All Is Not Lost

in #story6 years ago (edited)

image

My life flashed as the shuttle went down. Years of training, decades of travelling and it was all being undone in a moment.

I am an astronaut, part of an exploration team in deep space. Our mission had been going well these past three decades until now.

A solar storm had struck LV139J, generating massive electromagnetic pulses that damaged all electronic equipment on the planet.

I was in the air when the storm struck, and now I had crash landed in the middle of nowhere.

My shuttle was damaged; communications lost and I didn't know my bearings.

Without the aid of our satellites I couldn't tell where I was. For all I knew, I was a continent away from base camp.

A myraid of questions go through my mind: would base camp still function after this?, was our mothership still operational?, was I alone on this planet?.

I salvage some supplies and head out into the wilderness. All is not lost; maybe I can reach my base, maybe I can survive, maybe there is still hope.


This is an entry to the stach story writing contest


Image credit @jacksondavies

Sort:  

Hi @jacksondavies this is a great story.
So Interesting... I hope you will write part 2... you
have one fan already 🤓

Thanks @moonleesteem.
This story was written with the possibility of a sequel in mind. So, a second part might get written eventually.

I am glad to hear that... 👍

Hello @jacksondavies, so nice I like your story... it made me want to read the continuation of this story. Will he survive? but he still has hope so All is Not Lost.... suspense :)
PS: will copy this comment to HHG6

This is extremely well written keep up the good work. I would love to know the whole story.
ps copying to HHG6

@jacksondavies - Wow, very imaginative writing. Sci-fi is a topic which I fear. Keep up the great work!

Your post has been upvoted by the @steemainsarena community trail. Our goal is to support minnows on steemit to help them grow. You can join our discord server here; https://discord.gg/V5hJwJn
You can support us by donating steem/sbd or delegating sp to steemainsarena trail to acknowledge our mission.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60340.89
ETH 2615.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56