Prelude to a Forthcoming Series – No Clues!

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Around a year ago, I wrote a 3,500 word article which is part of my memoirs.

‘Why should you write your memoirs?’ a work colleague recently asked me. ‘You're not famous’.

I’m not, but I still did, and the story is not finished even after this many words, in fact it may not even be 50% finished.

copy-space-3399521_960_720.jpg

Source: https://pixabay.com/en/copy-space-design-space-diary-3399521/

One year ago, I knew little about crypto-currency and Steem was what came from railway engines of the 1800’s, but spelt wrong. I had no vision of ever letting this be seen outside of my family.

The story is quite detailed, and is in relation to a select part of my life which wakes me up with nightmares occasionally.

A few of you know me, and know that I’m no spring chicken. These events happened long ago and of course, I don’t have any photography to accompany the story.

I can get some images from the internet which relate to the story in some aspects but would these be deemed as plagiarism? I don’t want to give away the topic, but it will make you all laugh when you see the title and I’m sure it will entertain.

The words, and experiences are all my own, and it relates to a certain ‘brand’ of business which has been liquidated many years ago. To obtain even a single recent photograph that is relevant to the story is about all I can muster.

lost-places-3424752_960_720.jpg

Source: https://pixabay.com/en/lost-places-factory-old-factory-3424752/

After reading this excellent series written by @steemonkey I thought about digging this out and publishing it. So that’s what I will do.

Please give me your opinions about the photographs. I only have memories but can spice up the story nicely with some internet images. I’m happy to include references to the source images.


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

I started to write the story of my life on steemit in my begininnings... for me it was a kind of reliving my past and give it a place and to share the story...cause reading it showed that it was quite something..... didnt finished yet..... but writing can be a healer...at least for me ...

For me , it's something I can read back upon and remember. I struggle to dig up pieces of my memory from so long ago, yet if it's not mundane enough I find I can pull things out. Writing them is the expression and creativeness that I love.

Strange isnt it, but I remember almost everything...especially the hard things....

Oh yeah! Love these kind of series! I love the ones of @vincentleroy and @japon (both in French) and the one you resteemed lately, from @steemonkey.
Also I have absolutely no clue about what yours will be about he he 😅

I have written some of my life story, but not complete. You can use the images from Internet and cite it properly, it will not consider as plagiarism @slobberchops

I hope not, this is what I'm concerned about. I'm a member of 3 curation groups now, and one of them is very particular about this.

I am trying to be involved in one of the curation group as well, but it is difficult for me to get there right now

As long as those images have a license that allows for commercial redistribution, you should be totally fine. Even if they are not directly related to your story. I'm 100% sure of this, you're just using them as illustrations.

You might just want to give explicit credit to the original artist, so it's clear that they're not your pictures.

Hmm, many of them say.. 'Image may be subject to copyright.'
That's doesn't tell me a lot!

Yeah, I think it's safe to say that you probably can't use them. Where did you find them, Google image search?

You have an option there to only look for images 'labeled for reuse'. Those are most likely images that you can use commercially.

Here's a screenshot:

@daan your an absolute star, this is exactly what I was looking for! I checked this option and there's a load of images I can use. I'll still add the sources and mention in my article about the 'labeled for reuse'

It's better to check the individual license on the page from where the image originated. If it's from Wikimedia, it's easy, you can just check the exact license on the page.

Most of the time, they're licensed under public domain, you'll see many images from Wikimedia, Pixabay and maxpixel.net :)

That's really useful to know, thank you.

You know I would read it. I think you could use a service like Pixabay or something like that and as long as you source the images properly, it shouldn't be an issue. I think people will understand that stuff like that happens. Good luck!

@daan pretty much anwered this one. There are many images I can use for this story now. I dont like big chunks of text, its hard to read.

I'm looking forward to reading it already. And in regards to the photos, I think if you give credit where credit is due, you'll be fine to use them 👍

@daan answered this one for me, and there is in fact many pictures I can use. I hate reading blocks of text with no illustrations. You have to spice it up!

'I’m not, but I still did, and the story is not finished even after this many words, in fact it may not even be 50% finished.'......That tickled me that did. Looking forward to the story :)

Will be starting soon!

I have a feeling that I will be a loyal reader of this. Please publish oh Master Slobberchops!

It will be soon, though I have much more to write yet

Congratulations @slobberchops! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Slobberchops from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63091.92
ETH 2469.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67