You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Prelude to a Forthcoming Series – No Clues!

in #story6 years ago

As long as those images have a license that allows for commercial redistribution, you should be totally fine. Even if they are not directly related to your story. I'm 100% sure of this, you're just using them as illustrations.

You might just want to give explicit credit to the original artist, so it's clear that they're not your pictures.

Sort:  

Hmm, many of them say.. 'Image may be subject to copyright.'
That's doesn't tell me a lot!

Yeah, I think it's safe to say that you probably can't use them. Where did you find them, Google image search?

You have an option there to only look for images 'labeled for reuse'. Those are most likely images that you can use commercially.

Here's a screenshot:

@daan your an absolute star, this is exactly what I was looking for! I checked this option and there's a load of images I can use. I'll still add the sources and mention in my article about the 'labeled for reuse'

It's better to check the individual license on the page from where the image originated. If it's from Wikimedia, it's easy, you can just check the exact license on the page.

Most of the time, they're licensed under public domain, you'll see many images from Wikimedia, Pixabay and maxpixel.net :)

That's really useful to know, thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62938.49
ETH 2469.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62