The Weekly Tinfoil Hat #1 : Preparation Time For Conspiracy Theories!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story8 years ago

Hello steemians and welcome to my new series.

I am a very big fan of all sorts of conspiracy theories and in this series, I will try to sort through the fun stuff, the bullshit and the really serious stuff as well. It turns out that some of these CT are outlandish, others are true, most have a kernel of truth. Let´s start with some definitions:

There are two quite different approaches in the meaning of conspiracy theories (CT) and Wiktionary tells us both meanings:

1)Conspiracy theory(Noun)

A hypothesis alleging that the members of a coordinated group are, and/or were, secretly working together to commit illegal or wrongful actions including attempting to hide the existence of the group and its activities. In notable cases the hypothesis contradicts the mainstream explanation for historical or current events.

2)Conspiracy theory(Noun)

Hypothetical speculation that is untrue or outlandish.

Well, both can´t be true at the same time. This means, we will have to find out for each and every CT which one of the meanings applies. As these "theories" are rarely provable, I will dig into the theories and look for available facts and I will also try to grasp probabilities and the likeliness of "facts" and circumstancial evidence. Of course I will need your help, if I am wrong or if I lack information.

Here is the important part for today:

If you handle CTs of any kind is is key not to be influenced by any unwanted external factors. For this, the oldest available clue is found in Julian Huxleys essay "The Tissue-Kulture king" from 1927 where he describes a very effective way to block these external influences (like mindcontrol) with a "tinfoil hat".

The tinfoil hat has again several meanings. Today the tinfoil hat is used to ridiculize and mock all the people that spend time with analyzing CTs. For others, wearing a tinfoil hat has serious impact on their lifes (again in several ways).

My personal meaning, and the one I´d like to give to the tinfoil hat during this series is, that most of the people take themselfes much too serious. Wearing a tinfoil hat while reading this series may make you aware of this. Also if you are answering in the comments, wearing a tinfoil hat may help, not to make this a wich-hunt, no matter if you argue for or against a theorie.

I researched a lot about tinfoil hats and I come with a simple but effective way to build one for yourself. Make sure you wear it, while reading the following parts and most importantly while you are commenting...

I found this very easy way of making one for yourself in a youtube vid:

I also found very elaborate versions :

And from a german site I found a very nice multilingual collection of construction manuals:
http://www.hoaxilla.com/page/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/aluhuete.pdf

I guess it should be possible to build one before commenting here.
I probably will do a contest soon, where you can show off your best versions. In the meantime here is mine... I already feel the insanitiy diminish:

You can suggest topics that I should look through (if there are no suggestions, I´ll chose on my own)


thx to @elyaque for the badges

Follow me for more

@pollux.one

Sort:  

Die Anleitung ist Hammer! Cooler Post!

Dankeschön! Hoffe, Du hast einen Aluhut getragen, bevor du kommentiert hast?!

Nein, Premiere heb ich mir morgen für's Büro auf 😂

@pollux.one hahaha would that filter the CT you'd absorb.

I used to listen to some till it sank in that most of them are bullshits and scare mongering. I say live a life, enjoy the moment and if you can put on a tin foil on your head hahaha
thanks for the lol :)

Glad you appreciate! I think it is always a matter of perspective. That´s the thing I would like to do with this series... finding the fun stuff, showing the BS but also putting the serious stuff into perspective.

I hope for some discussions... so I had to find a way to un-ridiculize the tinfoil-hat.
This would have prevented most kind of more serious discussions.

Glad I made you smile though ;-)

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 31. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $19.82 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 31 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Well... I know that... in this context, I smell a CT here as well!

I better go make my tinfoil hat lol thanks for the support @pollux.one upped back

Thank you for posting @pollux.one.

Such a fun post. Appreciate beginning with definition...that is a principle.

Have used your name lately in comments... hope you do not mind.

Wishing you and yours all the best. Cheers.

Hey @bleujay
thank you again for your always kind replies. You can use my name anytime you want :-)
As I am not yet using busy, I was even not aware ...

Cheers!

Ich hab schon einen "tinfoil hat", wollte ihn für ein youtube video benutzen, das noch aussteht.
Ansonsten denke ich, dass es wichtig ist zu erkennen, dass es so was wie Verschwörungen auf höchster Ebene wirklich gibt, und das ist nicht einmal controvers. Ich erinnere an die Operation Gladio, die von italienischen Gerichten bestätigt wurden. Viele dieser Verschwörungen kosten unglaublich viele Menschenleben.
Nur der Mut zur Wahrheit kann diesen Massakern irgendwann mal ein Ende setzen.
Aber ja es gibt solche und solche Verschwörungstheorien und manche sind völliger Schwachsinn. Aber wenn man physische Beweise beibringen kann, dann ist man meist auf der sicheren Seite.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58067.54
ETH 2469.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40