The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops (The THG Years) – Part Four

in #story5 years ago (edited)

Title.jpg
Source


This series is dedicated to my friend ‘The Pieman’ who hosted ‘THE P.I.T.S’ BBS in New York City and sadly passed away in 2016. I know his son ‘Blake’ will be reading this sequence of stories with anticipation.


We will never forget you man, you were one of a kind.


Also I would like to say a big thank you to Fabulous Furlough, ex-leader of ‘The Humble Guys’ who helps me fill in the gaps of what happened almost 30 years ago, The Slavelord who has given me a plethora of memories from the early days and to Suicidal Tendencies (@trolleydave) who remembers more about the UK scene than me.


The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops (The THG Years) is a continuation of my previous series, The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops


Other articles in this series:
The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops (The THG Years) – Part One
The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops (The THG Years) – Part Two
The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops (The THG Years) – Part Three


---small pirate.jpg


September 1990


WARNING: Bad Language ahead, please put the kiddies to bed.

Over the next few weeks, I got into the hang of uploading something first and then downloading a game or two. Eddie Haskel didn't seem to care so long as it was ‘new stuff' I was uploading to his BBS, ‘Spamland' and so I systematically started going through the library in P&P's Information Centre.


220px-WingCommanderBox-front.jpg
Source

I remember getting Wing Commander and thinking the opening scene with full graphics was revolutionary. A few others who worked in IT cottoned on to these ‘awesome’ games I was getting from ‘somewhere’ and I was happy to give them copies.


Red_Baron_Coverart.png
Source

In no time at all, there were dodgy versions of Red Baron and Battle of Britain being played by 'Gerg', the bloke who sat next to me. He was called 'Greg', but 'Gerg' somehow seemed more suitable and he was quite obsessed with dogfight games.

A bloke in the networks team who was to be named ‘Black Bollocks' during his short stay on ‘The Demon's Forge' wanted Wing Commander after hearing about it from @steddyman, and so for a while, we were awash in games with the management having little idea of their origins.


---small pirate.jpg

One day I logged on to Spamland and entered the ritual ‘n s u’ on the command line. This was short for ‘new scan uploads’ or list all new files in the upload area. It was what most people did as soon as they logged in. We all wanted those new warez.

What I saw made me laugh out loud. Some lamer had uploaded an old game that had possibly last year’s file stamp attached.

Eddie had interjected and wrote ‘CAN YOU NOT FIND ANYTHING FUCKING OLDER’, and then ‘CREDITS REMOVED’.

THGLogo.JPG
Source

Everyone could see, and it was a public embarrassment for the lamer and a drop-in reputation.

Sometime in the spring of 1990, Candyman called me up, and told me about his grand idea to take couriers but call them Humble Slaves. He asked me to run the thing, and that's kind of how I became The Slavelord. - The Slavelord.



Another thing I noticed is that the HumbleSlave’s were in fact real. I distinctly saw ‘Uploaded by HumbleSlave9’ at one point. I was not going to be one of those slave’s and had loftier ambitions.


---small pirate.jpg

An Unexpected Supplier

One of the project managers who evaluated new software happened to be a gaming freak and hunted the person down who was distributing all these games around P&P.

Of course, that was yours truly and I started chatting with said 'Project Manager Gamer Freak' and figured he was safe to reveal my secret with.

business.jpg
Source

His eyes lit up when I disclosed the source and he was quick to pledge to me all forthcoming new business software that would be passing through his hands.

It was an equitable deal and considering ‘business stuff’ was usually larger in terms of disks and volume, so much the better.


---small pirate.jpg

The UK Scene

Making calls to the US every day was all very well, but surely there was some life in Blighty?

After some searching around (this was before the advent of the internet), I managed to find the number of a UK BBS that held potentially dodgy stuff. The Peach was run by a sysop named Wizzbit.

peach.JPG
Source

It didn’t take long for me to become verified on The Peach, though I needed to answer the usual questions such as, ‘Name three BBS’s you are members of’, Name three people you know’ etc.

I simply added Spamland and Eddie Haskel and this did the trick. With this BBS being stateside it added much more credibility to your standing.

'The Peach' was part Amiga and part PC in terms of content. At this point in time there simply was NO exclusive PC BBS's in the UK and this was about as good as it got. It was running on an Amiga using Ami-Express otherwise known as ‘Lami-Express’ to some.

amiexpress.JPG
Source

I’m sure Wizzbit was used to leeching bastards when they first applied and obtained admittance, but I caught him off guard by uploading some brand new ‘ware’ that he was probably unaware of.

He started a sysop chat and I quickly made a new friend. Sysops loved you if you had ‘0-day warez!’.

The next time I logged on to The Peach I would meet some more like-minded characters, and my network of friends was to grow domestically.


To be continued...



All images have been cited and are under the category 'Labelled for Reuse' or are in the public domain.

Small Pirate Icon Source

.NFO files courtesy of the .NFO libraries at https://defacto2.net


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Very interesting. I kind of miss the days when everything was all fast and loose like this. I mean I know there are still a lot of things going on, but they have mostly moved out of the reach of normal computer enthusiasts. It is still really interesting to read about your adventures!

Thanks @bozz, the story has barely got started yet, and there's much more to tell. Some of it.. I cant tell though.. too shady for public eyes.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 432 (03/18/19)

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

I remember some of those titles from long ago!

Hi, @slobberchops!

You just got a 6.59% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @slobberchops!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.436 which ranks you at #2207 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 12 places in the last three days (old rank 2195).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 246 contributions, your post is ranked at #35.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

a true heart of gratitude sir. Thanks for sharing this @slobberchops

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60956.08
ETH 3383.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50