The Rise Of The Oggy Oggy Pasty Shop (Story)

in #story5 years ago (edited)

I don't know what it is, but I really don't like making my sandwiches for the next day.

I like the sandwiches that I make but I always end up making them in the morning

However, I know I have a very important week ahead of me. In an ideal world, I'd make 5 sandwiches today and eat one each day. The problem with that, is that they won't stay fresh.

I also miss getting Cornish Pasties from my home town in the south west of England. No one made them better than the Oggy Oggy Pasty Shop. How I miss the place.

There is a knock on the door. There are three men in black suits. I can also see a large clean polished black van.

"Excuse me, sir," said one of them. "Can we use your phone. Our van has broken down."

"Of course," I replied. "It is right here by the front door."

One of the men in black suits entered to make a phone call. Meanwhile, I offered the other two men a cup of tea.

"Thank you so much, sir."

I am curious to know what they are up to.

"May I ask what your business is?"

"We're trying to test out a time machine," replied one of the men.

I'm wondering if these guys are really serious.

"That's interesting," I replied. "Maybe I could make the five sandwiches for the week. You could take them and use your time machine to bring me a sandwich each morning. That way, they'll stay fresh."

"I don't think that time machines were created to transport your sandwiches through time."

"Maybe not," I replied. "However, you need to test your machine."

"That is true," said one of the men. "Maybe we should try it. What time do you leave for work?"

"Seven o'clock in the morning."

"In that case, we will take your sandwiches. We will come back at half past six, tomorrow morning."

The three men finish their tea whilst I make myself the five sandwiches.

"Here you go," I said. "Let's see if this works."

At half past six, the next morning, there was a knock at the door. I opened it up to see a brown paper bag on the step.

There is a note.

"A fresh sandwich. Enjoy."

This particular sandwich is not old, therefore it should be fresh anyway. I'll know better, if this has worked, as we go through the rest of the week

The next morning, at half past six, the same thing. A knock at the door, a paper bag with a sandwich and a note.

Like the previous day, the sandwich was fresh.

This continued throughout the week. Each day, a freshly made sandwich had travelled in time. It appears to have all worked.

On the final day, that week, there was a note with an interesting message.

"Don't make any sandwiches next week. We have a surprise for you. We'll send it to your workplace."

I had a nice relaxing weekend before returning to work the following week. Like what was instructed, I made no sandwiches and took no food. Instead, I waited to what the surprise was.

I received a phone call from the receptionist, Ms Amal

"There is a food delivery from you. All paid for."

I went immediately to the reception to pick up the delivery. It was a brown paper bag. I could smell something familiar and I could instantly recognise the logo on the front.

rjmm8nf2yr.jpg

The Oggy Oggy Pasty Shop.

Wow, they got me a hot fresh pasty from my favourite shop.

I then noticed something else on the packet that made me smile.

"Look at the best before date, Ms Amal."

"Looks like they've made a misprint," she replied.

"I don't think they have," I said, "and I am thankful to know that some things will never change."

ns6yvytihf.jpg

Thank you for reading. This was originally written as a freewrite. When I read back the original story, I didn't like how it was written. However, I loved the story idea. Rather than edit the original story, I wanted to adapt it and do a complete rewrite. I hope you enjoyed.

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 25 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 182 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69633.73
ETH 3805.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74