BIRD DOWN! MEDIC! Someone bring me a knife! Get the Ladder too!!

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Okay, well that isn't how this story started.... but this is.

There was a scuffle and a harsh knock on the door. The crack in the open doorway brought in the light as well as the worried voice. "Ma'am there is a bird hanging from your barn roof stuck by a piece of string." The words made my ears perks as I could hear the muffled voices through my closed door. "Hey! Get a ladder." I could hear her voice from below the winding staircase as I opened my door and scurried to put my boots on.

The flapping was obvious as I left the house and walked towards the bard. The poor thing had a bunch of string around it's foot and it was scarred to death of me as I approached it with a ladder. The creature had about 10 feet of string around it's foot so it was all wrapped around the roof of the barn and couldn't get free. First things first, I grabbed the string and then the bird with both hands and wrapped him in my hoodie so he wouldn't hurt himself as I freed him from the roof. The ladder barely reached the top so balancing while untangling with one hand and holding the beautiful woodpecker with the other. Finally I was able to break the last 2 pieces and climbed down to safety.


(Wore gloves to protect the bird and myself... at least while catching it.)

Placing one of my gloves over its head to calm him I quickly grabbed a pair of scissors and started to get to work on cutting the knots that remained on his foot.

Seeing that one of his toes was nearly severed and also broken I was careful not to complete the severe as well as to remove the string embedded in the toe.

He was so understanding I was trying to help him and his relaxed posture made work go by quickly!
(Almost done!)

As I continued and then thought I was done, my heart broke as I realized there were several rings of string around this bird's foot. (This was not the first time it had gotten stuck in string) I started to gently and precisely cut the string as it was so tight I could barely see it.
I took this pic at about 15min after working on him. At this point, he had not moved an inch.
(Look at him lying so good and still!)

Yea yea, I took my gloves off! Haha, by then he was so calm I know he wouldn't hurt me and I needed the extra agility to work on the tightened knots. The poor bird had his toes fused together from the previous string (maybe wire I couldn't tell honestly). I made the decision to cut the fused part at the last cut. When I did, his foot unfolded and he shook his head and fly to the top of my blinds!

I was shocked and impressed, he looked at me and seemed to sigh and relax. since it is winter time, I am going to give him shelter for a few hours so he gets his strength back. I am sure he will appreciate a warm safe place to hide from the crows, and hawks.

Free and clear! No more string.

As I typed this and got everything together for the post, he calmed down so much that I could pet him and he would even peck at me and fly around the room. I felt confident in letting him off to fend for himself so after a little bit of heartbreak... here you go.

Sort:  

Once there was a fish that swam in the sea it was a free fish as free as any fish could be free. Then one day it got caught in some waves, washed on shore to see its end of days. Simple as that it was just a small boy, armed with a bucket of water OH JOY! Quickly he scurried and scooped up the fish into the bucket to breath again, woohoo granted wish! Running now as fast as he can, back into the ocean fish is free again, free again!

PS: Yes I did just come up with this.

Bravo! I really needed a story to perk me up and this was it! It is wonderful how you protected this lovely creature and freed it from it's snare. You must be a kind soul, indeed. Do you know what kind of bird he is?

up/fol

Yes indeed I do, it is a Colorado Native Woodpecker, the Red Bellied.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Red-bellied_woodpecker

Here is the Wiki page if you wanted more information. I am very glad that it was not hurt any further than its toe being pretty beaten. I do think it will be fine though and I am so glad to know it will live at least another day.

The time spent with the bird was dear to my soul indeed and I am honored to be the one to have had the opportunity to care for it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56769.00
ETH 2325.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36