Generalized

in #story4 years ago

Generalized

What follows could be summed up as a generalized statement, but since I am a member of a group that’s being generalized by the statement, I believe the generalization to be acceptable. If I write something offensive, knowing it makes me look bad, then I’m just adding to generalizations already existing about my own kind.

Another way to see it is that if I continue, at the worst I would only further hurt my kind.

I don’t bring this up to warn of some upcoming despicable content which will be insulting to someone. I bring it up because not everyone will find this interesting. Could implying it may not be interesting be seen as generalizing that you personally wouldn’t be interested in reading this or getting answers?

It could be I guess, but for now, I’m moving on and any questions can be taken up later.


text15.png


When I was a youngster with no internet, smartphone, computer and/or game console (and games), since they didn’t exist, seeking entertainment in play and finding interesting and fun things to do nearly always had to do with playing outside.

When we had to stay inside it was brutal, and that’s not a stretch. The only time we were inside playing was if the weather was too bad to be outside, or if we were sick.

Being made to stay in the house was like a punishment even when it wasn’t. I’m not sure that’s still the case today, but assuming it is, the “punishment” aspect of it today would require the extra step of removing the electronics that have, at the least, compromised today’s child’s view of having to stay inside as a punishment and for the punishment to have some positive effect.

When we had to stay inside, we’d get out the board games that we only played with if we had to stay in, or if we had a friend or two staying overnight. Otherwise they mostly collected dust.


We did things outside that taught us about the life-forms around us. We learned about the environment to an extent by ourselves by being outside in nature, making first-hand observations, and exploring day after day. Outside, we used our senses and our natural wonder of things to make discoveries on our own and honed those skills.

We did in real life then, what the video games do when we’re tired of playing them now - the game is saved and we pick up where we left off the next time we play. Outside, we’d build “forts” for example and play like we were defending them from our playmates who were acting out the part of the opposition force.

When it was time to go in, we “saved” our game too, and we took it up again the next day. It could go on for days.


text15.png

It should be obvious by now that I am making a comparison. And since we were discussing generalizations earlier, you may have already come to a conclusion that I am going to be generalizing the younger generations. It’s certainly possible that I would, but that’s not my goal.

You may have noticed that I wrote “younger generations.” If you think this is odd, then you are probably an older person. When I was in high school and afterwards, growing up and learning stuff, there was much talk of a “generation gap.” The gap was defined as being between just TWO generations; us and them.

Although I salute them, I personally don’t count the “greatest generation” as a representative generation anymore, as there aren’t a significant number of its members remaining now. It’s just as when I was young, and at that time, the WWI generation was no longer significant enough to be a factor with its remaining numbers.

Since the time I’ve gone from being a child to becoming a man, the number of generations recognized have increased, and now there are something like four or five (or more?) generations alive all at the same time.

I’m not sure I understand how this happened, but we have the old baby boomers, followed by, (I may not get these in the right order), Gen X, then Millennials, Gen Y and finally Gen Z. Is this correct and is that all of them? I’m not sure.

It doesn’t matter really, as just the fact that we have over four generations alive at the same time is both amazing and historic… isn’t it?

So what’s the point?

I discovered that Gen Y gets lots of neglect and sometimes it doesn’t even get mentioned along with the others, when I found an article that recognizes Gen Y-ers as a group that will soon be getting 46% of U.S. income by 2025.

And the Gen-Yers are neglected? If they are then isn’t the neglect shown them literal insanity? And wouldn’t such neglect at least seem to be intentional?

text15.png

I guess what I’m attempting to do here, is to reconcile a couple of things that bother me about this setup. So I guess the first question I would have is, why are there now more generations living than there were before?

I mean, we had two generations when I was young - three tops, and that was only if you wanted to divide “them” into two groups. Not many, if any, did. Remembering my attitude as a young man whose army enlistment had just recently been completed, most of us of around my age just saw “us and them.”

To be honest, I think it’s very strange that someone or some group has officially added at least two recognized, living generations to what has been the standard two or three living generations at the most, until now. Or are they actually counting the three or four possibly still living WWI veterans as a “living generation?”


The first and most popular response to my question would probably be that, “We are living longer, and that’s why we have to add to the number of defined, living generations,” but that doesn’t make sense.


With the “greatest generation,” the one before the boomers, it seems many of them have lived very long lives, and let’s not forget, many from that generation were slaughtered in two world wars. It seems that the life-spans of many of those from the greatest generation exceed the life-spans normally observed and expected in living folks today.

Okay, if it’s not due to folks living longer, then it must be because there are just more folks alive now.

This is true; there are more people alive, but how does this figure into the addition of more living generations? I mean, I don’t really see how this factor could add two whole generations within a span of time that has generally consisted of approximately twenty years for each generation.

A site called “marketingteacher.com” actually claims there are SIX (count ‘em) generations alive in America today.

Wait… there are now six generations, but they only exist in America? What kind of Tomfoolery is this?

I think this actually kind of gives it away.

