The Tree Swallow and How We Became FriendssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Trust Must Be Earned

Someone hit our patio window with a thump, this was in late spring, mating season and the birds were going crazy. I knew it was a bird and hoped the poor thing hadn't killed itself. I opened the glass sliding door and laying on the steps was a beautiful tree swallow. It looked like it knocked itself out, I hoped it wasn't dead as I bent down to pick it up.


I took the little ball of feathers into the bathroom and grabbed my makeup mirror and held the mirror close to the birds nostrils. I couldn't see any fog from its breath forming on the mirror. Maybe the bird was too tiny, I held my thumb against its breast and I could feel the flutter of its heart. The birds eyes were open but they didn't respond to light. I figured the poor little thing gave itself a good concussion.

Still holding the bird, I went and found a shoe box, lined it with a little towel, placed the bird inside and attached a lid. I checked the box in an hour and the birds eyes were open and it didn't move, it just stared at me. I scooped the little thing out of the box and it didn't fight or try to fly away. Its eyes were alert and tracking me, the pupils responded to light. I thought, "Good, I can let the little one go." I took the little tree swallow outside, took one last photo and held it in the palm of my hand. It righted itself, stood up, took one more look at me and flew off into the sky. I thought that was the last I would see the little one.


A tree swallow couple had built a nest in the eves of our house. The gap between the boards was so narrow I couldn't figure out how they squeezed through. But they did and proceeded to build a nest and raise a very active little family. I watched the couple come and go through the summer. They would fly around my head when I worked in the garden catching the bugs that flew up as I pulled weeds. I often wondered if one of them was the little one I rescued in early spring.


It was time for the babies to leave the nest. I worried they wouldn't be able to make it through the small entrance, they might get their head stuck in the extremely narrow area that meets the roof. I continued to weed my flower gardens.


One day one of the sparrows was acting aggressively towards me as I walked out to feed the chickens.


I kept flying at my head. I thought one of the babies had flown and landed nearby. I walked a few hundred yards up to the chicken coop and the bird followed me, flying over my head. It flew pretty low, that was odd and what was weird it kept following me wherever I went.


Maybe this is the bird I rescued and it's asking me for help? I walked over to their nest and saw a fledgling had indeed gotten its head stuck in the small crack near the roof. I went and got our ladder with the bird flowing me dive bombing my head. Put up the ladder and grabbed the frightened fledgling by its tiny head, pushing it down near the larger end of the entrance to its nest. The little thing squawked shrilly, but this time the parent that came and got me wasn't bombing my head. It was sitting on the roof watching me. I shoved the little one back in the nest and hoped it wouldn't get stuck. I checked the nest daily and within a few days the family left.


The next day I saw hundreds of tree swallows sitting on the power lines near our home. I wondered which one was my little friend. The next year and following five years the couple kept coming back to their nesting spot. I always felt so happy to see them in the spring.


All photos are taken by me on our little farm in Eugene Oregon.

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

This is an awesome story, what did you name the swallow?


You have my vote and my follow :D

I named this woodpecker Rosco, he was pretty happy for my rescue :)
~ @Timbo

@timbo, I didn't name him/her, but that name fits the bird! What kind of woodpecker is that, where is it located? We have big red headed ones like that in Oregon called pileated woodpeckers.

I am pretty sure it was a Red Bellied Woodpecker,

Colorado native bird and it is where I happened to help it. I caught it when it got stuck on our barn roof because of string caught around its foot. If you want, HERE is the story about me saving the poor thing. I will warn you, there is some blood and what not, but I promise. I was tender and gentle, as to not hurt it anymore than I had to. The knot on his foot was a few days old in the least.

I was glad to get the chance to save and care for the poor guy.
~ @Timbo

I'm checking your story out now! You are my kin it seems, a nature person like me🌱

Indeed, I would have to agree. Your style of writing reminds me of myself.
The way you capture the moments, as well as the feeling. You understand and care for the things around you, even acute to the simplest signs of need.

Thank you for the conversation, time will tell if the future holds more.

~ Till next time my new friend,
@Timbo

Thank you very much :) If you would like to read the whole story, I posted it on steem a while back. HERE

will do. thanks

This is awesome @timbo!

Haha thank you :) One of the first stories I talked about on Steemit, I also have a sweet spot for animals so seeing the swallow pictures I had to stop by :)

This is such an awesome story. I have a similar one only with cranes and their baby. It was kind of a scary situation because their beak is eye level but a good outcome, like yours. :)

Have you posted your story yet?

about the cranes? I don't think so... maybe...? If I did, it was probably around the time I started blogging here with no audience. LOL

I will take a look and repost if I can find it....lolol

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.19 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 14 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

A beautiful story of rescue, beautiful flowers and beautiful farm, congratulations my great friend @reddust, thanks for sharing

Thank you @jlufer dear friend, January can be so cold and dreary, it is good for the heart to see flowers, sunlight, and kindness.

This post made my day. I woke up a little hung over, a little depressed and looking for a smile.

Thank you. Well written and a good story that could make anyone happy to read it.

It's the simple things, little kindnesses that are golden. Be sure and eat something fatty, like a greasy hamburger, your poor head, I'm glad I could pass on a bit of happiness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56677.48
ETH 2329.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36