'Cause this is thriller... Thriller night !steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story6 years ago (edited)

This post is an entry in the challenge posted by @slobberchops about sharing the earliest memory of the first song you've ever loved. If you'd like to participate, you have until Sunday 6th May at 20:00 GMT. Please read @slobberchops post to see additional rules.


thrillerartwork-cover-zombies-optimised.png

source

I did not have to think too hard about what musician or band made the biggest impression on me, back when I was a little kid: the King of Pop himself, Michael Jackson.

What I have more trouble remembering is how old I was, definitely between 7 and 11. Not more than 11 years old, because it was before the Dangerous album, and more than 7 because it was around Bad's release.

- 📺 -

Now, even if I don't remember my exact age, I know for certain it happened on a Wednesday.

What? How can I know that? Because in France, there (still) is no school on Wednesdays until you reach middle school. If I close my eyes, I have flashes of me watching M6, a TV station that was in its infancy, being born in march 1987.
Back then, the "M" in M6 was basically for "Music" because the channel was playing music videos all day. Fast-forward 31 years later, like MTV (does it still exist?) there is no music anymore on this channel, but it has become the 3rd most watched one in the French-speaking world.
Sorry for digressing a bit, but all these little details make me wander my childhood memories...

- 📺 -

Back then, I was not into music at all, and had no radio or any music playing device in my room.
So, I'm sitting on the couch, the TV on, set to this new channel, reading a picture book... When suddenly a movie starts.


With a duration of more than 13 minutes, it's a quite long music video!

Or, at least, I thought it was a movie: the full version of Thriller!
It was spooky, I was a bit afraid of the these zombies because they are definitely scary for children, but I fell in the love with the music.
And then, it was followed by Billie Jean, Beat It, and other number ones of these two releases. It turned out to be a video retrospective of Michael Jackson's work. Was it on purpose, before the release of Bad, or after, to celebrate? I cannot say.

I begged for my parents to buy me Thriller and I must have listened to it a thousand times at least..
It made me love Michael Jackson's songs from the get-go. As I grew up, like everyone, my musical tastes evolved beyond the spectrum of pop. But the Thriller, Bad, Dangerous and later HIStory albums could always be found in my cassette player, Sony discman, and so forth until the advent of MP3 and then smartphones.

- 🕺🏿 -

I believe Michael's catchy beats and singing (ah I love the voice) make his songs instantly recognizable, and also timeless. I think you could squeeze any of his most remarkable songs between recent releases, and no one would mind.
I have no shame, scratch that! I am proud of having loved and still loving Michael's musical legacy.

Long live the King of Pop! 🙇‍♂️

📝 Thanks @slobberchops for the trip back to the memory lane (and sorry for the length, it just had to be written!)

Sort:  

I love his music very much too... I started to listen from Janet Jackson, I l was a junior high student and no one listened English music yet, but I really loved her album of "Rhythm Nation" and went to concert with my elder sister when she came to Osaka. And I became a fun of Michel too, and then "History" coming... and I listened more music from his young age include Jackson5...
I watched the documentary of his last period ”THIS IS IT”. It was very touching to me and I feel like want to watch it one more time now... He is still super Artist & hero to me. Thanks for sharing :)

Oh yes! I also listened to Janet for a while mostly around the time of the "Janet." album release in 1993 (that's 25 years old... I'm getting old!!!). I think you were very lucky in having seen Janet in concert!
I also went to watch the "THIS IS IT" documentary in a movie theater ; I thought it was a very good way to say goodbye o the King of Pop. Watching the documentary was at times very sad, and most of the times emotional.

As I said, Michael Jackson's songs are always within reach in my smartphone, or my computer :-) And I don't think things will ever be different.
Thanks for sharing your part of the story!

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57883.59
ETH 3070.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34