A Warrior's Quest For A Pendant (An Original Narrative From @girlwithavoice)

in #story6 years ago

Hey steemians,

This is an assignment I had to do in class, we had to base a narrative off of the topic 'Something goes missing'. When I had to think of idea for the story, I had no idea what to do. My mind was completely blank like a white board with no writing on it. So my friends challenged me, they said 'how about we have a challenge, have our main character a boy and one or two family members pass away to add some sadness to the story'. I was unable to think clearly and out of carelessness I agreed, so that is why you have a narrative here today.

Hope you enjoy.

A Warrior's Quest For A Pendant

The soft voice of mother always soothing me to sleep. Then waking up to the smell of dads divine cooking.
“Honey we love you” Their voice always echoing in my head.
My parents were very loving they would save me when I climbed a tree to high, they would also put cute little chibi ninja bandages on my sores.
The family I loved dear DIED.

They were assassinated by someone whose identity we still don't know, and the assassination happened on my 7 th birthday. I will never forget that day, I lost both of the people that were most precious to me.

Drip, Drop. Drip, Drop, Drip. The patting of the rain is soothing like a mother lion licking its cub. Reassuring the cub that mum’s here and she is not going anywhere, That sense of safety and security.
I miss it all (except being licked on the head like a cub) but, I took a vow to never look back at the past and serve the crown “I shall die trying to protect the crown if it’s the last thing I do because it gave me a purpose to live!”

8 years has past since the assassination of my parents, The last thing my mother and father gave me was a scintillating pendent that sparkles gold when the sun shines its burning rays on it. When you open the pendant it holds a picture of me when I was just a newborn baby held by a newly-wed couple.
When I look at the joy in their faces it feels like they’re emotions are dancing around me, remembering basking in their happiness always brings tears to my eyes. Tears flowing like waterfalls, drowning my smokey grey eyes. I try to pull a smile just like them, but their happiness is just a picture now.

But that is all in the past, It’s just a empty road to nowhere, a path that should never be tread.

The next day after my parents death I was found, shivering in the rain that froze you like an ice cube. Pita pata. Pita pata. The sound of the rain hitting the concrete.
I was in a rugged, smelly, old cardboard box. I was clutching onto the pendant for dear life as if it was a warm toasty heater. Picturing the laughter of my family, the warmth, the joy, the feeling of being SAFE all GONE in a blink of an eye.

The hot warmth of tears rushing down my face like an avalanche. Acknowledging the fact that I had no one. ‘I. Am. Alone’.
Then there was a rush of warmth that was placed on my shoulder.
“Child everything's going to be alright” the voice horse, it felt like the person was in pain; somehow it was also welcoming and warming.

Her baby blue hair tickling my face, I thought she was my savior ; ‘I will never be alone again!’
The rain around me froze, everything went silent I was too mesmerised by her amber eyes it felt like the rush of all my worries were gone in a instant.

Back then that meant everything to me, to be saved by someone.
Carla took me in as if I was her own. But when I found out the reason no wonder why she treated me that way. I had overheard a conversation on the phone,
“What, my husband was stabbed how?”
“The driver I hired, he was killed by the driver”
“No that can’t be true, It has to not be True”
I could hear the pain in her voice, then a rush of tears ran down her face and clouded her beautiful amber eyes. It stabbed my heart without reasoning, my eyes began to water as well. I had felt an emotional connection to someone who I had not seen or even met but I still grieved alongside Carla.

To be continued.....

Sort:  

Congratulations @girlwithavoice! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
You got your First payout

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99