61659.26
ETH 2446.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60