My Personal Thoughts on "Ready Player One"

in #story6 years ago (edited)

The mere mention of the name Spielberg instantly conjures up things like "icon, living legend" or "genius of his craft". After all, with such ground-breaking genre-defining classics like E.T., Indiana Jones, Jurassic Park and Schindler's List under his belt, few can argue that statement to the contrary. Though as of more recent times, he has shifted his visions to a more sombre of tones, leaving behind the action-packed, fast paced fantasy adventures he is more well-known for. However, Ready Player One attempts to hearken back to the era of those unique gems from his impressive back catalogue. Which also begs the question, can his bolts of "lightning brilliance" strike again for the umpteenth time, and this late in his illustrious career?

1.jpeg

Being an adaptation of Ernest Cline's 2011 novel of the same name, Ready Player One is set in a semi-dystopian world where virtual reality has, in essence, gone global. But it's so much more than just that. Cryptocurrency has merged with these new technological advances of mankind, to where people can earn money in this virtual environments whilst participating in a plethora of games they love and enjoy, as the same time. The virtual environment is called OASIS and plays host to countless millions of people around the world, who also have their own private avatar to partake in this online world. Some years after the firm establishment of OASIS, a shocking revelation is made. Co-founder James "Anorak" Halliday (played by movie veteran Mark Rylance) announces a contest in which the individual must find three hidden easter eggs within the virtual world. As a reward, they receive a quarter trillion dollars as well as full ownership of OASIS. Thus, we follow in the adventures of Wade Watts (played by Tye Sheridan) and his online avatar , Parzival, in the quest to find those eggs and win a possible prize beyond anybody's wildest dreams.

Giving away anything more than that and we'll run into spoiler territory. For this movie "must" be seen with minimalist prior information. Now, let's get one thing out of the way from the outset. I've never read the book so therefore have only my vast back catalogue of movies I've watched, to compare this one with. So my review will be completely unbiased in regards to my overall standpoint of the movie. Ready Player One grips you firmly with both hands, from the very beginning. The world Spielberg has built here, is nothing short of outstanding. Taking very real elements of today's upcoming tech and amalgamating it into his vision of the future, was a veritable feast for the eyes. People locked in to their headsets, earning money through online gaming, recreational activities, VR getaway experiences. I was, in short, simply blown away. But this is just scratching the surface. Within the multitudes of aesthetic beauty, lies a heart-warming tale of adventure, discovery and action galore. I loved Wade Watts as a likeable, charming character and his small ensemble of friends he picks up along the way. Mostly being avatars he already knew from OASIS. As weird as this sounds, it produced an uncannily familiar feel within me, in regards to my first Steemfest experience. I'll leave you to figure that one out!

Of course, one major selling point for this movie are the number of nods to past pop cultural lore, in our own personal histories. From a mind-melting collection of video game and movie references, all slotted into meaningful places in the plot along the way, the "rewatchability" factor of Ready Player One is off the charts. Even more so if you're a true film fanatic or hardcore gamer. The chills running up and down my spine whilst my memory banks flooded with all sorts of on-screen thrown-backs from my childhood, were a joy to behold. And, as I mentioned, all woven into the fabric of the story-line with that distinctive "Spielberg-esque" aplomb. The action sequences are some of the best I've ever seen. Particular mention goes to a race near the beginning of the movie. It's got Spielberg's trademarks written all over it and for that alone, is worth the price of admission. One criticism I've heard about this movie, is with the characters and not enough attention being given to them. Well, I found the truth to be anything but. There's a solid comradery found between each of them by the end of the movie and, as a viewer, feel a genuine connection throughout, making you root for them to win even more. Spellbinding stuff indeed and technical wizardry at it's finest.


