I Trusted My Gut Instinct And It Probably Saved My Life

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Have you ever had a ridiculous, irrational feeling or fear? But maybe you didn’t listen to it because you were just being “crazy” or “paranoid?”

Your inner dialogue goes something like this:

“I think that guy might definitely try to murder me after our date.” -You

“That’s ridiculous, I think maybe you need therapy. Or maybe stop watching so much Dateline.”- Also you

“Yeah, you’re right. That’s crazy. He looks more like a mama’s boy than a serial killer, I’ll take my chances. People don’t just go around murdering people all willy-nilly every day”- You, slightly weirded out that you just used the phrase “willy nilly” in your inner dialogue.

I’ve had those moments. The irrational fear and crazy thoughts.

But, what happens when those thoughts are NOT irrational? What happens when they’re crazy thoughts, but they’re real? Or what happens when you just have a bad feeling, but you can’t explain why?

We all have what’s called “gut instinct.” It never seems rational, but you should always listen to it anyway. Because sometimes the “rational” side of us is wrong and we can talk ourselves out of things that our brain instinctively knows is true and is there to protect us.

One time in particular, I’m glad I listened to my “crazy” side.

This is a total throwback, but I’ll never forget it.

I had just gone to the movies with my best friend. After every movie, we’d go to the McDonald’s across the street because we could get a free burger with our ticket stub (I haven’t eaten McDonald’s in 15 years... I gave up fast food and soda a long time ago).


(pinterest for the win on this one)

We were listening to overly loud rap music because we thought it was funny, since we looked so out of place listening to it.

We pulled into the McDonald’s parking lot and she parked the car. She started unbuckling her seatbelt and was about to get out when I said “Wait! Let’s not go here right now.”

She said, “Why not?”

I just shrugged and responded “I don’t know, I just feel like maybe we should go somewhere else. Let’s go to the other McDonald’s by my house.”

I glanced at the clock and explained we’d have time to get there before the McDonald’s closed.

And she replied, “Yeah but we won’t get free burgers there.”

Logically, this story would end with me saying “Yeah, that’s true. I don’t know why I’m being weird. Let’s just go inside.”

Fortunately, that’s not how it ended.

Had I been with ANY other friend, that’s exactly how it would have ended. I just happened to be with my most laid-back, chill friend. I’ve never met anyone more laid-back, except for maybe someone on those pre-surgery drugs they give you to make you relax.

Somehow, she ended up agreeing to go to the other McDonald’s 15 minutes away, and with no free burgers.

The next day, I was in my room, sorting through some papers on the floor, when my Dad knocked on the door and asked: “Can I come in?”

He came in my room holding a newspaper and said “Did you hear about this? There was a shooting at the McDonald’s on Woodruff Road last night and somebody died!”

He then told me the time of the shooting.

It was exactly 2 minutes after we decided to leave the parking lot and drive away.

We would have been inside there had we not left. Maybe we would’ve been killed instead of the other person.

I’ll never know what would have happened. But let me tell you what, I trust my gut instinct now more than anything. If it’s telling me something that seems super crazy, I listen to the crazy. Because it’s most likely right.

Do you have any times that you trusted your gut instinct and it worked out well? Do you have a story about when you ignored your gut instinct and it turned out badly??

I definitely have some boyfriend stories like that. Should’ve trusted the gut, but “no, I can’t just mistrust somebody for no logical reason. I'll just keep dating him.”

I think if your gut tells you to mistrust someone, then yeah, you can.

Has your gut ever failed you?! Mine failed me today. I didn't notice something was wrong until it was too late.
I'll tell that story sometime soon.

I’d love to hear your stories in the comments, or, if you’d like to make a post, put a tag in there somewhere with #gutinstinct that way I can find it!

I know sometimes people don’t know what to write about on steemit, so maybe this topic idea can help out a little!

I’m going to tag some of you to see if they have any stories they want to share in a post. Feel free to do the same!

