"An Unsolve Case" Solved Without Punishment A Short Story.

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Subhash was coming home at Kolkata from Asansol by Bombay Mail at night and sitting on AC chair car boggy. Most of the boggy was empty. Suddenly train stop nearby Durgapur .
It was 11.30pm then. Subhash stand up and watching the station from the door. Somebody pulling the chain , train guard speak. Subhash come back on his sit. Suddenly a tall handsome person whose age is about 65 years sit infront of Subhash. The man asked Subhash at which time the train reach Kolkata.
images (47).jpg
Image Credit

He also speak him that he has to reach Airport at time to catch the flight at 2.30 pm for Newyork.
Subhash started conversation with him.
I am Subhash a retired Police Inspector and you. The man speak he was settled in Network now but originally from Asansol and his name is Amit Mondal.
Subhash speaks he was posted at Asansol for long time. The man asked him about his period of posting.

It was 1967, Subash speak. The man asked him in 1967 Asansol was very dangerous city and Mafia Raj was established in Asansol .

Subhash answered yes and a young district magistrate Anup Reddy from Chennai was murdered during this period .
After listening the name of Anup Reddy, Amit was stopped talking and looking at Subhash face very strangely and also asked him to tell the story.
Subhash started the story. Anup Reddy was strongly taking action against illegal mining in Asansol. Because of this lots of illegal miners were against him. Anup Reddy saved his life two times because of police protection. Anup Reddy was also stopped illegal constructionin Government land.

The day I remembered Subhash speak , it was 26 the January, 1970 and in the morning Anup Reddy beutiful wife Meena comes to visit police station alone and when everybody in the police stationasked her Mr Reddy not coming to hoisting the Indian Flags in Police Station. Mrs Reddy started crying.
She answered that Mr Reddy not reaching house yesterday night after leaving his office at 8 Pm. I asked her what about his driver Shambhu. Mr Reddy drive himself yesterday she replied.
I personally assured her don't panic, just go home it is my responsibility to find him and send him back to home.

But I failed to find him . I got the car alone in the Gomti river side . I also find out Mr Reddy’s blood stained clothes in the river side slong with a blood stained Knife.But we never found the dead body of Mr Reddy.
Mt Reddy’s wife confirmed that the clothes belongs to Mr Reddy and the driver and his office staff were confirmed that as Mr Reddy was late he told her to go house.
The case was never solved because of any clues/ evidence.

The case was closed because of evidence. All suspected person have an alibi.
We also find out that lots of financial irregularities happened in Mr Reddy's tenure and 5 billion rupees were lost from government treasury.
We tried a lots to find out the culprit but all our efforts were failed.
I returned to Kolkata headquarters after few months because of jobs.
That's was my first and last unsolved case in my life I spoke to him. After listening the story Mr Amit speak him that very interesting story and smiled.

Suddenly I saw a man who selling tea in that train , I called him and he gave us tea .
Mr Anup insisted to pay the money to pay him for tea, so he opened his purse.
Very soon at 12.30 pm the train reach Howrah station, as Mr Amit was very hurry he leaving the seat very early and I am still sitting on my seat as I was busy for arranging my lots of luggage.
Suddenly I saw a photograph , it was Of Mr Amit and her beautiful wife. I took the photo and keep it in my pocket and leave the train.
I look every corner of Howrah station for Mr Amit to return the photo but I didn't get him.

I came home and after refreshing I remembered something about Mr Reddy's and her Wife. I opened the photo which I got in the train.
The lady in the photo was the Missing District Magistrate's wife. Lots of years passed but the lady looked exactly the same apart from a few wrinkles on her face.

Then I asked myself what is relation between Mr Reddy's wife and Amit.
After looking carefully I draw a moustache on Amit’s face in the photograph and coloured Amit hair and I saw many similarities between Amit and Mr Reddy, the murdered District Magistrate.
Everything cleared to me now, it was Mr Reddy .
The district magistrate was alive and was living for the last thirty years in Newyork with a new a identity . He had created his own death plan and all the reports of the money laundering against him was a reality.
I looked at the time, 3 Am. The magistrate sitting on the plane now for Newyork.

I took a glass of wine cheers to myself , it is very strange that I meet Mr Reddy in the train and finally I solved the case without giving any punishment.

Thanks For Reading

Sort:  

This post has received a 7.09 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @malay11.

This post has received gratitude of 2.17 % from @appreciator thanks to: @malay11.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Hmmm... Dunno what to say

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59162.63
ETH 2534.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47