Birthmonth, Day Nine: The love story that shouldn't have been.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story7 years ago

The creative challenge by @steemfluencer has given us until Monday to post Task #7: The Unrequited Love Story. I decided to make this story a continuation of my last challenge Task 6.

task 7.jpg

The Rules

Build characters in few sentences, introduce them to each other, and you decide how to continue. Be gentle, be nasty, be yourself. It's your own decision. If your heart is big enough, share how your character overcame the whole situation, at least in a short paragraph at the end of the story.

As mentioned above, women could write from a girl/woman perspective and men could write about men.

The task is to continue Charles’ story.

(Women could write from Eva's perspective)

Adam: "Charles, are we still in the hospital?"

Charles: "Yes sir, after my last story you fell asleep."

Adam: "Good. Charles, may I share something with you? I'd like to tell you about one of the girls I really fell in love with."

Charles: "I'd love to hear that story sir. Let me pour you a glass of water."

Adam: "Thank you Charles! You are so kind. So, here we go. I was only twenty-two years old. The last time I fell in love was maybe eight years ago."

The Story

Adam: "We met the night of her twenty-first birthday. She was out with her friends, wearing a royal purple dress. Nervous to approach her, I took an extra shot of liquid courage and waited for my favorite hip-hop song. Once she turned to me and smiled, I was hooked."

Charles: "Wow, you remember what she was wearing?"

Adam: "Oh, YES! She had a smile that made you forget the world was cruel. She spent some time overseas modeling, but came back here to open her own business."

Charles: "Why didn't you marry her?"

Adam: "Well, I didn't realize she loved me, nor I her. We parted ways soon after meeting, thinking her religious beliefs would always be what tore us apart."

Charles: "You said you didn't realize you loved her?"

Adam: "We had our fun and went our separate ways. I moved on and was always surprised when she asked to see me. After a few years, she asked less and less. One of the last moments we spent together, she confessed to never letting go of hope. As a fool, I wished her well and closed my heart to change. She never contacted me after that, and I never forgot her words."

Charles: "I thought you said you loved her?"

Adam: "I loved what we could have been, I loved her freedom to laugh, I loved holding her close. I didn't realize I was enough for her; until that weekend, when I saw her with someone else. My body reacted without my permission. My heart raced, I began to sweat with anger, and before I knew it, shots were fired."

Charles: "You hit him?"

Adam: "Remember when I said, you were wanted for murder?"

Charles: "I cleared it up with the police, they understand, I... wait a minute."

Adam: "Thank you for clearing that up for me. I didn't realize she would go crazy and kill him. You did me a solid by getting rid of her for me. I couldn't do it myself. She still smiles at me whenever I walk into the room. The woman I set him up with turned out better than I thought. I tried to keep her safe for as long as I could, but when I saw their marriage going the right direction, I knew it was time."

Charles: "...You killed her husband." Charles attempted to scream. He attempted to move, and he attempted to push the call the nurse button. He slowly lost the ability to move and found himself slowly falling into a deep sleep.

Adam: "Don't worry, the medication will allow you to go in your sleep. I told you to stop worrying about your neighbors."

The end.

PS: Looking for a witness to vote?


Vote for him by clicking HERE!

Sort:  

Well done here! Way to tie into the task 6 story. Vengeance!

Trying to mix it up and get a little darker and a little twister. The goal is to shock you with it. So, I didn't quiet hit the mark this time, but I got a few more challenges left

I like the direction you're going :) Couple more challenges left, it looks like our heroes Adam and Charles (what happened to Roger?) are really hard to kill off.

Nice twist at the end! I think @negativer is a bad influence on you. :P

unexpected...

Thanks torico, that is what I was going for!

...so THIS is what is feeding your "hopeful romanticism"... ;)

[voteswarm for kubby...]

Umm, I accepted @negativer unofficial challenge to write darker stories. He was pretty impressed with my first attempt. I think he picked up on my style and theme and less impressed with the last story. I'm hopeful the shock effect will be back with this story.

Didn't know you had it in you!!! :D

Sometimes I surprise myself!

BOTTY loves twist and turn love story :]

<3 thanks for swinging by!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Oct 09. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $13.58 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Oct 09 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

An extreme jealousy... I had to pay a bit more attention to your on the directions you and few more fellows are going into.

right, we are going a little crazy with our stories, aren't we?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27