You by no means have to participate, and maybe you don’t even have a story that you can remember. But anyway, I’m going to tag @abh12345 @karensuestudios @daveonarrival @hanggggbeeee @suitcasemama @k-a-s-i-a @iwanderela @gabrielatravels @itchyfeetdonica @macchiata @joannewong @fronttowardenemy @travelling-two @for91days @emjoe

P.S. Stomach drawn by hollycopter.com, thumbnail made by me... I wish my gut was that adorable

Sort:  

Damn, that gave me goosebumps, I can't imagine how you felt!
Gave you an upvote and resteem! Check out our blog for some motivational videos and posts! <3
My gut instinct is usually very good with new people and it has been ever since I was a kid, but everyone kept telling me to stop being rude and judging people straight away.
Over the years I've learned to trust it and it saved me and my friends a lot of time haha I've even learned to analyze people via text and saved them from countless douchebags! :D
I remember meeting one of the new managers at work and having this overwhelming feeling to get away from her, but my boss (who was also my friend) told me I'm being silly and that she just ''seems like that because she's new''.
Yeah, no, my gut was right :D
I just started to ignore people who tell me not to listen to my gut, it's been right way more often than they have :P

I'd like to hang out with you so you can help me be rude and judge people more! Haha I'm generally too trusting and friendly and I've gotten burned more than once because of it. I would love you to be my douchebag hero! haha

I need a douchebag hero like you in my life. I say listen to your gut... I support it all the way! Good for you!

Does your gut work over the internet, or only in person? Thanks so much for resteeming and upvoting! So exciting when I get a resteem lol

Haha well it works with texting, it may work over the internet as well!
And yeah, I know exactly what you mean, I used to give everyone a chance to prove me wrong and well they never did.
I got used to being a bit more careful and seeing who they really are before letting them into my life.
Then again, I sometimes meet someone and get the overwhelming feeling that I need them in my life, so that's awesome! :D

I would love to be your douchebag guardian haha :D
I would consider it an honor!

Jesus must love you. That could have turned out very bad for you. It's unbelievable that there are shootings that happen at McDonald's. It's like... why, tho?

The instance that I can think of where I went with my gut is while I was in Seoul. I was in the district popular for clubbing, about to go to eat with my friends when a random Korean girl walked up to me, pulled an unopened beer out of her purse and handed it to me. I was confused as to why this was happening because she couldn't speak English but she gestured that it was for me and she opened one for her as well. I'm guessing she was either looking for a clubbing buddy to buy her drinks all night or she was a hooker. I could be totally wrong, too. In any case, my gut was telling me to walk away from the situation so I just told her I was going to eat with my friends but thanks for the beer.

Wow that is kinda weird!! I wonder what would've happened!! Glad you trusted it! Haha I knew that travelers would have good gut instinct stories!! Thanks for sharing.

I think you're right about the Jesus thing. But he loves you too 😃

You must have had massive goosebumps after hearing that news.

I can't say I've had a "do or don't do" sort of scenario, but I have had several instances of strongly feeling something was amiss and being convinced something bad would happen, and then find out it was happening to someone I am close to. Definite goosebump moments.

whoa that's crazy but also so cool!!! Yeah that gives me goosebumps!

My gut instinct told me that I should comment on this post!!!

Haha good gut!

Wow that’s so crazy about the shooting... I’m so glad you left... even witnessing that would have been a horrible thing.

Always trust your gut, thanks for the nomination!

True, I guess I didn't even think about how just witnessing it could really mess you up! Lol it only took 15 years and you to point it out to notice that...lol

Omyyyyy ! Best wishes to you :D

hehe thanks, you too!!!

What a story. I'm glad you listened to your gut. I got a shiver through my body as read the part about the shooting 2 minutes after you left.

Very happy that you are well and went elsewhere. I haven't had a moment like that before. Here's hoping I never run into a situation like that.

Wow....thank Jesus u didn't go in there

Was this after or before you had your concussion somewhere in Thailand? lol!

Seriously, that was a close call. You should trust your gut more. I think when our fut fails us it's because we let our emotions overcome us rather than our gut. It's hard to differentiate sometimes which one is talking. However, it depends on the situation what we want to rule. (I know I'm going somewhere with this but I got lost lol!)

I have lots of times that I should have trusted my gut. However, I didn't and regretted them later. I should be more controlling of myself and my decisions. I am being held back by overthinking things. When I do listen to my gut, it's a celebratory moment.

lol oh man you sound like me!!! Even with the forgetting where I was going with something part haha

I was surprised by your article, it is very well written, everything impeccable, with a lot of information and productive material. Keep it up. Successes and blessings: D @nomadicsoul

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60035.79
ETH 3187.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45