Cruel and Unusual - serialised novel EXCLUSIVE to Steemit Part 76

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Here are the links to catch-up, read again or start from the beginning

Episode List From 1 – 52
Then: 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75

Images below from Google, Getty Images, and Pixabay

Please read the start of the story using the link above. I promise, it’s well-worth the time to check it all out. At least then, this excerpt will make more sense

IMG_2636.jpg

IMG_2637.jpg

That was the last entry in the journal and Hazel closed the book and put it to one side so that when Anton returned, he could read of the madness and discoveries that lay within a Throwback’s psyche.

Chapter 7

In the days that they spent waiting for Anton, Hazel invited Amelia and Marcellus’s families to the hotel. There, she explained about the murders and the evidence in the glass jar. Amelia’s father wanted to see his daughter’s head and though it was against her better judgement, Hazel agreed to it.

At first glance he did not recognise her face in the jar, the head was shaven and bloated from the fluid it was submerged in, but once recognition took hold, he became tearful and could do nothing but sob quietly for a few minutes, leaning heavily upon Hazel as he did so.

She was uncomfortable with his display of grief and had to force herself to remain in the room as he pulled himself together and lifted the jar level with his face in order to look into his darling daughter’s eyes for one last time.

When he asked, pleaded and at last, demanded to be allowed to see the brute that had murdered his daughter, Hazel could only refuse. No chance could be taken that Jack would be dispatched from his miserable existence before Anton had been given chance to experiment on the Throwback-made-Wolf.

Such opportunities were few and far between and this one came with a guarantee that no remorse would be felt by the ones conducting the experiments.

Anton’s arrival at Southampton was neither heralded nor broadcast. His journey to London was swift and uneventful, with no stops along the way. Anton arrived at the warehouse and sent his baggage on to the hotel ahead of him. He also sent word that if Hazel was there, that she should join him immediately.

The message was unnecessary; Hazel was already waiting for Anton’s arrival. She had assumed that he would not bother going to the hotel first.

Anton strode into the building, removing his gloves as he approached Hazel.

“We did not part on good terms, I regret that.” Anton said and Hazel nodded. “Although I did not anticipate coming back to this tragedy.”

“I know. I too said some things that perhaps should have been worded better but what has been said cannot be unsaid and we have to live with those words now. However, it is our choice how we move forward after this.”

Anton nodded and said “Friends then?”

Hazel broke into a smile and she nodded too. “Friends.”

Anton needed to be brought up to speed on the events that had happened while he was abroad. He was not displeased with Hazel for executing David but he did have a few misgivings on why he was killed. “You lost your temper and allowed your anger to make a decision?”

“Yes. I had agreed with him that if none of my Sentinels were harmed then things would go as he wanted in that I would bite the Throwback to make him full Wolf.”

“You agreed to that? It is without precedent!”

“Yes, I know and subject to the Lycaeon’s agreement, it would have been done but as it happened, three of my Sentinels were killed – including Brynn whom I believe you knew well, and Edward, one of Ralski’s friends. They died in the most horrible and painful manner and yes, I was angry.”

Anton lowered his eyes in contemplation. “I see and I understand.”

“I have a good team of Sentinels, Anton. They are all loyal to our Lycaeon but they are also loyal to me and one of the reasons for their loyalty, even unto death is that they see that I am not an officer that only gives commands, I lead by example and I mourn the loss of every Sentinel killed in battle – even those that are yet training as Edward was. I inform the Lycaeon of every loss and the Sentinels know this and appreciate it, it means that their death will not go unnoticed and therefore is not a waste. I also do not send in my Sentinels as ‘cannon fodder’ under any circumstances.”

“Yes, I agree, you have brought together the Sentinels in a way that no other commander did before. Even when they are solo they are still a collective; they answer to you and do communicate with the others in their geographical area which can only be a benefit to your organisation.”

Anton waited for Hazel to say something more and when she did not, he prompted her. “There is something that is playing on your mind, what is it?”

Sort:  

Nice to see these beautiful pics. Thanks for sharing.

Ah, the pictures are only there to punctuate my writing. They are more of an aside than the actual work.

the best fiction, keep working any constraints

Thank you, I'm pleased you're enjoying my work.

posting a remarkable, continue to work friends

a very interesting story @michelle.Gent

Thank you, yes, I think so too. The story this is based on is just as interesting, too.

interesting novel ......

Yes, thank you. I've always liked this novel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22