SciFi Authors, Favorites?

in #story7 years ago

Does anyone have a favorite science fiction or speculative fiction author?

In the past, I have had increased comments and interaction from this
type of post, so I thought I'd try it again.

So, what do you think, Steemit, have you ever liked a scifi book? Which one
did you like the best, and why? Please leave comments, suggestions, and
thoughts, below.

At the risk of jumping in the middle of someone else's declaration of fandom,
I think I'm going to have to go with Larry Niven. He's an author who has
written enough and amazingly well enough, that I can safely embark on a
reading binge, and be sure that I won't get bogged down in bad writing, or
lack of something to read next. He's creative, original, entertaining, and
makes excellent use of his logical faculties.

Ringworld

Ringworld video

Ringworld audio

images: 1.bp.blogspot.com/-yp99DG-0M3E/UU_LWYyxTKI/AAAAAAAAAQU/ByFEUfhhgl4/s1600/Neuromancer.RATZ.jpg
shaunduke.net/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/Ringworld-Art-by-Cortney-Skinner4.jpg
video: www.youtube.com/watch?v=j6Uc4Hlj2kQ
www.youtube.com/watch?v=3KYeD7H2MKM

Sort:  

My all time favourite:

I will have to check it out.

Cool :) I'm reading Seveneves by Neal Stephenson

https://www.theguardian.com/books/2015/may/13/seveneves-by-neal-stephenson-disaster-novel

It's pretty awesome and would get my vote. Also love Dune, Neuromancer, & 3001.

You've probably read 'Snow crash' and 'The Diamond age'. You might enjoy 'A Fire Upon the Deep' by Vernor Vinge.

Oh cool, ty! I will check this out. Hey, I'm posting a Neal Stephenson, Seveneves fan art/ book review. Hope you like it. Thanks for the recommendation :)

William Gibson. The sprawl trilogy. Cyberpunk at its best. Neuromancer, Count Zero and Mona Lisa Overdrive.

The Sprawl trilogy is some of the best scifi there is. I enjoyed every page of The Bridge trilogy as well. Gibson is a singular writer.

Frank Herbert and his Dune series. Fantastic examination of intersection in politics, money, religion, and ecology. Evaluation of the pit-falls of prescience and cult of personality.

Have you read any Ursula LeGuin?

No. Not familar with the name.

She wrote 'The Left Hand of Darkness', and 'The Dispossessed'. Both of these stories reminded me of Dune in some aspect. Both were excellent reads.

I will get these books from the local library. Thanks!

I hope you like them, enjoy.

Orson Scott Card is not my favorite person due to some of his opinions, but his Ender series is hard to beat. Besides the first obviously, Ender's game, Xenocide the 3rd book was especially impressive.

Ender's shadow I liked particularly.

those were really good books

The late, The Great, Terry Pratchet and his Disc World would take a lot of beating.

What did you think of the show?


www.youtube.com/watch?v=IwmLgjw3lGs

they could make a movie out of most of his books.
they did his small people as a movie many years ago as well.
Raymond E Fiest is also a good series to read

I have to go with the psychedelic mind-phuk that is Philip K Dick. His work is amazing. Clive Barker is a close second but he's probably more horror.

Philip K Dick is still one of the best.

Rudy Rucker!

Rudy is one of my all time favorites.

Imgur

Niven definitely one of my very favorites. Have you read "World Out of Time"?

Not in a while. It's a good book. It reminds me of a combination of the short stories, 'The Ethics of Madness' and 'At the Core', expanded, and with a detour.

I'm a fanatic of my OWN Work as a Scientific Fiction.
Imgur

Upvoted and HIGHLY rEsteemed!

Brilliant! Thank you.

I'd go with Niven's sometimes partner Pournelle. Not just for the things he wrote himself, but for the editing of the There Will Be War anthology series of military sci-fi, but for the shared world he set up (Warworld)

I liked 'Lucifer's Hammer' and 'Mote'.

"Mote In God's Eye" one if the best ever.

A best among so many others.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64476.22
ETH 3153.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54