You see, in the past we categorized each “generation” as a specific group of people, born during a set, averaged window of time. The number of group members is not significant. We then further or alternatively defined it as the specific number of years a generation covers. We then gave it a named, generational title; e.g. “Baby Boomers.”

Referring to the marketingteacher site above, what I’ve just described is apparently now not the only criteria used for identifying a “generation,” believe it or not. Now, from the same article we find that we are also doing generational-identification based on “likes, dislikes and attributes.”

They say that “A person’s birth date may not always be indicative of their generational characteristics…”

Does this mean that now we can declare that we’re part of a generation we’re really not part of, and that there are people out there who will stand by us and our false claims of generational inclusiveness based on the fact that a fifty year-old happens to like playing the same online game that mostly just twelve to fourteen year-olds play?

Well, isn’t that nice?

Know what else they do while also implying that it’s okay to do? They openly generalize.

Generalized © free-reign 2019

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Sources for images used in this post:

Eyes: Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay
Minion: Image by vivek jatav from Pixabay
Boys Playing: Image by sterna from Pixabay
WWII Memorial: Image by Malachi Witt from Pixabay
Sense/Nonsense: Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay
Phone Collection: Image by Alexas_Fotos from Pixabay


Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

Sort:  

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

JOIN US HERE
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Congratulations @free-reign! This post has been featured in today's Power House Creatives curation post!

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our FB Page and Twitter feed.

PHC-Footer-05.gif

I know what you mean, I come from the era where games and activities were outdoor indeed. If it's indeed, it's because it's TV time or I'm grounded :(
I agree that I do see many generations too..
And it's really hard to manage the many generations all at a time

Yes, it was just awful to have to stay inside and hear all the other kids out there playing. I used to sit on the floor by the screen door crying because I couldn't be outside too!

🍻 Thank you @rem-steem!

Great article. I'm from the generation that had a mix of the old and new(early 90s). I find that most of us born in the early 90s and very late 80s often identify with each other. Childhood memories, interests and all that. I got to play outside and also enjoy the tech side.
The number of generations will keep increasing because everybody has a new struggle and no matter how silly it sounds, there will be people that identify with it

I think your explanation is the one that's right; that "generation" today, has more connotations than in the past, when, at least the public understanding defined it mainly as being related to a span of years.

What I don't understand, is whether the acceptance of "generations" being related to designs, activities and/or trains of thought, still allows for the standard "generation" that refers to a span of years.

I think that rationale has been either made obsolete or buried under a pile of "generational definitions" that it becomes only a nuance in principle.

What I deduce from people I interact with is that modern generations are defined by similarity of struggle and preference. The classical time-dependent definition is embedded somewhere in all the new subjective definitions

How scary is that, I recognize and have used all those phones @free-reign six generations is quite an accomplishment in a family.

Each generation is influenced by outside interests, some generations may feel they had the best of both worlds.

In some homes the influence may strongly lean toword previous generations experience, leaving next generation with knowledge from a few generations.

Factoring in living to an older age, advancement in medical and technical capabilities definitely increases life.

Haha, you are so right @joanstewart! I always felt superior as a kid when we had a modern, black desk phone, and on a lot of the black and white TV shows they had the old crank phones on the wall.

It was the same with me, I hated being inside and just had to get out with my friends. I'm really glad there was not internet then because I would have missed out on so much..

I agree, and I feel a bit lucky to have experienced that internet-free life growing up. FOMO was definitely a much stronger force when I had to stay in the house, haha!

I think people lives in different generations and lifestyle. We couldn't say the new generation people are lucky because of technology. We couldn't say also that old generation is unlucky because of old style. In general, it's the people who'll think what is the reason for them to be happy and contented.
Good writing, I may not get all the details in the content but still I found it interesting.

I agree. I wouldn't say the new generation is lucky either. I would say they have the same problems as everyone else, and they're also stymied by the technology and live a more burdensome existence due to the always-on aspects of the kinds of lives we're all forced to live today.

Oh, I loved the days of being free to roam about without a care in the world. Picking up the Monopoly board and saving it, putting a rock on the money so it wouldn't blow it away.

Yes. Us and them. LOL Isn't that the easiest way?

This was truly a great write and research. Who has it the best and the most right? Perspective changes on which piece of the generation you are riding on, methinks.

!tip

Oh, so you played monopoly outside too? Haha, that's awesome! I spent a lot of my early time outdoors with my dad when I got the chance. When I was just past crawling, he'd already have me on his lap, showing me how to steer the tractor, lol.

Later on, if he was doing some work I didn't like, I'd hang around with my pals and we'd do guy kid things, like getting cans out of the trash, setting them up and throwing rocks at them, (later shooting at them with BB guns, and later, pellet guns).

We'd do other things too, like going fishing a lot. When we went fishing we went down to the river where no one could see us, and if one of us stole some cigarettes, we'd puff on them but not inhale, while "fishing." I was one who just loved to build a fire at the riverside.

Little boys like mischievous activities in their play. :)

Thank you for the nice compliment and the tip! I appreciate both very much!

🎁 Hi @free-reign! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: I Love You Truly Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70135.32
ETH 3789.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77