DON'T LET FEAR WIN!

in #story7 years ago

FB_IMG_1522077322820.jpg
In 2007 after completing a 6 months computer training (that was what we called it then) I spoke to the owners of the computer centre about extending my stay with them. I was the best student after the exams we took so it was easy for me to get their attention but they called me after the close of work and told me plainly "we will accept you but can't pay you" rather than staying back at home doing nothing I immediately agreed.

One day a customer came in with a job and I was asked to handle it. It was my first time to handle a customer's job or print out any work I have done on screen.

I finished the job just in time and called my boss to come check it before printing. He looked at it and said "I have told you about putting those margins right and dragging from the ends rather than the sides but you're still making mistakes. If I correct you in just words, you might still not get it. So print the document and see what you have done".

That day, I learnt for the first time in my life to take practicals seriously. I learnt that there is no end to learning. I learnt the importance of mentorship and voluntarism.

If I hadn't submitted to help out even though I wasn't going to be paid. I wouldn't have learnt the skills that helped me through out my stay at the University.


We started our poultry farm in November, 2014 with 50 broilers and lost all of them within a week. We bought another 100 and lost all again within 2 weeks.

I picked up from my discouraging state after being talked to by mum and went back in again but this time I decided NEVER TO LOOK BACK!

Since I had NO ALTERNATIVE I had no choice but to learn all there is to learn. We failed and still kept on.

By December 2015 we were running a farm less than 300 broilers and then we jumped from there to 600 broilers in July 2016. This was the first time we were to handle such number of flock. So I stayed back that morning, together with the workers at the farm we prepared the brooding place and then I left for work.

Then it happen!

About 30 minutes after I had left (as I was told). The workers returned to the brooding room only to find all the chicks lying flat. The other one was already confused but this girl (one of the workers) confidently controlled the situation. Ordered that the heaters be removed and everywhere opened for ventilation. We lost only one bird that day.

If I hadn't taught that girl how to handle emergencies and the business in totality, we would have lost over NGN200,000 that day.


I once worked with a friend who was expelled from school because he stood up for the students.

Rather than surfer in pity, he picked up his pieces and went to the streets. Starting from running JAMB registrations under an umbrella he got a hall and was on his way to securing a CBT centre. We had all laboured and the D day was come. Some how everything went wrong and JAMB cancelled his centre. This was supposed to be the breakthrough everyone was waiting for. Everyone got discouraged and left him and there I was with him. Maxwell, looked at me in the eyes and said "Excel, I will get it. Can't you see that I have no choice? I can't go out in search for a job. I have no certificate. This is my job. It is my everything! I WILL FIGHT TILL THE END".

Maxwell now owns a CBT centre and his centre have been used for the UTME exams the past 2 years now. He also have received his certificate after 9 years of being expelled.


Who told you everything would be easy?

Why do you always allow fear define your paths?

How many times will you continue to let fear win?

How many times will you continue to allow fear shift you from one career path to another?

How long will you continue to play around without direction?

Pick up your pieces, go through the process and win. Win BIG!

Sort:  

Hey...I like your attitude. Keep posting.

Thanks so much. I truly appreciate the time you took in reading this post and yes i will keep posting. Thanks also for the upvote.

Congratulations @oluwafemisalami! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68348.76
ETH 2644.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69