Write Club report: Dramatic irony

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Welcome welcome. If you haven't yet heard of Write Club, start here. Also:

And now for today’s view from the locker room, where there's a requisite aroma of smelly socks and a feeling in the air that with all that training going on, there will be agony, and there will be tears. But these are good things. They are important things. For, without great goals and all the sweat and pain of achieving them, who are we but beings who just let life happen, allowing it to unfold like a story someone else had the privilege of telling?

people-2583466_960_720.jpg
Image credit: Pixabay

Today is merely day two of Write Club. Day two of 112. Will we last the duration? Do we have what it takes? Of course, of course. The question must be asked, but the answer is “never say die!”

With those thoughts behind me, today I want to write a little bit about dramatic irony. It is one of the tools available to us as writers. I didn’t mention this yesterday in my story plotting post, but an additional layer of the O. Henry story serving as our inspiration for the first achievement of Write Club, is irony. In the story, which you can read in @tanglebranche’s story prompt announcement, the dramatic irony is that the very things the two characters give up is what is needed to fully enjoy the gift the other obtained through personal sacrifice. When people say “oh, the irony,” this is what they mean.

I’m happy to report that I’ve come up with my characters, conflict and storyline, and my work on the first story for Write Club begins today. I shared the first part of my process in yesterday’s post, along with some loglines I was mulling over prior to getting started. In addition to the four I shared yesterday, I wrote six more loglines (one line plot summaries) for a total of 10 before choosing one that I will live with as I craft the tale.

I’m not going to share it. It’s too sweet, young, newly hatched and vulnerable. But it is does indeed contain a dramatic irony element.

My challenge will be to tell it well, tell it richly, and without using the irony as a hammer. It must not attempt to be the story, but to be a layer. It must lend weight and beauty to the story without pulling it down into the harbor with the other sunken ships of painful, poorly told fiction.

Will I eventually write the other logline stories? Perhaps, if they inspire me. I am enjoying the process of crafting loglines before embarking on the writing process. I expect I will develop far more loglines than I can ever write into stories. When you think about the potential combinations of people, settings, conflicts, and storytelling style, there are as many stories to tell as there are stars in the galaxy. And then there are many more galaxies.

And so I begin.

If you are a writer seeking community and support, you can find editors to help you at The Writers’ Block on Discord.

jayna_gifsignature.gif

Sort:  

Enjoy the hatching process, and I'm looking forward to reading the result! Thanks for keeping us updated, very nice to read about it. Inspires me to keep writing, plotting, revising.

Thank you, my friend! That is what it is all about, I think. Writing, plotting, revising. I may turn that into a mantra, actually. I make the mistake of thinking that great stories should just spring fully formed, like Athena, from my mind. But then it's never like that. We must write, plot, revise. Or perhaps plot, write, revise. There's no one right way. Writing then plotting can work beautifully too. But it is always a process. Best wishes and stay inspired!

I must've read this on my phone, because for some reason I hadn't upvoted it!
Well, it's done. Thanks for keeping up the momentum while we scratch our heads furiously over our stories.

Head scratching is good! And also necessary. Are you the one who told me Flannery O’Connor just wrote prolifically without blood, sweat and tears? Well if so, she was a rare breed. A rare breed indeed!

It was me, yes. I can't remember the quote exactly, but yeah, she just pummeled through it. And I've had stories work like that with me before! Just not this one :P

I’m cheering for you! You may find your best work happens in the editing phase. That happens to me sometimes. Getting the words in the page is like pulling impacted teeth, but then all the goodness happens in the revision.

That metaphor made my mouth hurt, but yeah! Thanks for the encouragement!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51