EcoTrain Question of the Week: "What is the greatest gift you have ever given or received?" By icmultitudes

in #story7 years ago (edited)

On the Psychologically Burdensome Nature of Gifts

This weeks writing question, raises a topic that does not bring much happiness or good feelings at all. Not that I never received decent gifts or given them, that's not it exactly. But gift giving poses a serious personal challenge. I have practically given up on it. My daughters have noticed and that does make me sad. Gifts, both receiving and giving should be joyous. They should lighten one's load, at least in the moment, not feel like a burden. As it stands for me personally, gift-giving and receiving can be a very complicated and psychologically painful topic. Both because of the attempts I have made in my life to give the most perfect gift to someone I cared about and having it rejected as well as a number of times I have been a disappointed recipient.

The Burden of Giving -

I have decided to differentiate between charity, or other intangible interpretations of gifts and go for simple materialistic kind. Just saying that up front. But for the record you can file away that there is no better gift than the gift of time and shared experiences. I have so many people to be thankful for in my life who have made time for me. But that is not what I will focus on. Unfortunately, my immediate reaction to this question was anxiety and sadness, memories of disappointment and rejection. I'll start with the one time I payed a couple hundred dollars to get a musical instrument back in playing condition so that my husband would play it again. It wasnt perfect, or it wasnt enough, so he never did. He always talked about how happy he used to be when he played clarinet in high school and in college, so I wanted to give that back to him. It did not work. From my perspective I had had the most brilliant idea ever for the perfect gift and was so excited to give it to him. He just put it back in the case and never played it. Every time we moved and I'd see he clarinet case, it made me sad all over again.

Lesson learned- Be respectful and kind when accepting a gift and let the giver know how much you enjoy using the whatever it is no matter what.

The Burden of Recieving-

Another time he gave me a diamond necklace. It wasn't a super expensive one, but for us everything was expensive. It was small and a sweet design, but I had already had discussions with him early on in our relationship that I never wanted diamonds. I am completely against them for social, economic and environmental reasons. My courses in international development were full of horrific examples of the harmful impacts of the diamond trade. So it hurt both to realize he did not really ever hear me or believe me and it hurt to tell him I couldn't accept the gift. I offered to make a date out of taking it back together and going out for dinner and movie instead. But I think he was crushed and never really forgave me for that rejection either.

Lesson learned - To be a good giver, one must put some effort into knowing the recipient. Especially if the person is close family or friend and you have plenty of opportunities to know them well enough to have an idea of what brings them joy, or perhaps be aware of some item they really need.

Here's another failed gift account. I had a stepmother. Well, she's sill alive but she kind of disowned me years ago. She is very creative and for some time was really into making quilts. She made one for my dad, my half brother, some other friends, etc... They were all gorgeous. I so wanted her to make me one as well. More than that I wanted her to want to make me one without having had to ask. Because then I would feel that I belonged too. In the end, I came home one weekend from college, back then home was White Plains, NY, and after dinner I got called to the landing where their bedroom was. She came out in her bathrobe, stuck her arms out and said "Here.", while dropping a pile of colored material into my surprised hands. Then she turned around walked back into her room and that was it. I stood there stunned. Then I opened it to see the whole thing. It was pretty. The colors were a beautiful blend of blues and greens, nice pattern, but immediately I noticed it was about half the size of all the quilts I had seen her make for other people. Not big enough to cover a twin bed. Just decorate it. My heart began to sink. I know. How shallow of me. I know. And yet, in that moment I felt so crushed, so unimportant and unworthy. Tears were forming in the corners of my eyes. What it boiled down to was that I felt unloved by someone I wanted desperately to care about me. She thought she had no choice but to give me something. Since I had asked. She had done her duty now could I please leave her alone. Her demeanor was so rude, unkind and insensitive, the opposite way to give something from the heart. But I did learn a lesson. There are good ways and not so good ways to give gifts.

I have more sad stories about gifts. But this topic is just too depressing. I don't want to write about it anymore, and I doubt you will want to read more. So instead I will leave off with a more positive example.

There was one gift I received from my family about a year and a half ago. Probably the best gift I ever received. I did have to drop major hints for years, but that year I also mentioned where it could be found and for how much, (relatively cheap) and boy would I ever love to have one... This is what I got for combination Mothers Day and Birthday.

IMG_3113.JPG

I know. Fantastic. And this week I got to use it for the first time here in Colorado. It fits right in my car as long as there are no other passengers. For me, this kayak has provided blessed moments of freedom. Just the idea of it gives me the sense of potential freedom should I wish to claim it.

Go forth, do good, be generous of time and spirit, and material gifts won't matter too much at all. But a little extra chocolate never hurts.

Peace.

IMG_4413.JPG

For the most recent ecoTrain Highlights, click this link.
https://steemit.com/nature/@eco-alex/the-best-of-the-ecotrain-highlights-of-the-week-19th-24th-august-more-amazing-posts-brought-together-for-you

Sort:  

Well well @icmultitudes, that's an interesting read :-) The beauty is in the lessons learned, isn't it? I guess you had some gift karma to clean, you shouldn't be preoccupied for what's coming next and just remember the lessons you learned, they are beautiful!
Giving time is the most precious gift you can give to someone.
Being aware is the most precious gift you can give to yourself or the whole universe
Love and light

Thanks for reading it @bubke
You're probably right.
Love and light back to you!

