[Heart Bits] Chase After the Snake or Deal with the Poison?

in #story7 years ago (edited)

The Snake Story


Three high school graduates, two men and a woman, were walking in the Arizona desert when a rattlesnake, coiled in the dark, bit the woman. The two guys took off after the snake and eventually caught it and brought it back. Meanwhile the woman, left to deal with the venom, nearly died.

snake.jpg
source


Reality bites as the saying goes. During the time when I became active again on Steemit, I told myself to post every two days the least. I was already doing it, and I was feeling good about my momentum. But then, events came one after the other. I did not follow through my plan. I had been busy in the past days.

Every day, there was something to deal with, house chores to do, meeting to attend to, tasks to finish, tiredness, not in the writing mood influenced by the changing weather that varies from warm and humid to rainy and warm. It really looked like I had all the legitimate reasons not to write. But in my mind, a lingering thought of my unfinished task was hovering around.

Then I stumbled upon this story, and it hit me; so here I am sharing it to you today.
Those events or issues of my life were my snakes. Instead of treating the venom right on, I chased after the snakes where it led me to. I gave in to the distractions and allowed my attention to become my excuses from not writing. But not anymore! I am taking the venom out, and this writing is the proof! 🙌📜

My attitude was the poison. I did not deal with the venom right away. I let my attention be robbed by the affairs or events that got my focus.

In our daily lives, snakes crawl around us, hiss at us, bite us: these are life’s realities.
The choice is ours: to pursue the snake or to take the venom out.

How about you, when life bites, what do you deal with first, the poison 💀or the snake?🐍

Story Source: Lundin, Stephen et. al.(2002). Fish Tales. Hyperion, New York.

Sort:  

I would deal with the poison first. If I'm not capable to take care of myself, I wouldn't have the strength to tackle my enemy.

@notimetospace thanks for your reply ☺

again a story that teaches.. :) For me it's something I know intellectually.. to deal with the root or main issue of the situation, but emotions often cloud our judgment and we chase after snakes..

@chinito aha, that's another way to see it; Thank you!

got that right!

so, this was it eh....reality bites. one needs to prioritize things first, presence of mind is definitely an important habit to make.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @lemonchum to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks writing contest!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 5.2% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @lemonchum
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70855.94
ETH 3844.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49