You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Making Coins Jingle in The Pocket of My Polka Dotted Outfit In New Years Eve for The Belief of Attracting Lotz'a Mowney All Year Through If I Do So

in #story7 years ago

First, let me wish you and yours a happy new year 2018. Hard to believe we're there already, isn't it?

I find the custom of jingling coins in your pocket harmless enough, and I happen to like girls in polka dots.

The custom we observe in Germany is fun, but more dangerous if one isn't careful, and it certainly is pretty toxic for the environment as well. So much so, the EU came to a decision banning the sale of related supplies starting 2018. For once, I agree with Brussels.

I'm talking of molybdomancy, of course, a tradition, by which lead is smelted over a candle. The liquid lead is then dumped into cold water and makes bizarre shapes as it hardens, which we interpret as omens for the coming year. I doubt anybody believes in this divination nowadays, but the custom is still widely spread, for entertainment if nothing else.

Here is a picture of one of the shapes one obtains with molybdomancy, from Micha Rieser over at Wikimedia. You might interpret this a the shape of a whale, so it seems to fit right in here at Steemit, promising "lotsa mowney" :-) Unfortunately, a whale promises only lotsa fat in the next year, so a diet is advised.

Bleigiessen-Ergebnis_(cropped).jpg

Sort:  

thank you for sharing that I've been here a while and spent some Christmas holidays in Berlin but I haven't heard of it

I agree with Brussels, too
lead's very bad and can cause some brain disease or something

as for the shape I don't really see a whale more of a smiling goat with its left eye looking at me almost bulging haha

as for the whales, I have to disagree with you because I happen to know a few who have been consistently generous, helpful and friendly around here so I can't really agree nor generalize that they all just promise fat because that's not what I have experienced here

Happy New Year and Cheers!

Yeah, the more I'm staring at it, it DOES look like a goat on acid or something. Amazing how that champagne helps the imagination...

wahahaha
I guess am too late about the wine warning lol

You misunderstood about the whales: Obtaining the shape of a whale means, one will gain weight in the following year. The goat you're seing means, you will be traveling and should take the shortest route.

Now I have to continue working on tomorrow's hangover ;-) Cheers 2018!

lol
travel and take the shortest route
I like the sound of that

go easy on the gluh wijn :D!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57298.55
ETH 3059.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29