Who I Am... The Kid Who Feared Deep Water...

in #story7 years ago (edited)

We all have fears. @karensuestudios wrote a beautiful post reminding us to push through the fears. Karen's post truly describes what needs to be done to fight and defeat fears. Let me share one of my fears.

The Boy Who Feared Water.png

Piper Image Source

When I was a kid, I used to fear rivers and big canals. Basically, deep and large reservoirs of water. The situation was ironic. I could swim in a river even as a 10-year-old but I couldn't look at the other bank. The water used to scare me.

Even in a swimming pool, knowing that there was deep water under me used to scare the hell out of me. It freaked me out despite being a swimmer. That happened right until the end of my teens.

When I was 19, we went to the beach; my first time. I looked at the sea and it scared me to death. I couldn't stand the massive wavy water. I kept sitting away.

Until I decided to do something about my fear. I decided to face it. Right there, right then. Sea was the biggest it could get so I resolved to conquer it where it scared me most.

I kept going inside. Beyond every one of my friends. They got scared that I will drown. But I kept going stayed there looking at the coming waves. That was the last day of my fear because I had faced it big time.

I used image of Piper because Piper's story is even more incredible. See for yourself how the cute bird overcame its fears and what difference it made.

Thank you, Karen. You gave me a chance to share one of my deepest fears and reminded me how I overcame it.

Do you have fears too? Did you overcome a fear? Share your story.

ilyastarar steemit banner

Sort:  

pretty sensible fear ... i'm a mild hygiene freak myself... or sometimes maybe not so mild, not sure (-:

I happen to live with one. Haha!

AWWW I love it! Thanks for the wonderful share :)

Thank you, Karen, for inspiring me to share it.

I kept going inside. Beyond every one of my friends. They got scared that I will drown. But I kept going stayed there looking at the coming waves. That was the last day of my fear because I had faced it big time.

That is the spirit bro. Until we face our fears before we know that fear is just a word and can be conquered

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ilyastarar from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Really loved reading this post, keep sharing ... thanks a lot :)

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 3.73 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @ilyastarar. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

Your pops @zeartul is nice I know but I'm struggling with big upvotes and resteems you know. ;)

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Thank you very much for participating.
i will need to do a full-blown reading over time. i decided to just stop by a bit for now. The turn-out has kept growing (currently around 150 posts that i have to read and counting and support with vote but i submit all entries to some friends as well to support. The experience has been awesome. I will come back for a full blown comment to empower you when i fully read. This is beyond a contest, so there will be a ton of variations to participate in, for fun, community and ultimately to bring about success in every facet, steemit and beyond. The whole endeavor is a curriculum from "school of life", raw down-to-earth stuff, without books involved; stemming from unadulterated love for humans; humans.
If you want to read some of the entries too: visit all the resteems on @steem-untalented

To understand better the gravity of this "untalented" initiative, read this post: https://steemit.com/life/@surpassinggoogle/if-you-can-t-find-a-stranger-to-love-love-me-and-entertain-freedom-when-you-do

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61639.07
ETH 2982.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46