This is so beautiful and sad and then happy - so well written and with such important lessons. The best thing I've read yet on steemit.
Resteemed (with your permission) and upvoted to the full power of $0.05 (yes, I know it's not much but that's all I can give in this moment, but you know it's the thought that counts.)💗

Thank you for your lovely thoughts and words @stillgideon
They always help!

Oh man I feel you too and thought about these burdensome aspects of giving and receiving. Like for me its Christmas. I cant stand the ritual. I love my family but jezus were not even religious. But im expected to bring gifts. When we were kids we put a lot of thought into our gifts and we made them all, Somehow overt years this changed to mostly gift cards and other material gifts that we open as people look at their phones. Ive opted out more than once.

And yeah I bought my wife a piano once, she hardly ever played it. She loved crafts so I gave her a craft room which sat full of her stuff but nothing ever happened in there. LOL were not married anymore. I could go on and on. Written songs for lovers they did not enjoy, my first girlfriend I bought her a jacket and she cried. Opps got that one wrong.

Spending quality time with the people you love is the best gift I think you are right. Life is a series of shared moments for the most part.

Thanks for bringing this realistic aspect of giving up. Im sorry it brought up negative feelings but its a good post. Peace me friend.

Tim, this is the best comment! I appreciate it so much! Im so glad someone else was ok with my choice not to get all metaphysical with the question. Sorry about all your gift mishaps too :(
Here's to quality time with good people 😊

Thank you for taking this approach to the question! If I may offer my opinion. I think what you may have highlighted here was not necessarily 'gifts' but failed 'gift economics' with expectations. I don't think our dominant culture recognizes much of a difference and tends to lump them together. I believe this is why your experience with gifts have been mostly painful (as have my experiences with gift economics, I tend to not participate in them anymore). I loath the expectation of gift economics, it's a zero sum or negative sum game (as you were able to highlight). However, as they say; don't throw the baby out with the bath-water. Gifts can and are often detached from the expectations of gift economics and these gifts are full of beauty and love :)

Yes, and I have been on both giving and receiving ends of those.
The material gifts get all wrapped up in consumerism and ownership of things we don't really need. But sometimes the symbolism of a physical item can be what makes a loving gift so special.

"The material gifts get all wrapped up in consumerism and ownership of things we don't really need"

So, the symbolism is what is special :) I don't think physical items are necessarily problematic. In fact, if imbued with love they are absolutely gorgeous and wonderful gifts to receive :)

Thank you for sharing your sadness around receiving and giving gifts. It's not all joy and happiness. I know your feeling and I have found what works for me is that if we can receive the intention behind the material gift, we get the most precious part of the gift, then, even if the gift would break, we have something. Or, sometimes when we see that the intention behind the gift was not so wonderful, we can give the gift back if it feels too weird. Or we can just enjoy the gift anyway and leave the 'shit' or 'confusion' with the person. I do think that many of us are scared to give and receive as it somehow makes us feel vulnerable and thus many of us are clumsy with it. Still wanting to give, not very courageous maybe ,doing a half job with it, being all clumsy but wanting to give non the less.

The blanket has come in handy so Inhave used it in spite of the 'shit' that came with it! Thanks for the comment Clara 😊

oh wow.. im so sorry your gifts went so sideways! sometimes its hard to give , i know this from my own experience.. i really hope you also have a few other stories of more successful giving too! sending love!

Thank you Alex. It hasn't all been gloom and doom. I have had good people in my life, but this question caused me to address some major internal bumps in life's journey.
Thanks again for the caring comment :)

Giving and receiving can be difficult indeed. It's best to have no expectations at all. I'm sorry to hear that this topic upsets you so much. But thank you for sharing. Great job.

Unfortunately I have discovered that people who practice a general no expectations outlook on the world tend toward cynical and unemotional even when there is reason. If the price I have to pay for feeling the whole spectrum is to feel the bad stuff too, that what I choose.
Some relationships wouldn't be relationships at all if there were no expectations built in I'm afraid. Thanks for the comment @gardenbsquared 🐞🐛🐝

I have learned a few things in my short life that have been very true for me. 1. ) Never set expectations for other people because you will always end up disappointed.
2.) External things never are enough to satisfy the "void" . True happiness comes from within

I find most people only think they know what they want They just dont dig deep enough.

I like your point about trying to find out what someone really wants when giving them a gift.

FYI Your post was a gift to me and the rest of the people who read it. And I thank you for all the time and consideration in the construction of this gift

@sostrin, I am very touched by what you wrote here. Life lessons are often not easy are they? But that you consider this little post a gift? That is huge! Thank you so much 😊

I am quite surprised that you did not choose to write about the greatest gift you have ever given, life to your daughters.

I was avoiding that cliche like the plague!

Well, then there is definitely some lesson to be learned there.
That "cliché" might be your greatest guru.

It's not like I don't remind them about that...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66391.72
ETH 3189.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60