Well, I've just scratched the surface, when it comes to this movie, but that only furthers your enjoyment for when you actually watch it. Final thoughts? This is one of the most enjoyable movies I've seen in years. Yes, years! The originality, the action, the nostalgic cultural references littered throughout, the fast-paced plot. In fact, maybe the quickest two and a half hours of my entire life! I just didn't want it to end. This is an instant classic, by anyone's yardstick. A pioneering example of movie-making excellence, on par with anything else on the exhaustive list of Steven Spielberg's other cinematic victories. Recommended beyond words and one absolutely not to be missed.

My Verdict: (9.5/10)

PAGE-DIVIDER.jpg

*(Source: 1,2,3,4)

Hope you enjoyed this post, please look out for more on the way... (author: @ezzy)


Sort:  

This is one of the best films I seen in years. I was entertained from the beginning to the end. I came out of the cinema with the biggest of smiles. I also never read the book.

Oh mate! I couldn't agree more. A totally unexpected surprise. I think sometimes people can get too hung up about the "but the book is better " argument, when really speaking, another movie would make for a fairer comparison.

It is cool to hear 2 good reviews about this movie, although I really had no doubts that it would be awesome. I have not seen it yet, but I will be!

Hope you enjoy it and go in with an open mind. Love the originality and tackling of new-world concepts in this movie. :)

You MUST read the book.

OR ... (I rarely make time to read)

Listen to the audiobook narrated by Wil Wheaton

The movie was fantastic, but the book is EPIC.

If you do not have an audible account, here is a link to one free book

Ready Player One

Will be giving the book a read soon, out of pure interest of the subject matter. But, regardless which is better, will be trying to judge each iteration of "Ready Player One" on its own merit.

I was very unsure about going to watch this one but its done by Steven Spielberg and I like hes stuff not only that but it involves VR, gaming,future all things I like but from the small trailer I saw it didn't sell it to me but think I will watch it @ezzy thanks for this man.

That kind of added to it's charm for me. I, like you, didn't think the trailer looked anything special. So, to be treated to such a fantastic movie, was truly beyond any of my expectations. Loved it, bud. :)

wow, i was not expecting this to be such a postive review....I can't remember the last spielberg film I saw that I thought was any good (and believe me I love all those classic you mention, the man is a bonafide legend). I will have to go and check this out I guess.....I had previously assumed I would just wait to see it on dvd or something....

Yo mate! Hope you're well! My completed unbiased opinion going into this movie? Loved every second of it. And I hope you see the gold contained within it's run time as I did. Especially the futuristic premise that just doesn't seem that far away. I, like you, also prefer Spielberg's older project, but this one is certainly a return to form.

awesome :) Im excited to check it out....will try and get to the cinema to see it this weeks maybe. I'll let you know what I think!

You're back on movies?! Awesome! Heard good things about this movie.

Yeah, bud. Will be posting up movie reviews again. Personally, I loved this movie, but I also realise it is getting a few mixed viewpoints too. Would love to hear what you think. :)

I haven't seen the film yet but I'm very interested to go see it. I've heard good things, including your great post.

Will definitely go see it this weekend.

Certainly worth watching on the big screen. The way I see it, you couldn't go far wrong giving this movie a try. :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Hey bro cheers for this, i was trying to find a decent review on this and stumbled across yourself. Great article and not to sure if it would be of interest but I do music and digital art and would love if if you could perhaps do a review on one of my posts. I'd happily create a free piece of a personalised art piece on any photo you would like me to do for you. Hope this is of interest.

Once again great article mate

MDJ

Thanks very much, @moderndayjester. Don't really do too much in the way of photography, but thanks for the kind offer.

Well if you have a photo that means something to you please send it to [email protected] and I'll happily do a personalised digital art piece for you. Id also like to share a music video to you (would you mind?)

Very wonderful article really done well
A great player

Thank you, @roselover.

hello my friend ezzy nice story again you have nice skill for writing, i make the video about my play on ps4 I learned something to make video from you thanks for your help if possible for you please check them, i will put your name on steem voter my friend

Nice one, much appreciated. :)

This great story, i appreciate your blog.
Best of luck my friend.upvote and resteemit

Nice... :)

Thanks my friend...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39